We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Bit off the beaten track but the road signage is good. The bars/restaurant were all very pleasant. Nice gardens.The staff were all very friendly. I found the bedroom a bit cramped but it had everything you needed. The breakfasts were ok. The evening menu was very nice indeed. Chard is good place to visit the rest of the west country.

Room Tip: Check which room you are being allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWR187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
ok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    228
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
71
477
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I am not a person who normally leaves reviews but my wife and i stayed here last night and can't praise them highly enough.
The staff were very friendly and keen to help with anything we asked for.The room was clean and well presented with every thing i would expect and needed.
The position of the Hotel (you drive through a housing estate to get to it ) should not put you off in any way as we found it very charming and quiet location with a nice outside garden to sit in should you want it.The food in the restaurant was well presented and in the evening we asked for a light meal rather than a meal listed on the main menu and the staff were only to keen to help .
The breakfast was excellent and at no point did we feel rushed .
I would happily stay here again and recomend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 503Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were very impressed with this lovely hotel, set in beautiful quiet countryside and ideally located for exploring both coast and country. Staff are welcoming and friendly. Bedroom overlooking the garden was clean and comfortable with ample supplies of towels and toiletries, tea and biscuits! Enjoyed a hearty breakfast each morning and a pre-dinner drink in the cozy bar before sampling the tempting delights of the dinner menu in the evening! Would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Many thanks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our second time staying here, both times on a deal. We enjoyed it so much the first time that this time we brought my parents along, and they loved it too. Nice to see that most of the staff are the same ones as were there last October which to me says something about a place. The rooms were clean and very comfortable with toiletries in the bathroom. We ate in the restaurant the first night and none of our party was disappointed at all with our food. Breakfast both mornings was excellent with lots to choose from. Looking forward to another voucher deal so we can visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emgjdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bredon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at Lordleaze hotel on a deal break and had a good few days. Bedroom quite small but everything you would want and nice and clean, lovely soft towels. It was in a strange position and a little dated but ok as a base.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Not expecting to stay on route to Cornwall we ended up booking at a hotel after being delayed an route. Arriving at the hotel we were presented 2 great double rooms, very clean, good sized, extremely comfortable beds with over shower baths. Coming down for dinner we faced a difficult choice over a very appealing menu, choosing the pork belly I was not at all disappointed it was delicious the caramel sauce just scrumptious which was complemented by an excellent and reasonable priced bottle of Malbec. The following mornings full English breakfast was also excellent. Overall an excellent hotel stay in a lovely family run hotel highly recommended

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradleyclan891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on route to Cornwall with husband and 3 children. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome and the owners went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed and were comfortable. The rooms were a good size, very comfortable beds and a bath and shower in each en suite. The food was outstanding, an excellent evening menu executed by a talented chef and delivered by friendly and polite waiting staff. There was a great choice of good value, delicious wines to accompany the meal sold by knowledgeable staff. The bar and lounge area was a comfortable area to relax in the evenings and there was a good choice of food at breakfast. Our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer but we will definitely be making a return visit, it was great to stay somewhere family run that has retained it's charm. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
338 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
182 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
260 reviews
13.5 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Property: The Lordleaze Hotel
Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing