We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Stephen, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

we have just spent 3 nights for our Anniversary at the Lordleaze Hotel and couldn't fault the hotel, food, and staff, we was made to feel very welcome, the room was very comfortable, warm and clean, and the staff were friendly, polite.the food was reasonably priced, and delicious the bar area was cosy warm and a great choice of drinks, would definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Congratulations on you 28th Anniversary ! may the 29th year be your best ever...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    192
    43
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
401
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Was snowed in here and everything was done to make our stay enjoyable despite the weather. A very friendly without being intrusive, family run hotel. Caters for all including those with dogs!! Am planning to bring my disabled father here as has fantastic facilities that will suit him

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Great to have you staying with us again - we look forward to welcoming you all back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sopton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Just had a three night stay at Lordleaze, absolutely fabulous. The hotel is so comfortable, even for a stay in the very mixed January weather. The bar/lounge has a woodburner stove and two very well kept real ales on tap, a comprehensive wine list, all at very reasonable prices. our room was spotless, not overly large but sooooo comfy!!!
Situated on the outskirts on Chard, it is just not worth venturing out for dinner on a dark Jan evening so we ate in each night - just great. Breakfast needless to say was enough to last one pretty much all day.
Thoroughly reccommended!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with patio door to garden - great if you have a pet. (Hotel is pet frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

A really good party night on New Years Eve. Diana, Robin,Tom and Rebecca deserve a real pat on the back for hosting such a great evening.
On arrival we took full advantage of the bathing facilities in our room, and the generally relaxing atmosphere.
It looked as though the hotel was fully booked, and the function room was beautifully decorated.
The meal was superb, and we partied until late, then retired to our excellent hotel room.
Breakfast the next day was a real pleasure in the quiet ante-room.
Thank you all for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by Henderson Drive! It's really worth it when you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebuckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Congratulations on staying up past midnight!
We look forward to seeing you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We just got back from a 2-night weekend Groupon break at The Lordleaze hotel. The hotel is in a quiet spot in the countryside and we felt relaxed the moment we arrived. The interior of the hotel is spotlessly clean with cozy , traditional furniture. Our bedroom was lovely and the bed was large and comfortable. We had a tasty evening meal in the restaurant and our breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious. The Polish waitress was very pleasant and helpful, as was Shirley the receptionist/ bar lady who advised us on places of interest to visit. We will definitely be returning again in the spring. It is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for staying with us - we hope to see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

just returned from trip to somerset and dorset. stayed 2 nights at the hotel which is well situated for touring somerset and the dorset coast.
hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms were well appointed and vey comfy and warm, had a meal in the restaurant on our first night which was excellent value and breakfast was very good. overhaul i cannot speak highly enough of this establishment

Room Tip: we had a room at back of hotel which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billi160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for staying with us we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Lordleaze is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.
The food :excellent
Rooms Clean and comfortable
Nothing was too much trouble, you felt as if you were guests in a private house.
A good selection of wines and spirits, and very well kept two real ales. Along with a group of friends we will go back next year

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Look forward to welcoming back in 2013, thank you for your continued custom..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
22.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Property: The Lordleaze Hotel
Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing