We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel - the staff could do no more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at cricket st Thomas and will defiantly be returning. The service is outstanding and the staff could no more - there aim was to ensure you were happy. So nice to see. The food was also exceptional too. A beautiful place with wonderful staff. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We travelled to Cricket St Thomas as a party of four over a three night weekend break. The price was very reasonable giving good value for money. Staff very attentive to needs of our party - one disabled and another suffering dementia. Policy of Warner Hotel is ":no children". Electric scooters available for hire.

Room Tip: choice of three room levels; signature (middle level) excellent. Ground floor rooms generally wheel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for three nights and can honestly say it's the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The staff could not be more helpful if they tried always saying hello and smiling. The rooms were lovely and comfortable,clean and tidy. The food was outstanding and the best full English we've had for a longtime. 100% would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Afternoon tea in wonderful surroundings...a grand house enjoyed by naval officers in the napoleonic wars, and more recently as the setting for "To the Manor Born". The food was impressively delicious, and plentiful. Service was helpful, friendly and efficient...though one of the staff saying, "Hallo Guys" to the group at the next table was the only slightly discordant note in an otherwise splendid afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a very good relaxed holiday, after been given a voucher for our Golden Wedding. Chard was our nearest hotel, and it had something to suit everyone, whatever your taste. We used the indoor swimming pool with excellent facilities.The entertainment on the evenings were very good, and the meals were delicious and a good choice. The staff were very friendly and always found time to speak to you. The bedrooms were very comfortable, cleaned every day. Coffees and light snacks were also available during the day and ofcourse no children !!!!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room just off reception very convenient for us, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janetfremington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great location and hotel serving first class food at all meals backed up by wonderful entertainment in the evening. daytime activities were available for those who wanted them,but for me a walk in the grounds was great

Room Tip: rooms by granary are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Words cannot explain the experience you would get by going to this hotel we have been going for 5years . Everyone from the cleaners to the general manger Steve are all friendly the food is fantastic ,entertainment just brilliant rooms are perfect scenery beautiful it is a must for any couple

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a good standard we always go signature
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
355 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
715 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
959 reviews
8.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing