We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after!”
Review of Bath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bath House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A small but very comfortable hotel. Room was spotless, a/c came in handy. We originally planned to stay 3 nights but sadly were called away after just one. The evening meal was great, Wasabi King Prawns followed by yummy Tortellini. Breakfast was also very good. Ron is clearly passionate about his cooking and we thoroughly enjoyed the food. Karine was very attentive in front of house and made us very welcome. Chard itself has a bit of a run down feel about it but the Bath House is well placed for touring Somerset, Dorset and East Devon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony-cruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

A small but beautiful hotel run by beautiful people! The entire place is spotless and very nicely decorated with great attention to detail. The staff could not be more attentive and nothing is too much trouble. And the food is amazing! You really can feel the love that goes into this place. If you ever have any reason to be anywhere remotely near Chard, I would thoroughly recommend staying here. I will definitely be back! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Few words, Karine and Rob were fab, so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Everything else was perfect and very unexpected. Thanks so much for facilitating such a late check in and a last minute booking. Yummy breakfast and a very efficient air con system, thank goodness. Would definitely recommend this small hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 529HHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were warmly welcomed, the rooms were attractive, comfortable and spotless. The owner and her staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was very tasty with a good range of cooked dishes well presented in their small restaurant. A good location for days out in the region.
If only all small hotels and guest houses were so well looked after !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anniemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have not long returned from our stay at the Bath House Hotel. As soon as we arrived at this family run hotel we knew we had picked the right place to stay. We were welcomed by Karina who made us feel at home right away. The hotel and it's restaurant is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style.
The hotel is located in the centre of Chard. Chard itself is situated less than 15 miles from the M5 (junction 25) and from there is ideally situated to visit Exmoor, Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Sidmouth, Seaton and Beer amongst many other places.
The choice of food at breakfast is excellent and the flexibility of time of breakfast is second to none. The staff at the hotel really do put the customer first. We also ate at their restaurant, The menu is well put together and varied. Our meal was excellent.
I can only recommend the Bath House Hotel with top marks, and if you're reading this review and are considering a trip in and around the area of Chard do yourself a favour and stay at this hotel .....you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have friends in the Chard area, but are unable to stay with them so, we booked into The Bath House Hotel. Well, what a pleasant surprise. My wife is fairly fussy about cleanliness and service, and we weren't disappointed. The room was absolutely spotless, and the bed was also very comfortable. The weekend was very hot, so thank goodness for the efficient air-conditioning in the room. We have stayed in many hotels and I don't think that I have ever seen such a clean bathroom. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and the service was equally good. Karine is one of the loveliest hotel owners you will ever meet, and nothing is too much trouble. As you can see from other reviews, DON'T be put off by the unusual car park at the back, even if you do have to go round the block to find it. This hotel is a little gem!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As other have said, it's a bit difficult to find. You end up more or less in Sainsbury's loading dock. Again like other reviewers, your first thoughts are 'well this is strange'. Once inside however things are totally different. The staff are brilliant and the rooms are large. All the fittings and furniture including the beds are excellent quality. The owners must have spent a small fortune sorting this place out. The restaurant is wonderful and the owner is the chef. My wife and I thought that we would dine 'in' on the first evening after a long car journey and found the quality so good we ate there every evening. The breakfasts were the best we had during our three week 'road trip'. An added bonus was the dry cleaners just over the road. They washed and folded our washing for £9 per large bag. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
702 reviews
7.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
190 reviews
8.5 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath House Hotel

Address: 28 Holyrood Street, Chard TA20 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bath House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Chard
Bath House Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing