We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best small hotel/BBQ I have ever been to!”
Review of Bath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bath House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best small hotel/BBQ I have ever been to!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at the Bath House for 1 night last week and from start to finish, everything was perfect! Upon arrival, I was greeted by the owner Karine, who was very welcoming and friendly. Check-in was a very brief affair where I was also asked about what I'd like for breakfast and what time I'd like to have it. I was then taken up to my room (the Seagrass), which was just the right size, with a spotlessly clean a contemporary en-suite bathroom. Lovely chocolate biscuits, a selection of teas and hot chocolate were provided in my room along with a kettle. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, with crisp white bedding and big fluffy pillows. My room also had a TV with a good selection on channels.
The atmosphere of the hotel as a whole is very relaxing I you can tell that special attention is being paid to all the little details. My breakfast was served at the agreed time on the dot, the service was impeccable and the food - and my huge pot of tea - were perfect.
The Bath House provides excellent value for money, I actually would have expected to pay more for such a room, food and service. A definite keeper, if I ever need to go to Chard again, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
143
15
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Only stayed for 1 night but this was one of the best hotels I have ever visited and I have been staying in numerous establishments for over 4 years now through work commitments. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, comfortable beds with luxurious bedding.
Excellent hosts, very welcoming and lovely genuine people, food is exquisite, all fresh ingredients and home cooked. I could not recommend this as a place to stay highly enough and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for two nights here with family members the staff couldnt do enough for you the food from restaurant was excellent as was breakfast the rooms were very clean would definitely stay again if in the area

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at this restaurant with rooms. The hosts, Ron and Kareen could not have been better hosts. They took care with our every need. The food at the restaurant was excellent with its fusion menu. We particularly appreciated the malaysian dishes. and the rooms very tastefully decorated with great attention to detail. Chard itself is not a remarkable town but its accessibility to the stunning Jurassic Coast and iconic Lyme Regis is a big bonus and away from the crowded seaside resorts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skydiver58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Hollywood suite for 3 nights; the room was spotlessly clean with attention to detail.
The bathroom was spacious with clean facilities and a modern theme.
The actual room itself was again spacious with all modern amenities.
Don't bother looking for an iron and board; because I was happy to find the hotel provide an ironing service on request!

Breakfast was excellent and evening meals were well presented and a taste sensation!

What lovely, welcoming and genuinely kind people who run this establishment. They are what makes this place a five star!

May

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank May K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Recommended by the Ammonite Lodge Guest House and found to be very clean and friendly with a superb menu offering a great variety of Malaysian and British dishes. Lovely Chinese beer. Kareen, the owner is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here just one night in January 2014.
When arriving by car I managed to negotiate around the block to get to the car park behind the premises - and there was room to park. But then I had slight problems deciding which door I was supposed to use to get in! Eventually the owner responded - but this aspect could be improved I'm sure. Once in, the welcome was lovely.
Room - small and overlooking the back of a supermarket - but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom spotlessly clean. Desk space was limited (I needed to do some work) and the lighting could be improved.
Food in the restaurant in the evening was very good, as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yblodyntatws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
15.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath House Hotel

Property: Bath House Hotel
Address: 28 Holyrood Street, Chard TA20 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bath House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Chard
Bath House Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing