We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good local restaurant”
Review of The Golden Fleece

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Golden Fleece
Ranked #20 of 48 Restaurants in Chard
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good local restaurant”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely people.lovely food.Warm and friendly atmosphere.Go back frequently for a tasty good value meal.Good draught beer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food, nice welcome”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have had several meals here. The menu is a bit ordinary, but the quality of food is excellent. My only grumble is that you don't get enough veg unless you ask for a bit extra, not that this has been a problem. The blade of beef was fantastic and the rhubarb and strawberry crumble just gorgeous. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, staff were extremely friendly”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were in Chard staying with our son and his family, we decided to take them out for a meal as it was our 24th wedding anniversary, The Golden Fleece is one of the best places we have visited, the food was first class as well as the service and the staff. We couldn't have picked a better place, we will definitely be visiting the restaurant again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We ate here one night while camping in Chard. Weather was awful, but the food here is lovely and the staff are very friendly. It was more like a cosy restaurant than a pub. Good size food portion, cooked well. Would definitley eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose_n_Pearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great bedrooms and camping but food a bit bulk standard”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed for one night and all really good with the room but the menu was a little ordinary and the pub more like a restaurant. Definitely great for B&B though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dinerouter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Fleece also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing