We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motown Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. We were very impressed as we drove from the main road along a private lane which was beautifully landscaped with sheep in the fields. As we approached the 'Manor House' we were delighted with the seclusion and tranquillity of the surroundings. We had paid a little extra for an historic room which was in the manor house itself, but we also looked at the other rooms in the garden terrace and they were of a very high standard. The food and entertainment were such that although we were 'far from the madding crowd' there was always plenty to do. The night time entertainment was amazing as it was Motown which we both used to love in the 60's. We would recommend these weekend breaks without hesitation. Oh and the staff were all very efficient and cheerful.

Room Tip: Historic room was in the main house.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cathybaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
There are newer reviews for Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Cricket St Thomas is more than a hotel as it offers a range of activities throughout the day and excellent entertainment in the evenings. Our spacious Signature room on the ground floor was ideally located near the leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, Spa & gym. We had the most comfortable Kingsize double bed, a fridge, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom as well as toiletries in the bathroom. A door opened onto a patio where we sat outside to enjoy our tea and read the newspaper.
The bedroom was a fair walk from the main building. (where reception, the shop, Pavilion and dining room were located). We walked a short distance past a charming old church from our building to enter the main building. We enjoyed the garden tour with one of the knowledgeable gardeners as it was really informative, particularly as my fiance' and I have a keen interest in gardens. The scenery is ideal for anyone who enjoys being close to nature whether simply to relax, walk, take photographs or sit and paint some of the beautiful scenes.
Our dining room service was excellent - the staff were pleasant, courteous and friendly . We had a choice of eating from the buffet or table service depending on what our choices were on the menu. We were offered free drinks in the evenings from 6pm but this is only on certain allocated weekends.
The highlight for us was the selection performed from West End shows on the Sunday night. The high standard of dancing, singing and costumes made this a delightful evening of entertainment. Amazingly, the staff who performed so brilliantly in the evening, had hosted activities during the day.
This 3-nightWarner's weekend was excellent value for money considering the high standard of accommodation, sports facilities, excellent food, service and entertainment.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a patio leading from our bedroom. As this room was quite far from the main buildi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Glynnis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

had a great time here and the oldies really know how to have fun. food was good and varied so much choice, entertainment was brilliant, staff work really hard to ensure you have fun and are comfortable. the grounds of this hotel are stunning beautiful walks.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jane7Aylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent another fantastic weekend at Cricket St Thomas - was fun and relaxing with good food and second to none entertainment!!

Was gutted that my good friend was no longer working there - the hotel has lost a super Manager :-(

We'll be going back next year to our home from home :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The house and grounds were lovely, entertainment was very good and staff friendly. However there were some issues which dampened our stay.

Rooms Our standard room which was located in the walled garden upper level although a decent size, the clenliness was poor. There were some very bad stains on the mattress cover and the bath had hairs in it and limescale all around the taps which was black in places. It took about 2 hours and a bit of chasing to resolve, although the lime scale still remained.

Dinning The buffet breakfast was great with plenty of choice, however, the evening meals were dissapointing. In order to get a waiter served meal you had to choose from one of the four dishes from the chefs selection, however these dishes were not very appealing on any of our 4 night stay, so the only other option was to que at the cavery each evening, Although the carvery was very nice we did not want it on four consecutive nights. It would have been preferable to have some meals waiter served at least on some evenings.
Also the selection of puddings were the same each evening which nade it very limited for choice
Finally the tea and coffee with the evening meal is now charged for as an extra and NOT INCLUDED with the meal. we found this very annoying as we had no idea untill a bill was produced and you have to pay at the table, shame on warners for this very tacky addition many guests were angy about this.

Final thought As you walk along by the river and lake there are still some remnants left from the days when there was an animal reserve, the abandoned pens are still there near the small lake, as is the tea house now in disrepair.The train which used to run over the blue bridge which is still cordoned of.even though the train stopped in 2009 and the signs telling parents to supervise children still not removed, is this nostalgia or strugling times ??

Room Tip: Be aware that many of the rooms are a good walking distance from the dining and entertainment if you...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a great hotel to relax or dance the night away. it is a good base for the south coast resorts like Sidmouth, Seaton, and many more.The hotel was well run and the food was very good the entertainment was very good the team work very hard to please.The gardens are kept well a pleasure to walk around after lunch. well done Warners.

Room Tip: try to get room numbers in the 200
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank suemar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great hotel main house featured in TV programme To the Manor Born. Staff where friendly and attentive. The location was quiet and very pretty. There is a pool, sauna, steam room , gymnasium with lessons in archery and rifle shooting. There was entertainment every evening with quizzes and other things to do during the day. What you wanted to do and how much was up to you. One attraction to me was no children allowed. The weekend I stayed was a free drinks from 1800-2359 stay which added to the weekend. Cost was reasonable about £50 per person per night.

Room Tip: Stay in walled garden and eat in the Granary.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frank r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
2.3 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
678 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
342 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
269 reviews
12.7 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing