We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing easter break!!”
Review of Swandown Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swandown Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed at the 'Kittwhistle lodge' for 4 nights...What can I say but absolutely beautiful!! That includes the amazing views from the lodge.Would definitely recommend the hot tub too after a relaxing walk through the estate grounds.
Situated pretty close to lots of places to visit ( which explains in great detail in the welcome folders in the Lodge).
Overall amazing place to visit and will be back next year :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi Rachael,

Thanks for the kind comments. The views are nice this time of the year, especially with all the lambs on your front door!

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend at the start of feburary, staying in the Exmoor and I cannot rate this place highly enough. The lodge was just perfect, so good we booked to come back next year.
Matt could not have been more helpful, with lots of little added extras.
A wonderful holiday even in the middle of the storm. Looking forward to our return trip

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Mummy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to make a comment.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the storms - hopefully the log burner made up for it!

We look forward to welcoming you again.

The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in Goldenhaye lodge with the family which was excellent. It was equipped with everything you could need. The hot tub was lovely and the views from the lodge were first class. The indoor swimming pool which we had to ourselves was lovely. Mat and Andy were very helpful and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as you had the pool to yourself!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards.

The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at Swandown lodges and yet again we had a fantastic time. We were made to feel welcome from arrival right up until we left. The lodges are fitted out to a high standard and the Hot tub was a great added extra. The site offers lovely walks around the grounds. The pool is also great for families with younger children. For those rainy days they also have games and DVD's that you can borrow. Definitely recommend this site if you want a place to unwind and have a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased you had a relaxing time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit!

Kind regards
The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Last weekend I took my family to Swandown Lodges what an amazing place, we were greeted by Andy who showed around this beautiful lodge. Everything is done to a very high standard. There is a lovely pool and the children had fun on the bikes as there are sizes for all to enjoy. The Estate is super with wonderful walks to enjoy.
On our arrival we found the lodge was kitted out with everything you needed including some very nice little extras. They even have DVD's and board games to borrow.
Matt the manager certainly made us welcome and we hope to be back soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank lynn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments.

The pool and the l board games always seem popular with the little ones!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just returned home after our second stay at a Kittwistle lodge. The lodge was exceptionally clean, modern and comfortable. The living area was well equipped with all mod cons, yet it was very spacious with plenty of room to chill out. For us the icing on the cake was the hot tub which is secluded with wonderful views over the open countryside. Matt, the manager and Andy the deputy manager were very friendly. There were a couple of minor problems but a "bung" bought by Matts dad soon fixed everything. Thank you to all the unseen staff who all work well as a team to make Swandown the place to stay. See you next spring.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenKen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the hot tub!

Our staff work hard to provide a relaxing enjoyable time so we will pass on your comments.

Hopefully we will see you next spring.

Regards

The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked through Hoseasons but this is not a typical Hoseasons site .. Small , friendly and brilliantly managed by Matt & Andy. The lodges are high spec with quality fixtures. We had a couple of minor issues while there but both were sorted quickly and fully. Swimming pool is small but there are only 14 lodges. Bike hire is free which is a superb touch .. Hot tub was cleaned and tested 3 times a day .. Again excellent ... Lodge 14 allowed dogs but was still spotless .. Overall a really high quality site

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi There,

Many thanks for the kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the bikes and that the weather held for you. Sorry we were unable to provide the right result for the Rugby! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chard hotels
3.3 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
189 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
347 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ham Farm B&B
Ham Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ham
5 reviews
4.1 mi away
Watermead Guest House
3.6 mi away
The Golden Fleece
The Golden Fleece
#3 of 13 in Chard
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swandown Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swandown Lodges

Address: Swandown Swandown Cricket ST, Chard TA20 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Chard
Price Range: £79 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY HOMES WITHIN THE HISTORIC CRICKET ST THOMAS ESTATE.Wake up to bird song with a whole day ahead of you. Stroll across wildflower meadows, through ancient woodland and down winding country lanes. Glimpse deer grazing, kingfishers flashing downstream or cast a line across tranquil water.Sip an early evening glass of wine as the sun melts into the sky. Dine out; savouring expertly prepared food just moments away. Take a nightcap in front of the woodburner’s crackling flames as mist hangs in the valley. Do what you want when you want. Fall asleep with a smile on your face. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swandown Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swandown Lodges Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing