We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant food good but a little over-priced. Whilst some staff (mainly waitresses) really friendly, other members of staff per”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Restaurant food good but a little over-priced. Whilst some staff (mainly waitresses) really friendly, other members of staff per”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in room 18. Everything one would need in a room and bathroom very nice indeed. Unfortunately, the main event - the bed - very uncomfortable. New mattress needed please as all the springs could be heard loudly every time I turned over or moved slightly. Bar and lounge area very nice. Eating in restaurant - food good if rather expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvesterSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We now have brand new pocket sprung mattresses and beds in every room.
Come and try them out everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    215
    49
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
451
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed one night after a week in Cornwall. The hotel is on the edge of the town and set in lovely grounds. The room was very small and overheated. The advertised log fire was eventually lit and provided a convivial atmosphere to the otherwise chilly pub. The staff were fairly friendly. The meal was average but expensive. The hotel is obviously a popular business overnight stop over, but for leisure I would say it's over priced, dated and average

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Also stayed recently on a voucher 2 night stay with breakfast which is excellent value given the quality of the breakfast. Room was very comfortable, well appointed and fully wheelchair accessible with a wet room. Nice and clean with a comfy bed. We ate dinner one night and the food was excellent however the peas tasted of pea and not rock hard cardboard like most places !!. Would definitely return and made a great short break before moving down to Devon

Room Tip: Room 26 if you have mobility problems don't know if there are more restricted mobility rooms ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We loved having you here, as we do with so many wonderful people.
We strive to give a pleasant stay to all and sundry.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We decided last minute to have a weekend away and found this hotel on Amazon local. It was such a good deal at £89 for 2 nights. In a beautiful location. From the moment we walked in we where wowed by the friendliness of the staff and the warm lovliness of the hotel. Breakfast is included in the room price. You can order room service for an extra £2. There is a restaurant and bar area. With an open log fire :). Very romantic setting. Sarah and Tom where working on the Friday night and where very friendly and helpful. The room was standard but very clean. Also provide hot chocolate and buscuits which is now lacking in bigger chain hotels.

Thank you all so much for a great weekend. We wil definatly visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much.
The location is lovely, we are 20 minutes form Lyme Regis and the Jurassic Coast, Forde Abbey and lots of National Trust properties around.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here last week for a 2 night break bought using a special offer voucher. Lovely location, well signposted from the town, good nights sleep with no road noise to cause disturbance. The room was of an ample size, the en suite was small, but I'd rather have a small en suite than no en suite at all! The rooms were clean and comfortable, lovely large bath sheets. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with a lovely vegetarian option and good choice of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals. Would definitely hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which gave a lovely view of the approaching roadway and being west facing gave a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenG281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Guest Relations Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
It was very nice having you stay with us and are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Have to first mention the location of this hotel as it is a bit unusual, being located at the end of a path that appears to cut across a common at the rear of a relatively modern housing estate. Certainly confused our satnav but we got there in the end. The hotel is a charming, clean and well presented place and the welcome was warm and pleasant. Our rooms were clean and well equipped and although not exactly large we had all of the amenities that we would normally expect. The bathroom was clean and modern and had a bath/shower with copious quantities of piping hot water and we could not find any fault with it at all. Downstairs the Hotel has a feel of an old inn or hunting lodge with low ceilings and inglenook log burner etc. The bar is well stocked and there is an attractive outdoor seating area as well as a conservatory dining room. Everything was clean and comfortable and considering that the storms and winter weather had not long abated everything was tidy and well presented. Staff were friendly, service was prompt and attentive and the food was of a good high standard, particularly the quality of the breakfast ingredients with exceptionally lean bacon and very tasty sausages with quantities balanced just right. The owners were friendly especially our very genial host who came to our table at the end of our meal and kindly bought us all a brandy. I have to say that having read some of the few negative reviews of this Hotel I find it hard to believe they could have been staying at the same place.All four of us would gladly come back.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms overlook the garden and the odds overlook the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisydumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Sat Navs get you here now! It is a lot easier to find than some hotels in cities.
Glad you thought it was worth it.
Hope to see you again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I took advantage of a special offer which was very good value for money. The room was comfortable and very clean. We slept very well, very comfortable bed. We had a 3 course meal on the first night which was very tasty, I ate far too much! Breakfast was very good, all locally sourced. The staff were polite and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. Lovely, thank you .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaitlinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed it.
We pride ourselves in local produce, simply but expertly cooked and packed with flavour.
Clean and comfortable and tasty is exactly what we try to give you.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
327 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Property: The Lordleaze Hotel
Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing