We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Lindens House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindens House
Ranked #6 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
Manchester England
Level Contributor
671 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just off the High Street in Chard. Ample parking and with facilities that would rival a four star hotel. An external swimming pool and jacuzzi/hot tub, lounge facility, king-sized beds (albeit tiny bathroom). Disabled stair lift and walk in shower room available (certain rooms).

Scrupulously clean throughout. Large well appointed rooms including king sized beds, lots of cupboard space, tea and coffee making, biscuits, hot chocolate and even free bottled water.

Breakfast was exceptional. A range of fresh fruits - strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, melon etc. Cereals, yoghurts and a full English or your choice of egg dishes. Even fish could be ordered! If I would make one small suggestion it would be to go over to individual rather than refectory tables. They were difficult both for servers and those with limited mobility.

I have paid double the price for a hotel offering lesser standards. So without a doubt, a bargain!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
23
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just spent a couple of very comfortable nights at the Lindens
It was clean and welcoming ,the hosts were very friendly, directing us to a lovely pub for dinner.
Breakfast was superb,the gardens were beautiful and the pool was an added bonus.
No faults we would stay again if we are in the area

Room Tip: Book early to get an on-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a cosy room at the top of the house and were well supplied with tea/coffee making facilities and biscuits. The breakfast had a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt and, of course, full English. The plus point for the grandchildren was the swimming pool in the garden. They just loved it! But the sad note from a traveller's point of view is that the owners are hoping to sell up to spend more time with their family. We can't blame them in a way but it seems such a shame!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrie and Shir... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

stayed here for 2 nights with my family. had family room and it was spacious, comfortable, clean and just right. sleeping here was like heaven. room supplied with wide range tea, coffee,hot choc , and choice biscuits. owners Joan and robin were the perfect hosts. made us welcome and kids loved them and couldn't do enough for us, recommending places to go visit and eat. breakfasts were delicious with a huge variety of fruits, cereals as well as cooked breakfast. and to make the kids hols perfect the b&b have a pool which the kids loved. would definitely recommend and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmendham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for one night as we had a family wedding in chaffcombe. We phone just after we booked to see if we could check in early to get ready for the wedding which was no problem. We were greeted by a very friendly couple and we were taken to our room which was very clean and nice. The bed was very comfortable and you could get a good nights sleep. The cooked breakfast in the morning was excellent too and you had a good choice of cereals and fresh fruit. You will be made to feel very welcome when you stay here. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby.On phoning the day before we were able to check in early and go on to the wedding. Great comfortable room at the top of the house. Excellent breakfast.
Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerylStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I'd been booked into Lindens for work, wasn't sure what to expect and was pleasantly surprised.

This is a great little B&B, Joan really made me feel welcome and was just the right side of chatty!

The whole place was immaculately clean and my room was lovely; it had an amazing view, the bed was really comfortable, there was a decent shower (once it got going - I was in the attic so water took a while to get up there) and breakfast was fantastic!

The only slight criticism was my room, due to the heatwave, was incredibly warm. A fan was provided and sleeping under the duvet cover (minus quilt) was comfortable. If it's hot when you're staying you may want to ask for a room on the first floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiaRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chard hotels
0.3 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Haymaker Inn
The Haymaker Inn
#5 of 13 in Chard
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermead Guest House
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#3 of 13 in Chard
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindens House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindens House

Property: Lindens House
Address: 52 Snowdon Cottage Lane | High Street, Chard TA20 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindens House is a family run home from home bed and breakfast with a large garden including an outdoor swimming pool, situated in the Heart of Somerset within easy distance of the coast and many attractions, Cricket St.Thomas Wild Life Park, historic houses etc. We also cater for the disabled with stair lift etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindens House Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing