We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for the weekend for a family wedding, and can only say that it was amazing from beginning to end. Staff could not do enough to help and nothing too much trouble even down to the smallest thing! Food was beautiful, rooms stunning and spotlessly clean. A huge Thank You to Steve and all the staff for making my son & new daughter in law's wedding such a spectacular and unforgettable day. Will definitely return

Room Tip: Hard to choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ali81952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    447
    210
    70
    52
See reviews for
153
871
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

lovely setting but that's as far as it goes 4 problems at check in. lady at check desk thought we had arrived on wrong date was told restaurant opened at 6.00 was in fact 6.30 more about that later then she couldn't remember how we got to our room and then couldn't register charge card to us. finally got to our room though endless corridors and people at every junction trying to find their way around. went to look at view out of bedroom window to get wet paint on me found note later on bed but don't expect to find wet paint in a room we are about to sleep in! room very dusty,and bathroom smelt a little damp and mouldy coloured grouting and brown marks over walls by toilet. went down to dinner at 6pm bar staff tried hard to find 2 matching wine glasses that were clean by this time 60 - 70 people joined us wanting to know why restaurant wasn't open. when it did it was mayhem so many people in one room very small tables very close together. food was self service very bland and tasteless no labels on food, salad had walnuts in which you couldn't see because it was covered in tasteless white stuff. nuts not a problem with us but not good that not labelled! indian food not labelled and someone asked one chef he didn't know what it was! evening enterainment was ok but was almost half hour late. breakfast was a joke waited 25 minutes for coffee and cold toast by then we had finished our tasteless food. marmalade all over wall that got in my hair all windows and mirrors in the place were dirty in fact whole place needed a good clean . went back to room to pack and found someone making the bed then she rinsed out tea cups in sink. we told her we were checking out but was met with a blank expression. so I hope who ever was next in that room got clean sheets at least. at checking out we told the girl about some of our experience and all she said was oh did you!! no apology! I can only hope it was like this because there was a wedding going on (which also meant there were children running around a adult only hotel for 2 days)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Had our wedding in the grounds of Cricket House. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left nothing was too much trouble! Ensuring that our special day was out of this world! The staff where brilliant and the food was wonderful! The historic room we stayed in was stunning and spotlessly clean! Thank you to all the team at Cricket St Thomas for giving us the wedding of our dreams!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToneG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at cricket st Thomas and will defiantly be returning. The service is outstanding and the staff could no more - there aim was to ensure you were happy. So nice to see. The food was also exceptional too. A beautiful place with wonderful staff. Thank you all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe on Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We travelled to Cricket St Thomas as a party of four over a three night weekend break. The price was very reasonable giving good value for money. Staff very attentive to needs of our party - one disabled and another suffering dementia. Policy of Warner Hotel is ":no children". Electric scooters available for hire.

Room Tip: choice of three room levels; signature (middle level) excellent. Ground floor rooms generally wheel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for three nights and can honestly say it's the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The staff could not be more helpful if they tried always saying hello and smiling. The rooms were lovely and comfortable,clean and tidy. The food was outstanding and the best full English we've had for a longtime. 100% would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Afternoon tea in wonderful surroundings...a grand house enjoyed by naval officers in the napoleonic wars, and more recently as the setting for "To the Manor Born". The food was impressively delicious, and plentiful. Service was helpful, friendly and efficient...though one of the staff saying, "Hallo Guys" to the group at the next table was the only slightly discordant note in an otherwise splendid afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
8.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Property: Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing