We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great long weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great long weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I booked 3 nights b&b via a website deal for a really great price, but even though we had a cheap deal it was fantastic value for money. Our room was a lovely size, very clean and comfy. There was a very good choice for breakfast, fresh fruit, cereal, full cooked, kippers or scrambled eggs. I had the scrambled eggs on toast and they were the best eggs I've been served in a hotel for years! We enjoyed a dinner there one evening and I was really impressed by the choice and local produce sourced. The staff were friendly and helpful and always smiling, lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goolia2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    189
    43
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
396
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked this as an Amazon weekend special self and wife 2 nights Sat & Sun for £89 inc breakfast as were exploring Jurassic Coast. Hotel is tucked away with lots of parking just outside Chard centre and is an older building with considerable charm. The room was clean smart and just big enough as we spent little time in there. Staff were warm and friendly. Ate both nights at hotel the food was very good ,not overpriced and the 15% amazon discount off the food bill is a nice bonus. Wines and the bar were also very reasonable price wise. Breakfasts were also very good food freshly cooked and plenty of cereals fruit etc also. Hotel nicely situated at one end of the coast and a good base for exploration. Very difficult to find any faults maybe no Sky Tv and a slight rumbling of a generator type machine early in the morning outside the room were the only small points to raise. Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here & stayed the night too.
The 4 poster room was spacious & very clean with a full sized bath in.
The food was fantastic as always, the staff were professional & nothing was too much trouble overall a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for two nights , hotel is full of character being 18th century building , our room was contemporary and comfortable . Breakfast was a good choice and enjoyable . Great dinner - local and very tasty . Nice bottle of wine!
trips to the coast and Forde Abbey were good fun.
The management and staff were great - accommodating and creating a nice atmosphere for a lovely stay .
Will go back one day - Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was a special deal for a weekend away. When we arrived we had to phone from the desk to get someone to check us in. It was prompt though. We were given our key and the room was very nice. What stood out most of all was how clean and dust free everywhere was. The decor is dated but so so clean. We had rooms over the kitchen and unfortunately this hotel does not have a good sound proof system. So you did hear the door slam for the last person to go to bed. You did hear the door slam for the first person to go to breakfast so if you are a light sleeper.... Tough.
The breakfast was either cooked or kipper fillets. You could choose scrambled or poached egg on toast etc. the cooked breakfast was awash with grease and the sausage seemed to be light brown on one edge and the rest just grey. Not nice. The kipper fillets though were lovely... But don't have the poached egg. The white was vile. The bread was seemed to be the basic supermarket loaf, but it also seemed to have sat in a warm room for 36 hours. Not nice.
If I had to put it in a few words... Come to the hotel the staff are lovely and friendly but don't eat there. Locals described it as an "old peoples home" which is right in decor but not in the way it is run. I have not come across nicer staff but maybe the chef needs a bit of education. I would come back so if you are coming to Chard please come here but be prepared to use it as "room only".

Room Tip: Not over the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to this hotel for a relaxing weekend break. The hotel was very good but unfortunately there was a wedding reception on the Friday night which meant they were not serving food until 8.30pm. After a long drive we really wanted to eat earlier. That night there was a lot of noise from the wedding party and the room we had was overlooking the patio where they all were. On the Saturday there was a birthday party and we had the same problem. THESE COMMENTS DO NOT DETRACT FROM THE HOTEL. We were pleased with the hotel itself but if we go again we will check to see of there are any parties etc on. The breakfast was good and the staff could not be faulted.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not overlooking the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'm wondering that if the family room booking is a raw deal as our room, although was spacious and well serviced, had poor single matresses and they were not really suitable for a dog to sleep on let alone my child.

The hotel was in the midst of renewing the mattresses, however, I advised them to place an old single mattress they were throwing away to replace the one in our room as it was sure to be better than the one on both of the bunk beds in the family room. Perhaps this has been done by now?

Other than the room, our stay was good. Breakfast was well presented and sourced with local foods as much as possible- a sign of quality thinking behind this crucial part of the hotel experience.

Room Tip: Not the family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
22.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Property: The Lordleaze Hotel
Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing