We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
northants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL WEEKEND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We enjoyed a weekend break at Cricket St Thomas arriving Saturday 15 March, leaving Monday 17 March, and cannot believe we had the same evening as the 2 previous reviews. We didn't know the Searchers were going to be performing that weekend so that was a bonus.

We went for our meal about 6.45 on Saturday evening and we had a wonderful meal, in fact we had so much food we ended up sharing one desert between us as we were so full.

It was a wonderful weekend break, the food was excellent the whole time we were there, as were the staff. We enjoyed it so much we booked another break there for later in the year.

Room Tip: Walled garden rooms very quiet but a long walk from entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyfromnorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break, we have had some lovely comments back on the Searchers so I pleased you enjoyed them as well.

I will forward your comments to the Chef and my team and I look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    452
    219
    72
    53
See reviews for
157
893
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had dinner with friends and went to see the Searchers perform here on Saturday evening. We paid £19.95 each for the meal, plus £15 per person for drinks and entry to the performance - although I have to say that the actual detail of what was covered by this additional charge was not made at all clear. Dinner had been served from 6.30pm through to 8.30pm and we were booked in for 7.30pm. We made our choices but were then informed that some items had run out and the carvery was about to close. We made alternative choices but I'm afraid the meal was not what we would expect at this price, or indeed any price - the food was cold, portions somewhat meagre, over-cooked and congealed.

The toilet facilities were not kept clean and tidy during the evening - paper towels all over the floor, bins overflowing - both in the ladies and in the gents so my husband tells me. With the volume of use during an event such as this staff really do need to be allocated to check this area.

However, on a positive note the entertainment was excellent, well co-ordinated, and the Searchers gave a very good performance. The staff with whom we dealt throughout the evening were both friendly, polite and helpful.

Overall, this was very disappointing. The location, the beautiful surroundings etc have such great potential, both for local guests and those travelling from a distance and staying over, but the reality certainly did not match up for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hils0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment "The Searchers".

I would like to thank you for your feedback as this is always valuable to us and I will speak to my Chef and Head Housekeeper concerning your comments.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

As a Leisure Club member I was allowed to book a table and pay an additional amount for drinks and so get entry into the Searchers event. Whilst the staff were all very helpful the meal was not at all good - small portions and almost stone cold by the time we got it. We were told to arrive at 7.30 p.m. by which time some of the menu items had run out. We paid £19+ for a very poor meal in what can best be described as a canteen culture and we were not impressed. Last time we did this we booked into what is now the Granary Restaurant and that was superb. However, we were not allowed to book in there this time. The Entertainment was very good which in some way made up for the very poor meal experience.

The Ladies was a complete mess - full hand towel bins overflowing all over the floor. For a four star hotel we didn't come away with a good impression. You have such a lovely location and buildings please get your act together and make it into the hotel it deserves to be.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetJoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Carpenters, having the new restaurant "The Granary" it has enabled us to be able to offer an evening meal and show for our leisure members and outside guests in our main restaurant "Tree Tops" .

I am sorry to hear that you thought the meal was not to the standard you would have expected perhaps you would like to speak to Russell when you see him next, but I will pass your feedback to my Chef.


Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a Mid Week 4 night Break at Warner's Cricket St. Thomas. This was our 4th visit to Warner's but our first time to Cricket. Booking in was as smooth as we had come to expect with Warner's with exceptionally pleasant and helpful Receptionists. Sadly, upon entering our "Signature" room, which we had booked according to what we had come to know and love, was decorated in a garish red trim with a clashing floral cerise pink with dark wooden furniture and what could only be described as two saggy red thrones for chairs! We immediately asked if we could be transferred to another room and the Reception and Duty Manager could not have been more helpful by escorting us to a new room which was perfect. They also arranged for our Baggage to be transferred by two "only too happy to help" Health Club Staff.

Cricket really is beautiful , with it's charming Old House and well tended Gardens. A pure delight, especially to those of us who are old enough to remember "To the Manner Born" from the moment that you enter the front door and you are greeted by the sweeping staircase it fills you with a sense of pure opulence. We were lucky enough on several occasions to selfishly grab the four Tiffany blue chairs in front of the fireplace
Whilst enjoying a Cocktail or Lunch. We enjoyed a decedent Afternoon Tea in the fabulous Hamilton Room, with a helpful member of Staff suggesting that we returned the following day to eat the Strawberries & Cream that we were too full to even attempt to eat after receiving such a fine spread .

Our accommodation was housed within the beautiful Walled Garden which was just a stones throw from a very nice Health Club. What made this Health Club so extraordinary was the fact that it seemed to act as a second Reception area where you could quietly sit and read one of the many provided News Papers, Board Games and Quizzes whilst enjoying a coffee or tea.

The entertainment in the Pavilion was very good, particularly the two Hosts and the Food in the well decorated Restaurant on the whole was good with a nice selection especially at Breakfast and from the Carvery Buffet at Dinner. Sadly a struggle at times to make your way between the tightly packed tables.

Throughout the Complex, there are a few areas that are looking a little tired and are in need of a lick of paint or a little TLC but on the whole Warner have done a great job of blending the old with the new.

Finally, what makes Cricket? The Staff and Management Team. They are professional and exceptionally hard working, yet strangely happy, particularly in a world where we all have to deliver and on a daily basis feel the pressures of the Corporate world upon our shoulders.

Oh, please ignore some comments that others may have posted with regard to Warner's Hotels being flooded with the elderly waiting to die. Yes they do have a high ratio of elderly people but Warner's give you no end of activities for you to do. It's your choice wether you should wish to take part, it's what you choose to make of it! Frankly, I couldn't keep up with them if I tried :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank furryloving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your 4th visit, the red style Signature Room is one of our older style of room and some guests really like this one, but I am pleased that you enjoyed the room you moved to.

There is a lovely ambience in Cricket House and I am delighted that you enjoyed the activities and facilities.

I hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turkey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Have just had an very enjoyable 4 day break at Cricket St Thomas, we had booked a standard room late last year at below half the brochure price, we took a chance & called the hotel directly two days before our holiday, inquiring about the availability of an up grade to an historic room. We were able to go one better & got an historic suite at an exceptional price.
The suite was on the first floor of the main house had a large entrance hall, bathroom with roll top bath, big shower etc with views over the gardens, also a dressing room.
The bedroom had duel aspect windows both with great views over the gardens, from the fridge to the trouser press, hair drier etc, it was well kitted out.
The food was good, the staff helpful & friendly, the place was clean & appears to have missed the flooding, although a lot of trees have been damaged in the recent bad weather. Ideal for exploring are, we went to Lyme Regis & Sidmouth, despite early morning fog, we had beautiful afternoons at the coast, would highly recommend, although as everybody says, long walk to the restaurant & entertainment, we will go back there soon.

Room Tip: Always worth checking about an up grade at reduced rate few days before or even on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helpless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pelased to hear that you managed to get an upgrade to one of our lovely rooms in Cricket House with the superb views over the grounds. We were very fortunate that we were not badly effected with the storms and the tree are being cleared now.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st austell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from our ruby wedding anniversary break.A great weekend.As always all staff friendly and welcoming.We have visited Cricket 3/4 times a year since it opened and have already booked 2 more breaks in 2014.The overall package is hard to beat with first class entertainment,good food and lovely rooms.We have stayed in the complete range of rooms and all are clean,breakfast and dinner choices are plentiful.The hotel is continuing to be refurbished and the grounds are beautiful.The entertainment team are always looking for ways to add to your enjoyment and go that extra mile to ensure you have a good time.We have a smile on our faces as soon as we arrive and are already looking forward to our next break in April.Staff in the Holiday shop are very friendly and knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble. Not hard to see why Cricket is our favourite holiday destination.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your very special Ruby Anniversay break with us here at Cricket St. Thomas.

I thank you for the wonderful feedback on my team, it is always good to know that they look after our guests so well. I will look forward to seeing you again in April.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a four night Mon - Fri stayin an upgraded signature room located in the Garden wing.The room was spotlessly clean and well furnished.As previously stated it is a rather long walk to the main restaurant but as most of this is under cover it was not a problem.
From the moment we arrived we found the staff to be extremely polite, courteous and very industrious.
There was an excellent choice of buffet style breakfast and equally so for the evening meal.
The in-house entertainment was very good and varied each evening.
we didnt use the Gym or Spa but they seemed very popular and well equiped.
The extensive grounds are well maintained and well worth a leisurely stroll, weather permitting!
Overall this is a wonderful hotel to either explore the area ( Lyme Regis is about 40 mins away) or simply stay within the hotel and participate in the numerous daytime activities.
The only criticism i have of Warners is in their accounting procedures; both myself and my daughter on another booking were contacted and expected to pay an additional amount even though the invoice showed Paid in Full.

Room Tip: Arrive as close as you can to the check in time to get a good window seat in the restaurant, this wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank routemaster2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and entertainment.

Our Courtyard accommodation is near to most facilities, but if you are staying in the Walled Garden you can request to eat in our new restaurant The Granary which is nearer to the walled garden accommodation.

I hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.1 mi away
Swandown Lodges
Swandown Lodges
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Property: Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing