We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Bath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bath House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Bath House after an arduous drive and visit to parents-in-law in Cornwall and it was just what we needed. We had our two daughters with us (7 & 9) who were happy on the sofa bed in our room, The bathroom was vast with shower and lovely big bath. Everything looks brand new and is spotless. The really outstanding thing was the food, fantastic Malay dishes which we all loved and a great selection of modern european for other tastes, I really cant fault anything - the breakfast is fabulous too.
Ron, Shin and Karim (sorry prob all spelled wrong!) were perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome.
Thank you all and we hope to see you again on our next trip down.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hollywood Suite, lovely beg bed, double sofa bed, hospitality tray of all fair trad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
143
16
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed on business and got upgraded to a suite, which was lovely, comfortable and beautifully done. Not that many rooms, but the hotel, facilities, food and in particular the hospitality shown to me and my 3 colleagues in this lovely little hotel by their staff deserve a great rating. Next time in Chard will definately try and book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank streetynorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

By pure fluke we stayed overnight at the BathHouse and what a pleasure it was. Such a warm and friendly greeting by Shin who showed us round and then showed us the prettiest bedroom we have stayed in for years. We are used to staying in luxurious 5 star hotels and eating in expensive restaurants but the Bathhouse exceeded our expectations of a small hotel. The rooms were immaculately clean and gorgeously decorated by Karine, the proprietor – she should be an interior designer. The Bath House Hotel is much much more than a B&B, indeed it could easily be an expensive Boutique Hotel if it was in the centre of a large city. The locals I gather are rather upset that Ron has stopped cooking Chinese Food (the best they say!), but they now they must give Ron the chance to produce his wonderful food in a chic restaurant with an exciting menu to suit every taste.

Room Tip: The Hollywood Room was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avril m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend Wedding Anniversary treat. What a great hotel! From the warmest of welcomes - plus a cup of tea for the weary travellers - to the spotlessly clean and well equiped room, the place is a delight. The evening meal was super - good soup, a perfect steak and pannacotta for dessert - and was up to the standards of expensive London restaurants we have dined in. All in all a 'Great Place to Stay'.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Used to be the best Chinese for many miles around but is now serving good though not exceptional, conventional English cuisine. We had steaks, and the chicken & leak pie; they were good quality and very well presented. But not exceptional. There were many waiting staff, but I had to wait too long to get a drink. Shame that they had to make the conversion.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nickw512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strood
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My boyfriend, myself and my two cousins booked two nights at the Bath House Hotel for a wedding we were attending. What a fantastic little place it turned out to be. The owners Karine & Ron made us so welcome from the minute we walked through the door, nothing was too much trouble for them.
My boyfriend and I had booked the "Hollywood Suite" and it certainly has the "Wow" factor. Decorated in deep burgandy shades with beautiful bed linen and air conditioning, the attention to detail was superb, the bathroom was a really good size, with big fluffy towels and just like the bedroom, it was totally spotless.
My cousins had the "Willow" twin room, decorated in moss green and mauve, with air conditioning and again it was spotless and the bathroom was a good size with a large walk in shower enclosure.
This is how a bed & breakfast should be run. Karine & Ron get everything just right. Breakfast in the morning is freshly cooked by Ron using really good quality ingrediants, and there is plenty of it, all served to your table piping hot and delicious.
They also have a really good restaurant, again the cooking is done by Ron, who is a very good chef indeed. The menu has a really good choice of starters and main dishes, and caters for gluten free as well. I enjoyed scallops cooked to perfection, followed by beautifully cooked fish.
The town of Chard itself is quite nice, but there is not much choice of restaurants other than chinese or indian. The Bath house hotel restaurant is the place to go, for a really good quality meal in welcoming surroundings.Some dishes have a Malaysian influence as this is were Karine is from, so really authentic food however they also have quite a contemporary menu
which would have something for everyone's taste.
Dont hesitate to book this little gem of a hotel, you will not be disappointed. You can't fault it. We felt that we walked in as strangers but left as friends and we can't wait to come back and sample their wonderful hospitality again.

Room Tip: The Hollywood suite is a beautiful room, it is at the front of the hotel, but we didnt find it at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alben37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was ideally located for us, half way to Cornwall. We had a family room and all really enjoyed the evening meals, many of the dishes are oriental in origin. The food is exceptionally good and the chef caters for those on special diets extremely well. A large number of the dishes on the menu were marked gluten free. It was a rare treat for our son to be able to enjoy the squid which would usually be off limits for him due to his gluten free diet. We were treated with such kindness during our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
624 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
13.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
752 reviews
15.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath House Hotel

Property: Bath House Hotel
Address: 28 Holyrood Street, Chard TA20 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bath House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Chard
Bath House Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing