We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice meal”
Review of Spice Villa

Spice Villa
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Chard
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bredon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“nice meal”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had very nice meal in this obviously popular restaurant while staying in Chard. Staff and service & food all excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank martinsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    36
    7
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great curryhouse in sleepy Chard”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were struggling to find a place to eat in Chard on a Sunday afternoon but found our way to the Spice Villa thanks to Tripadvisor. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. My wife is of Indian descent and she was very impressed with the food so that's a good vote to have!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank delboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wish this was our local”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have nothing but good things to say about our experience at Spice Villa. We were met with a very warm and friendly greeting and the service throughout the meal was friendly and attentive. The food was all excellent, both my chicken dish and my wife's vegetarian meal. If we lived locally, we'd be here every week. Certainly we'll return if we're ever in the area again. As for the last reviewer suggesting that it was over-priced, I could not disagree more. The meal was excellent value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Turtle021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit to over priced restaurant”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had high hopes for this restaurant given the reviews.
Ordered the vegetarian thali for myself and the meat set meal for one for my partner. We each had two soft drinks (pop) which came to a shocking £9! The food was good but not spectacular, the staff were attentive but clearly sharing some sort of private joke at the bar. The whole meal which comprised the two thalis, soft drinks and one extra poppadum came to just shy of £40 where we were charged £2 for one extra poppadum. We were the only people in the restaurant at the time at 6pm on a Friday hence there was no atmosphere. We won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Euan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a treat to find this amazing restaurant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were staying locally and just happened across this restaurant as it was close to the cashpoint.
What a find!
This was the best curry I have had for many a year. Not only was the food delightful, the service was impeccable too.

It would be worth the detour if ever I'm within a 30 mile radius.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Villa also viewed

Chard, Somerset
Chard, Somerset
 

Been to Spice Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing