We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Fleece
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Chardstock)
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Ilminster(Horton Cross)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Crewkerne)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
99
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
15
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubstayed hererestaurant buildingone nightaway from the roadeast devonlovely countrysidefamily mealstable blockmain buildingvaried menuriver cottagean evening mealbusiness tripfull englishcomfy bedexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at the Golden Fleece after reading the reviews on Trip adviser. We were very please with the standard of accommodation and the food served in the restaurant. The bar served an excellent pint of bitter. The host Paul was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was first class and plenty of it. I would have no hesitation to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed for a couple of days with my wife and two sons. We had a double room and a twin that was separated by adjoining double doors so we could keep our eye on the boys. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent and the owners and staff friendly and welcoming. Clean, peaceful and comfortable rooms at the back of the pub. It was a strange experience for myself and wife though as 25 years we played a gig were we slept.. The rooms were converted from an old skittle alley that was used once or twice for bands.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezmanSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Despite having read the previous reviews we were still surprised by the space provided by the room, bathroom - and bed ! A very warm welcome from everyone and, unusually, in so-called dog friendly establishments there were no large notices banning dogs from the bar/restaurant or from being left alone in the room, although this isn't necessary when they can accompany you to meals.
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal and the full English breakfast the next morning. Definitely worth a detour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JILLIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Golden Fleece as part of a very wet motorcycle tour in June 2012. Warm welcome from the landlord to the comfortable and clean accommodation in the block at the back, with a very welcome nice hot bath. Good selection on the tea and coffee making tray in the room (always good to see hot chocolate and nice biccies). The one thing which would improve the accommodation would be proper blackout curtains or blinds. We had a good dinner in the pub restaurant - I particularly like the "build your own salad" as a fussy salad eater! For breakfast the next day, if I recall correctly, both porridge and poached eggs were on offer (both indicators of a superior breakfast in my books).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Just an overnight stay, but would happily have stayed longer. Although early, we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room in the accomodation block. A lovely, large, very clean bedroom and an equally impressive full bathroom.

The breakfast in the pub building the next moring was very good and the full English was great. We will be in this neck of the woods again in 2013 and will definitely book into the Golden Fleece again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG-Casterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews