We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great little place”
Secluded in the natural environment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded in the natural environment
Terrace/ Verrandah with furniture to relax & dine alfresco Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool - end May - Sept
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Secluded in the natural environment
Terrace/ Verrandah with furniture to relax & dine alfresco
Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool - end May - Sept
cast iron wood burner with logs as well as central heating
Genuine solid wood log cabins
Nightime illuminations
master bedroom luxuriously furnished
second bedroom practical for families
dining area with skylight for tree gazing
Fully equipped modern kitchen
cosy lounge with wood burning stove
Our woodland bluebells
Woodland play area with trampoline & table tennis table
Aerial view pool surrounds in natural sun spot. Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool - end May - Sept
Horse riding almost from the door
Autumnal weather in our woodland
Spring time early morning sunshine
May with rhododendron flowering
board walk to the cabin
semi ancient woodland for exploring
Optional Extra Private hot Tub- please ask for availability & price
Optional Extra Private hot Tub- please ask for availability & price
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jghaig
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great little place”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 4 might stay at a log cabin at Alpine Grove in Forton nr Chard, Somerset, myself my Husband, 7 year old Daughter and dog.
What a great little site it is, nestled in woodland, in a good location in Somerset but also close to Dorset and Devon. The Tawny Owl cabin we stayed in lovely, with everything we needed. TV & DVD's which we barely used as my Daughter was out playing with the other children at the on-site playground from dawn 'til dusk.
It was just the right size and, even at full capacity, I don't imagine it'll be too crowded.
In short, we would definitely go back ad I am looking at their site to possibly book for the Summer. Maybe we'll camp next time? But then, hte cabin was sooo nice....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymtree
Plymouth, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We swapped a week in our house in Cyprus for a week in one of the log cabins and we were well looked after by Richard and Helen. The cabins are accurately described as luxurious as they are extremely well appointed with high quality kitchen and bathroom fittings and comfortable beds and reclining leather sofas. The weather was cool, but the central heating kept us warm and there was a wood stove for additional heat should it ever be necessary. The woodland setting is lovely and the morning bird song is delightful. The site is well placed, being close to Somerset/Devon/Dorset borders and we particularly enjoyed our visits to Weymouth and Sidmouth. Do try dinner at the nearby Cotley Inn as the food is superb. WiFi is available to rent through another company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of staying in a log cabin
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimL-F
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded, modern and well equipped”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Log cabin (one of four) set in the woods very well spaced out so secluded, fully fitted out with modern equipment and very clean and fresh.
Hosts are very friendly and helpful.
Great place to stay for both families and couples alike,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorshamLa...
Horsham, West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great site”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We were part of a large group with lodges, tents and a campervan all booked in. Unfortunately we had the start of some of the worst weather to hit the area so the campers and caravanners left much earlier than planned.

The site is run by a smashing couple and is kept clean and tidy. Its nestled pleasantly in a small wooded copse with the lodges positioned in the actual woods.

The shop sells more sweets and toys than food stuffs however you can buy milk, eggs and fresh bread (along with croissants, sausage rolls, etc) can be ordered the day before. The small freezer had lots of fizzy pop with about 4 packets of sausages and bacon plus on the shelf there were tins of baked beans (Heinz mmmm) and vinegar but not much else.

The shower block is a wee bit dated but generally clean and the showers were hot but if someone is in the other shower you only got a dribble. The cubicles had a small sitting shelf and two pegs which is always useful.

We would definitely go back......when its dry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The feeling of being so rural
Liked least: The awful wet weather
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing