We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accomodation”
Review of Swandown Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swandown Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our week at Swandown was superb from start to finish.

We stayed in a Blackdown lodge next to to the reception and small but wonderful swimming pool. Our Accomodation was roomy with quality furnishings and equipment.

The kids loved their roomy bedroom with ensuite bathroom while we really appreciated the dishwasher and washer dryer! Lol!

One of my sons is autistic and really benefited from the quietness of the location. My other son with mobility issues loved the size of the lodge and the easy access together with being next door to the swimming pool.

Location wise the lodges are in the grounds of Cricket St Thomas where adults get free entry to the hotels facilities.

The lodges are an excellent base to visit attractions in Devon, Somerset and Dorset. We would recommend a visit to Bridport for shopping and then a very short drive to West Bay to take the kids to the beach as parking is excellent in both places.

If you like cycling then the lodges have free access to very well maintained mountain type bikes for all ages to explore the grounds.

All in all a superb holiday at a superb location.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank DennisOdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Hi Dennis,

Thanks for taking the time to review our site. We are so pleased that the boys got to enjoy the peace and quiet!

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes

The Swandown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago in a Blackdown Lodge and fell in love with the place. We had a warm welcome from Andy, who was extremely knowledgeable of the area. The lodge was immaculate, it had everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped (including kids cutlery and plates), towels were provided for both the bathrooms and the indoor heated pool. Our 3 year old particularly loved the tandem bike which was available for free hire - we went for bike rides most evenings, the views on the cycle route are stunning. The Lodges are within a 30 minute drive of many tourist attractions including Lyme Regis beaches. We just couldn't fault the place and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing family holiday. We wish we were there now....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank SJR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind words. The tandem bike is always popular, especially when the little ones realise they don't have to do any of the hard work!!

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

The Swandown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Kittwhistle Lodge, which is a lovely, spacious lodge with a hot tub. The lodge was immaculate in terms of cleanliness and had everything we needed. The views were gorgeous. The lodges are really well managed and we were made to feel really welcome by Andy.

The Baker family.

Room Tip: Kittwhistle feels private and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VickyBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi Vicky,

Glad you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your comments to the girls as positive feedback is always welcome!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked a monday - friday break, we could not fault the service from the staff. The accommodation was excellent along with the location. I would recommend Swandown Lodges and I am sure we will be going back in the not so distant future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are so pleased you had a nice time and that the weather held for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

As a couple we wanted a romantic break. Swandown was superb the lodge was stunning had everything you could want. The pool was lovely staff were helpful. The hot tub is a must lovely views of the country side. The use of hotel pool and gym were taken full advantage of. Definatly didnt want to leave and are already planning to return

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed the hot tub, especially as the weather held for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We are a family of 5 and loved our lodge. The hot tub was fab, the pool was great and the lodge was furnished to a very high standard with everything you could need. The place itself was very tranquil with lots of sheep and lambs which the children loved to watch. A special thanks to Andy who helped out far beyond the call of his 'day job'. Thanks Andy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Becky,

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments. We hope everything was ok in the end! We were more than happy to help - it's all part of the service!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes

The Swandown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this holiday based upon excellent reviews and were slightly worried that the holiday wouldn't live up to our expectations - very pleased to say that it more than exceeded them. The views are the first selling point, we had a Goldenhaye lodge and enjoyed every evening in the hot tub watching the sun set over the rambling hills in the distance. Second selling point was the lodge itself. Large, clean and had every modern convenience you would want. No expense seemed to be spared when building it. Under floor heating, more toilets and wash facilities that you would need, wood burning stove and (much to our daughters delight) a DVD player on both floors. Thirdly was the service. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Andy who ran through the basics. We felt relaxed and with holiday mode turned on straight away. The complex had security gates and was amazingly quiet- a real getaway feel. The swimming pool wasn't large but more than sufficient considering we had it to ourselves on the 2 mornings we used it. We also ventured out for a bike ride and were delighted to find a variety of bikes to choose from and free hire (almost unheard of at many other places). We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are already planning our next trip.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwandownLodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Scott,

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated! The views are indeed wonderful and we are so pleased you managed to get out on the bikes.

We very much look forward to inviting you back in the future.

The Swandown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
3.2 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
686 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
344 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
926 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
4.5 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 11 in Ilminster
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swandown Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swandown Lodges

Address: Swandown Swandown Cricket ST, Chard TA20 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Chard
Price Range: £90 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY HOMES WITHIN THE HISTORIC CRICKET ST THOMAS ESTATE.Wake up to bird song with a whole day ahead of you. Stroll across wildflower meadows, through ancient woodland and down winding country lanes. Glimpse deer grazing, kingfishers flashing downstream or cast a line across tranquil water.Sip an early evening glass of wine as the sun melts into the sky. Dine out; savouring expertly prepared food just moments away. Take a nightcap in front of the woodburner’s crackling flames as mist hangs in the valley. Do what you want when you want. Fall asleep with a smile on your face. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swandown Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swandown Lodges Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing