We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere and fantastic latte coffee”

Saraiva's Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 47 Restaurants in Chard
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: African, Brazilian, Portuguese, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Saraiva's is a Portuguese cafe, bar and restaurant situated in Chard,Somerset. Saraiva's Restaurant has a mini-market with various Portuguese, Brazilian and Luso-African products. We do special functions if requested such as birthday parties, buffets, dinners etc. We cater both Portuguese and British cuisine. Everyone is welcome!
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I feel that Chard has a real jewel with Saraiva's Restaurante and we are most fortunate. I go in there often for a latte coffee and sometimes a snack too. I love this place as it exudes continental charm and atmosphere and is a little bit of `holiday' in the midst of our busy and bustling town. It is lovely to have a place where there is a real feeling of welcome and acceptance. I do not know what they do to make my large latte coffee taste so wonderful but it almost makes me feel that I am being enveloped with the sheer comfort derived from it. I keep coming back for more especially as the people who work there and go there are so friendly. I have had some snacks at this Restaurante and they have been most enjoyable and all in all very reasonably priced. Can't wait to go there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KatefromChard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
specialis13, Public Relations Manager at Saraiva's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Kate,
Thank you very much for your very positive and balanced review. We are pleased to hear that you took a liking to our establishment and enjoy being there just as much as we enjoy having you as a customer. Many thanks and see you soon!
Best wishes,
Saraiva's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

very nice café and restaurant English and traditional Portuguese food
on the main street
small shop of Portuguese produts

2  Thank Gomes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
specialis13, Public Relations Manager at Saraiva's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Gomes,
Thank you very much for your positive and balanced review.
We are delighted to know that we can cater for all tastes and to know that our customers enjoy it.
Thank you for your review!
Best wishes,
Saraiva's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

A gem. Genuine chicken Piri Piri served absolutely traditionally. Started with beer, bread and olives, then the chicken with salad, fries, rice. Finished off with an amazing strong smooth espresso. Oh and a very generous Aguardiente. The atmosphere was great, no one was speaking English and it was a hot evening.....I wasn't in Chard! Bill? 18 quid!,,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Bizinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
specialis13, Public Relations Manager at Saraiva's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Bizinessman,
Thank you very much for your very positive and delightful review!
We always enjoy to know that our customers had a positive encounter with our establishment. And we are glad that you enjoyed the Portuguese food! We try to cater for all tastes whether it is Portuguese or British food to make everyone feel welcome.
Come back soon!
Best wishes,
Saraiva's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

After being stuck in traffic for over 2 hrs I walked down the main st and by luck found myself in this lovely cafe. It did feel like I'd walked into a place where everyone knew each other, but even the other customers wished me a good morning. I ordered a cappacino. There was so much choice and the price just amazed me. Where else would you pay just. £1.20 for a piping hot drink, that tasted so good. I've paid 3 times that for luke warm liquid hidden under half a cup of froth!
I also ordered a small breakfast. The best bacon ever served with sausage, tomato, egg, mushroom and toast. Well if that's small........
The whole place was so clean ( including the toilets)
The staff were friendly and I believe the Owner/boss also said Hello as he walked through.
If I was ever in Chard again I'd go back at any time of day just to see what else was offered. The bill was just £4, I still can't believe it now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Julied118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
specialis13, Public Relations Manager at Saraiva's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Hi Julie,

Thank you for your wonderfu review. We are so pleased we were there to make your day better and we appreciate you having taken your time to write this fantastic review!

Obrigada :)

Kind regards,

Saraiva's Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rikimiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saraiva's Restaurant also viewed

 
Chard, Somerset
 

Been to Saraiva's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing