We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
Review of The Golden Fleece

The Golden Fleece
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Golden Fleece
Ranked #4 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for one night for my wife's birthday so we could go to the river cottage canteen very friendly clean comfortable great breakfast and excellent price hope to go again. Liked the fact that the rooms were individual with there own entrances. Made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chardf
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is an exceptionally friendly family run restaurant. Although it has a bar this is primarily a restaurant. Sunday lunch was as usual a special deal. However, there was a wide choice of starters, main courses and puddings. We were a large party so inevitably service was not as fast as it would be for a table of two. Nevertheless we were served almost simultaneously. One of our number was celebrating her birthday and the staff made a great thing about bringing out her cake with candles. Generally a very pleasant meal and recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonaton47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal here, greeted with a smile from the owners and fantastic service throughout. I can't speak highly enough of the food and service at this restaurant. The bar had a couple of regulars who were all very friendly and a great atmosphere. The owners provide accommodation in a converted skittle alley, these all look very nice from the outside.

I would recommend this to everyone.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We could only stay at the Golden Fleece for one night but we are very glad that we did. The room was large, comfortable and very clean with parking outside the room. This place is a hidden gem in the middle of some lovely countryside. The food was excellent and there was a good choice at reasonable prices, very good breakfast as well! Management and staff very friendly and helpful, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 608JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for one night in the bed and breakfast. The rooms are spotless and the decor is of an extremely high standard. The beds are enormous and so comfortable. The bathroom is stunning with a lovely hot shower. The finishing touches were fabulous with bottled water tea coffee hot chocolate and biscuits. And then you have the pub itself. We had a cooked dinner the evening we arrived which was of a very high standard all home made traditional dinners and pudding. Absolutely beautiful and the breakfast was no different with good quality food.the staff at the Golden Fleece and so helpful and friendly they will do anything to ensure the stay is perfect which I can honestly say ours was. Would recommend to anyone and am already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I decided we needed to 'run away' for a few days and found this gem on the internet. The room are bright, modern and of a really good size, with a nice touch of paperback books left in the drawers. The food in the pub was lovely, the menu changed slightly each day so it wasn't boring, and the staff were very helpful and would try and make the meal just as you wanted it.
We will definitely go back next time we need a break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Just home after a 2 night stay at the Golden Fleece. Have reviewed this superb pub before but this review is to confirm that the Fleece is as good as ever. Superb hosts, lovely food and a wonderful and comfortable room. I can recommend the beef blade it was really really nice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaumont1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
2.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
327 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
624 reviews
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
3.5 mi away
The Haymaker Inn
The Haymaker Inn
#5 of 13 in Chard
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece

Property: The Golden Fleece
Address: Perry Street | South Chard, Chard TA20 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Golden Fleece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Chard
The Golden Fleece Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing