We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Didn't meet my expectations”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Maybe I am being harsh but when I saw what looks like an industrial park next door my hopes dropped (look at satellite view on Google maps) and the drive through the housing estate makes you want to check your windows are shut tight. The young guy on reception was great and we had arranged to bring our dog but changed our mind because of the weather forecast being poor (she doesn't like the rain). Now the booking with dog may explain why we got room 2 and that's what we didn't like most. It was small and the furnishings were basic and the ironing board was a surprise but most of all it was the smell of mothballs (or disinfectant) and the cramped en-suite. We were looking forwards to the steak but the thought of waking up in that bedroom the following day with the rain coming down was enough to make us think up an excuse, leave and drive two hours home again to sleep in our own bed. I'm not saying don't book here but don't take room 2

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It's a shame you didn't come to us and ask if we had another room for you if you weren't happy, however the room you were allocated is a nice, quite room out of the way, almost identical to all of our other rooms.
The housing & industrial estate are both far enough away to make the hotel peaceful and relaxing with no noise, as if in the middle of the countryside! (which we almost are, being surrounded by fields.)
If you had stayed longer you would have enjoyed everything else we have to offer, our breakfast & exciting dinner menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    223
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
70
467
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in March and had a great time.It wasn't particularly hard to find,as suggested in one or two other reviews.We received a warm welcome and our room was very clean,as were all other areas.The bar was a pleasant place for a drink and the food in the restaurant was very good.The breakfast was amazing,locally sourced produce used in many instances.This is an ideal place to use as a base if intending to see the local area,and not that far from the coast.We felt lucky to experience this hotel at the particularly good rate we enjoyed.Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 20 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myview2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It's great that you enjoyed your breakfast! All local and cooked fresh to order.
Only a 30 minute drive from the coast with lovely scenic routes and many other exciting places to visit.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerleon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed, for three nights bed and breakfast and from the first telephone call we were treated with courtesy and professionalism from the owners and each member of staff we had contact with. The bar and restaurant staff were delightful and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. This family run business succeeds where others fail by simply putting the customer first and doing it in a no fuss manner . We had 2 lovely evening meals and a mother's day lunch and the food was very good. Our bedroom overlooked the garden and was spotlessly clean and well appointed. I passed a number of rooms that were being serviced and they all appeared similar in size and spec, certainly a lot more comfortable than many I have seen. The log fire was lit and added to the cosiness of the bar areas and the gardens a quiet place to relax in the weekend sunshine. Many thanks to Robin, Tom , Luke and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaerleonFirst_timers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed the food, it was great having you here!
All of our rooms are kept to a high standard and are constantly being upgraded.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in room 18. Everything one would need in a room and bathroom very nice indeed. Unfortunately, the main event - the bed - very uncomfortable. New mattress needed please as all the springs could be heard loudly every time I turned over or moved slightly. Bar and lounge area very nice. Eating in restaurant - food good if rather expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvesterSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We now have brand new pocket sprung mattresses and beds in every room.
Come and try them out everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed one night after a week in Cornwall. The hotel is on the edge of the town and set in lovely grounds. The room was very small and overheated. The advertised log fire was eventually lit and provided a convivial atmosphere to the otherwise chilly pub. The staff were fairly friendly. The meal was average but expensive. The hotel is obviously a popular business overnight stop over, but for leisure I would say it's over priced, dated and average

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Also stayed recently on a voucher 2 night stay with breakfast which is excellent value given the quality of the breakfast. Room was very comfortable, well appointed and fully wheelchair accessible with a wet room. Nice and clean with a comfy bed. We ate dinner one night and the food was excellent however the peas tasted of pea and not rock hard cardboard like most places !!. Would definitely return and made a great short break before moving down to Devon

Room Tip: Room 26 if you have mobility problems don't know if there are more restricted mobility rooms ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We loved having you here, as we do with so many wonderful people.
We strive to give a pleasant stay to all and sundry.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We decided last minute to have a weekend away and found this hotel on Amazon local. It was such a good deal at £89 for 2 nights. In a beautiful location. From the moment we walked in we where wowed by the friendliness of the staff and the warm lovliness of the hotel. Breakfast is included in the room price. You can order room service for an extra £2. There is a restaurant and bar area. With an open log fire :). Very romantic setting. Sarah and Tom where working on the Friday night and where very friendly and helpful. The room was standard but very clean. Also provide hot chocolate and buscuits which is now lacking in bigger chain hotels.

Thank you all so much for a great weekend. We wil definatly visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much.
The location is lovely, we are 20 minutes form Lyme Regis and the Jurassic Coast, Forde Abbey and lots of National Trust properties around.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
333 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Property: The Lordleaze Hotel
Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing