We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in chard!!”
Review of The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden
Ranked #33 of 48 Restaurants in Chard
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Chard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in chard!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We come here quite often now as the food is excellent! Freshly prepared and good service! I highly reccamend the breakfast! Just the right portion size and at a brilliant price! Proper home cooking that you won't find any better any where else !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leau2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food great atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A wonderful little place with a lovely outside area to sit in the sun. Food is fantastic and very well priced and plentiful. Staff are lovely and very accommodating at all times. A real gem of a find.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The cafe lackes refinment but the food is good and plentiful. Pleasent owners and some interesting customers. A good place to go if in a hurry and are hungray

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best omelette I've ever eaten”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The Secret garden is a firm favourite of my children and I.
The food is superb. I've recently had guests staying who dined there on my recommendation and they too commented on how wonderfully tasty the eggs in particular are.
Little touches add to the novelty and sense of occasion ibm Chards tasty little secret.
Cherubs hanging on the walls alongside Celtic and Gothic peices , all for sale yet adding to the decor, add to the sense of adventure given in the restaurants name.
The garden itself out the back is a lovely touch and facinates children. Yet a little t.l.c to the garden would improve the experience greatly. It seems slightly neglected and yet could be a major draw to the place and enhance the experience.
Having said that I cannot qualm. over the friendliness of staff who are smiley and welcoming nor the delicious food. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samanthak1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“my Wife's favourite”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

been here several times and enjoy the no-nonsense approach to good food at a reasonable price - The cake is homemade and is great as well as dishes off the specials board. Dont let the understated frontage put you off

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Secret Garden also viewed

 

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing