We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Congeniality. Robin is the cherry on the cake.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Have just spent 2 days at the The Lordleaze. To get there you travel first through the housing estate and then a field to arrive at a secluded spot which means wonderfully undisturbed sleep. It is also a great location if you have dogs as the field means a close and safe spot for early morning and late night stops. Don't forget to clean up after your pooches! Dogs are allowed in your room but not in the public areas which is fine.
We were warmly greated by Robin, as we were every time we saw him over the two days, and I have to say that we found him to be the perfect host, friendly, helpful but not intrusive. There are a number of landlords and hoteliers who could learn some wonderful customer service skills from him.
We were in the older part of the property so the floorboards do creak and the steps are uneven. Beware when descending the two steps from rooms 8-12 ? as there is a slight dip on the extreme right-hand side and I fell (probably not helped by the fact that I already have an knee injury so somewhat unstable). Thank you to the lovely chambermaid who came to my aid. There are rooms available on the ground floor with direct access onto the gardens. The rooms are extremely clean and warm. The bathrooms are nicely done and there is plenty of hot water. Newspapers can be ordered from reception.
the bar area is spacious but still manages to maintain an cosy country pub atmosphere.
The food was excellent. On the first night I had a starter of goat's cheese and asked for redcurrant jelly to go with it which they happily supplied, main course of lamb and fresh clotted cream pavlova as dessert. Wonderful. The second night I had the goat's cheese once again and Belly of Pork. Both evening meals and full english breakfast were superb. I would stick with the full english for breakfast as I found the haddock to be overcooked. I was still "stuffed" from the day before so didn't bother sending it back although I am sure that they would have gladly changed it. I also know two dogs who enjoyed it thoroughly.
Whilst there we visited Barrington Court, Montacute House and Lyme Regis.
In summary: the hotel is in an ideal location for tourism and seclusion although only 5 minutes from the centre of Chard. The hotel is very pleasant and very clean and the rooms are nicely decorated. All the staff are amiable and helpful. Robin is a gem, as is the hotel. I would recommend it. We will be back. Thank you all!

Room Tip: There are disabled rooms on ground floor with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aguest1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for such a glowing review! We are very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us and got to explore some of the local gems there are on offer. You will be pleased to know that we have evened out the dip in the flooring. Hope to see you again soon and Robin sends his regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

The approach to the hotel through a housing estate is an unusual one but the hotel more than makes up for that. We have just had a two night break - one night with Groupon - and cannot fault the accommodation, ambience, staff and food. We would willingly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet break, although it is ideally situated for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tribalrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for such a positive recommendation, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Have just spent two nights at this hotel. It was a special price through Groupon so we were a little unsure of what to expect for the price. Tripadvisor reports seemed positive so off we went. A little unsure on the approach to the hotel through a housing estate but we were expecting that.

We found an absolutely superb hotel with really great staff. As part of the deal we had dinner on the first night only.By the time we had finished that meal we booked in for the second night. The food was great.

It would be difficult to fault this place. Nothing was too much bother and the staff were very aware of the facilities in that area of Dorset. The location gives easy access to historic houses, beaches and many other interesting towns and countryside.

We will certainly be visiting again

Ian & Lyn

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Ian and Lyn, thank you for your great review and glad you had such a good break! Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before, so as soon as I knew I would be in the area on business I booked again. My stay was from mid January until March, my wife joined me for the last week of my stay. The Owen family kindly switched us to a bigger room, they gave my wife a warm welcome as I was working when she arrived.
The food is outstanding, service is always polite and with a smile. I could go on, but needless to say this is a well run hotel with a warm and happy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Mark, thank you for your review, it's always nice to see you! Hope you are well and we will see you again soon. Regards, all the Owens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My wife booked a long weekend trip away as a surprise birthday present and chose this Hotel based on it's location. We had never been to this part of the country before and it was just a short drive from Bristol airport. We found the stay absolutely fantastic and the staff were very helpful with great local knowledge, advising us of beautiful local walks and attractions. The dinners on the evenings were also great - Tom and the rest of the staff simply couldn't do enough to help us. They also presented me with a wonderful dessert when they heard it was my birthday!

Thanks to all for making the stay such a memorable experience.

Darren & Nancy

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMcC_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Darren and Nancy, thank you for choosing us as a place to celebrate your birthday and we're glad you had such a great time! We're glad you had an amazing long weekend away; perhaps we will see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is a very welcoming and comfortable hotel. The family and staff run the place very well. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent. The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Vicky, thank you for your recommendation. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Good breakfast. Everything else cheap and naff. Would not recommend this hotel at all. Would be ok as a stop over if half the price. Don't do it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anatomical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, most people do.

As for the other comments our opinion is thus: considering all of the other reviews that we have on tripadvisor and many other sites, letters, and great feedback from guests in person for many years we do not feel that this is a fair review.

Constructive comments are always welcomed and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
348 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
18.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
475 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: £60 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing