We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afernoon Tea - Brilliant !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked afternoon tea as a special birthday treat for my mother in law, cannot fault the service or the food ! excellent ! excellent ! . As we live in Somerset, I will certainly be recommending this to my friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mariaroyboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time post your review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea with your Mother-in-Law at Cricket St.Thomas. We do get lovely comments back from our guests on the wonderful ambience in the house.

I will pass your comments back to my team.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had an absolutely excellent weekend break here. We stay at various Warner Hotels frequently and this was the best by far. Our historic room exceeded expectations as did the entertainment. There was an Everly Brothers/Buddy Holly/Jerry Lee Lewis tribute band who provided a superb show. The resident entertainment was also better than usual with an inspired production of 'Dream Lover'. We enjoyed a drink and a light lunch outside the bar area of Cricket House which has magnificent, far reaching views.
The food was nothing special but it was adequate and plentiful. We were fortunate to be given a window table with a good view over the gardens.
I would recommend a Warner break here to anyone.

Room Tip: Historic rooms in Cricket house are beautiful but a long way from the entertainment and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your break and we exceeded your expectations. We are located in a wonderful part of the country and our grounds are stunning.

I will pass your very nice comments onto my entertainment team. I hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Good food and good entertainment on the Saturday night.
We did not arrange a charge card which caused a bit of confusion in the restaurant. We were asked to pay for our drinks on our last evening although we thought that they would be charged to our room and we could pay on leaving. The waitress asked us for the money in front of all the other guests who were eating their evening meals and it made us feel that they thought we were trying to avoid paying.
As for the room, there were hairs and dust in the bedroom draws, also thick dust on top of the shaving light in the bathroom that had obviously been there for weeks if not months. The room maid told us she had 24 rooms to service and not time so maybe that was a factor as to why they were not cleaned properly. No excuse. We didn't see or hear a hoover the whole time we were there! We only had one armchair in a double room and it would of been nice to have one each. The bed was very comfortable.
Don't get us wrong but we love all types of music but had difficulty finding a music free place to peacefully read our newspaper during the day, even in the so-called library. It just does not apply to the lovely old house atmosphere. We don't need Michael Jackson blasting out whilst trying to read. Is the music solely for the staff we wonder? How about a no music policy until just before dinner? I can't believe the majority of guests would want music everywhere they sit.
Lovely location but not sure we would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonzoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the payment for your wine, I am sorry the team asked you for payment at the table, but it is always difficult if guests do not set up a charge card.

I am pleased you enjoyed your break overall, and I will speak to the Head Housekeeper regarding your room please accept my apologies, just to let you know our room attendants have 10 rooms each and do have time to clean all areas.

I will pass your comments on the background music onto our Entertainments manager.

I hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Steve Grainger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My sister and I had a most enjoyable day at Cricket St Thomas for just £10.00 each. We had wanted to have the Spa experience but as we could not book until the last minute it was fully booked so we enjoyed walking in the gardens, swimming in the pool, the sauna and lunch. The weather was a bonus and we would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Not applicable as we did not stay but the rooms we saw looked very comfortable.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just returned from a week there. Food excellent, staff helpful and pleasant, signature
bedroom large and very good, grounds a delight if you like walking, swimming pool should suit
everyone. The main hotel is a gem, and snack lunches there are top quality A fair walk from
ones bedroom to the restaurant, which might not suit everyone. We were blessed with good
weather, and were able to visit lyme regis worth a trip, forget Seaton, Bere interesting, steep
slopes to both Lyme Regis and Bere..National Trust at Lyte Cary worth a trip. Overall
we were very impressed and would recommend this hotel. Like all places if the weather was bad
you might be pushed for things to do.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great weekend. Just returned from Warners Cricket St Thomas Hotel what a great experience. We drove down a long drive with fantastic trees all around to see the hotel in the distance. On booking in the Staff were helpful and very friendly. Then the room WOW we had the Contempory Royale room in the walled garden on the ground floor with a patio well what a huge, light and airy room. We have never stayed in such a large room it was huge. We had 2 small bottles of wine in the room and 2 small bottles of water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits, ironing board and iron & fridge. Toiletries in the bathroom.
When we went to dinner we were allocated a table that was ours for duration of our stay. Food was 1st class.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1948Chrissy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had written to Warners w/copy to Hotel Manager prior to our trip over problems w/phone calls relating to extending our stay after being invited to do so. No response from Warners or Hotel Manager. On arrival at hotel instead of having ground floor room with outside seating area as we were given to believe we had booked and paid for before leaving Warners at Lakeside the previous month, we found ourselves booked into second level room above a boiler room, extremely warm and uncomfortable. When we approached front desk were referred to wait at Holiday Shop to speak to their Rep and only resolution was to have a fan sent to the room! Have since written to Warners, as advised to do so by their staff, received a telephone call from the Hotel Manager, which was to be followed up in writing, but do date this has not been done.

Room Tip: Do ensure when you are booking that you actually receive the room location you book and pay for if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay580419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
344 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
686 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
188 reviews
12.7 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
198 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: £128 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing