We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel. Definitely recommend it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family run hotel. Definitely recommend it.”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is a very welcoming and comfortable hotel. The family and staff run the place very well. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent. The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Vicky, thank you for your recommendation. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    223
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
70
467
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Good breakfast. Everything else cheap and naff. Would not recommend this hotel at all. Would be ok as a stop over if half the price. Don't do it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anatomical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, most people do.

As for the other comments our opinion is thus: considering all of the other reviews that we have on tripadvisor and many other sites, letters, and great feedback from guests in person for many years we do not feel that this is a fair review.

Constructive comments are always welcomed and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend break. The staff (family) were very attentive, friendly, approachable, helpful and nothing was too much for them. What a lovely family atmosphere they portrayed and it came across very well to us both. We were only going to stay one night but decided we had to stay the whole weekend. Food and service was very good. We will definitely be returning at a later date. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The four poster bed rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Mal, Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased you had such a good time and extended your stay! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a two night stay through Groupon and found it to be very good. We chose this hotel because it was dog friendly. However dogs are only allowed in your room and not in the bar or lounge area which was a shame. Although the hotel is surrounded by fields that the locals use to walk their dogs which is a positive and really useful.
All the staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their face, the owner was around on Saturday night working behind the bar. Ready to hold a conversation with the customers or help out the in the restaurant.
Our room was well-equiped and ensuite. The bed was confortable and firm.
We really enjoyed our weekend away and would recommend it thoroughly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VonNoelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

So great to stay somewhere that is run by a family that care. I would go again.

We had a two night stay, the room was a little small for us and our dog but was very comfortable and clean with lovely fresh linen and a large en-suite.

There was a large sitting room/bar with sofas and a log burner on all the time, which was great for relaxing when you come in from the cold.

Both the breakfasts and evening meals were really good with very attentive staff.

It is in a quirky location and you have to drive through a housing development but don't let this put you off ... you soon come upon a charming hotel that was clearly once a farmhouse.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flickselway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lordleaze. You are right, the hotel is a converted 18th Century Farmhouse and once through the housing estate we are surrounded by countryside! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay and were very happy with the food in particular. The waitresses were very attentive and the log fire welcoming. Good local beer and produce. Although accessed via an estate, it retains a country feel - woodpeckers and crows could be heard from our room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjclev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and experienced the local produce we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Had a 2 night stay at this wonderful family run hotel.A comfortable and relaxing bar area and lounges. Management and staff were so welcoming and friendly.We reported a problem with the kettle in our room it was sorted while we were out for the day.A true measure of quality service is the reaction to a problem and the hotel passed with flying colours. Chard itself has limited appeal and we spent both nights in the hotel and it was a delight. The food on both occasions was top quality. Restaurant style, taste and presentation.Staff were attentive and unstuffy and the waitresses made our evenings with their cheerful and helpful service.A real credit to the management.Breakfast was very good too with a good choice and the same impeccable service.

Room Tip: Not really a complaint but our room, No 14, was above the kitchen and a relaxing early night or lie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_1956s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Rob, thank you for your kind words. Your thoughts have been passed on to the waitresses and other staff, we hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
333 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Property: The Lordleaze Hotel
Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing