We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resident Entertainment Team are Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Norton Canes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Resident Entertainment Team are Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just returned from a mid week break and had a great time. This hotel has an exceptionally good entertainment team are both talented and enthusiastic and are producing high quality shows in the evening as well as a variety of activities and presentations during the day. We had a standard room which was comfortable, spacious and well furnished. The accommodation was spotlessly clean. The room was in the Walled Garden part and there is quite a walk to the restaurant but is not a problem unless someone has a mobility problem. The food is buffet style and there is plenty of choice and well presented.
I have stayed at Warner's for a number of years and they have always provided a good standard of accommodation but I think they have "upped their game" over the last two years.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1949Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    452
    219
    72
    53
See reviews for
157
893
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was our first Warners break, but it will not be our last. We were quite nervous after reading some reviews. No hotel is going to suit everyone but it was a great experience for us.
My husband treated me to this break for my 50th birthday, he upgraded our accommodation to a historic room, we stayed in the Viscount of Bridport room which was wonderful. There were a couple of issues that should be addressed by Warners - the lighting was poor in both the bedroom and the bathroom plus the TV was too small for such a big room Otherwise I can find nothing else negative to say about the whole experience.
We stayed for three nights, I think four would be one night too many but two nights would be OK too. We didn't stay at the hotel during the day as we took the opportunity to explore Lyme Regis on Saturday and Cheddar Gorge on Sunday, both were great days out.
The surroundings at Cricket St Thomas are sumptuous, the layout is good and the service is top notch.
It seems that everyone was having a really good time and you cannot help but soak up the positive atmosphere. I can't wait for our next Warners visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kazzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

beautiful hotel,staff are lovely,entertainment was good,as was the food. fab gardens . ,we were in the annexe ,would have preferred to have been in main hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tygwynisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was my wife's and my birthday treat for this year. We had a splendid time. Upgraded to a Historic room in the old house. What an experience, double bed, sofa, armchairs, enormous room and huge bathroom with both bath and separate shower cubicle. With this room you are allocated your own parking space just outside the old house. Restaurant (Tree Tops) serves wonderful food cooked to a very high standard with a great choice each day. You certainly would not go away hungry. One evening we dined in their Italian restaurant (Fennochis) again fine food with a good choice from the menu. We found all staff to be most courteous and friendly. Evening entertainment was exceptional especially Union Gap the 60s pop group who had everyone up dancing and enjoying themselves. We would thoroughly recommend this venue

Room Tip: Ambassador rooms are adequate, Signature rooms good but the Historic rooms are exceptional. But all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We decided to take a short 4 day break at a Warner Hotel from Friday 13 January to Monday 16 January.

We have in the past visited Holme Lacey, Gunton Hall,Bodelwyddan Castle and Thoresby Hall, and the later being the best so far, however Cricket St Thomas is probably on a par with the best Warner have to offer.

It is situated in a beatiful part of Devon and the grounds are superb, we had booked a signature room and it was very clean and comfortable, albeit a walk to the main reception area's it was not a real problem.

There are three large rooms in the old house with large open wood fires, just right to relax and read the papers or a book.

The food was as the the usual Warner supply, and we found the layout was very good with no real problems waiting for food, the queues very very small and both breakfast and dinner
were what we thought value for money.

The entertainment was very good in the main area which is just right for dancing and viewing. If you feel you want some late night comedy and music, go and see Neil Graham in the reception bar, he is not to be missed and good all round fun.

The sporting activities were exellent, with a good swiming pool and indoor short mat bowling, together with a large flat green facility.

If you prefer walking the grounds include a section of the river Axe and many pools and woodland to explore,

Its worth visiting the twelth century church, which has association to Nelson and Rodney, also there is a normal sevice on the Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Go for the signature, they are value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaggieBoyHalesowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent our Pearl Wedding Anniversary at Cricket and returned last weekend for our Ruby and wow what a weekend. The Purtington Suite was truly fabulous, luxury on tap. When shown to our suite by the wonderful host Betty my wife burst into tears and was comforted straight away by Betty who deserves a star award for her commitment to Warners and their guests. Where to start, well here goes, champagne and nibbles on arrival and a greeting second to none. Relax and look forward to dinner in the Italian Restaurant, wonderful food on our first night and then the entertainment. Having stayed in most of Warners 4 star Hotels this has to be the best in house staff of all, topped by the magical Neil Graham. His humour and songs kept his audience in raptures night after night. The show where he appeared as Joseph should be staged in the West End, this treasure has it all, Warners are so lucky to have this guy and the rest of the company were also so special. The lakes and gardens were pleasure to explore. Our 2nd nights Italian Dining was a dissapointment, although the food was good the temperature in the restaurant was freezing, also the lack of toilet facilities close by were an issue bearing in mind the age of Warners chosen clientele. After this Arctic Experience we chose to dine in Tree Tops for our last night where we were well fed and kept warm. We will start saving up now to return for our Golden Wedding Anniversary and stay once again in this wonderful CRICKET HOUSE......PS. Luxury living requires Luxury Toilet Tissue....Unfortunately our bathroom had Netto quality, and the welcome pack amounted to 2 half bottles of wine.....something missing me thinks Mr Warner....? Off to Holme Lacy now for 4 days, review to follow shortly

Room Tip: Go Mad, save up and go HISTORIC....Everyone should try out this at least once in a life time !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stivRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This was our first stay at a Warner’s Hotel. The impression on arrival is spectacular and the older part of the hotel is fabulous. The facilities, whole finish and attention to detail are first rate. Everything was clean and tidy and modern. The swimming pool is lovely but not that big. We stayed in a four poster overlooking a courtyard to the far end of the house. In upgrading we automatically got access to a fantastic Italian restaurant within the buildings. For the more elderly I would check where your room is as the hotel is set along 3 buildings and if you had trouble walking it could have been difficult. The grounds and lovely and well worth a hours walk around them.
We loved the idea of a "no kids holiday" having reached that time of life but there was times when it felt like Gods waiting room, a lot of the visitors were elderly and retired. We went to a Rock and Roll weekend and the music and entertainment was outstanding. Unfortunately come 11 O'clock the dance hall pretty much emptied and although we stayed there for a while by 12 it was a lost cause. The staff carried on serving but it had got past a lot of people's bedtime - a shame as it would have been nice on Saturday to be just a little later.
However the whole weekend was thoroughly enjoyable and I would recommend it for a tranquil break but 3/4 days would be enough. We have booked up to visit another Warner’s Hotel later in the year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.1 mi away
Swandown Lodges
Swandown Lodges
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Property: Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing