We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Nice & Quaint Lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed there in May this year. The lodge is delightfully nice. The couple, Andrew & Clare, who run this place were fantastic hosts. They made everyone feel very welcome. The place is spotlessly clean, the room comfortable and the breakfast spread homely. Will definitely come back. Kudos to Andrew & Clare!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZulkiOthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were recommended by friends who live in Chard as a good place to stay, we also noticed it's ranking on Tripadvisor & felt we could not go wrong, and we didn't!!
As we entered we were greeted by Andrew the owner and subsequently his wife Clare who were both helpful. It was soon established that another couple from Dubai were already staying and another couple had lived in Indonesia where my wife is from and where I have lived. Also Andrew & Clare had lived there also!
The point I am making is that the owners got to know us and there other guests in a genuine friendly way. Our room had all the amenities you would expect, and although on a main road it was surprisingly quiet.
We had a traditional English breakfast made from locally sourced products which was superb. We will come back the next time we visit Chard again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

How B & B's should be!
Andrew & Clare were the perfect hosts and made our stay (with wife & 6 year old) the perfect Bank Holiday Break.
Breakfast was a feast which set us up for exploring during the day.
Rooms were spotlessly clean as indeed were the bathrooms and all areas of the B & B.
We were made to feel so welcome and can't wait to go back during the summer holiday's.
Tremendous, can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ammonite Lodge.
Andrew and Clare were fabulous hosts. They went out of their way to ensure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable.
The breakfast is incredible! Lots of beautiful local ingredients. The facilities are excellent, clean and comfortable.
They even offered to assist with a load of washing which was very much appreciated as a traveller.
The lodge is in close proximity to River Cottage by taxi. A taxi was ordered for us on two occasions which again was a lovely gesture.
An overall wonderful experience and highly recommended as a place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank SammyPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for two days in this excellent B&B. Owners very friendly and helpful - welcomed with tea and cakes in the lovely secluded courtyard garden. Breakfast superb - all kinds of cereals, fresh fruit & berries, yoghurt, croissants, jams, juices.......... and an excellent full English breakfast. Local produce used wherever possible. Building is a lovely old Grade 2 listed house - gives it great charm but some people might find room shapes/sizes/ceilings/beams etc a little awkward. I'm 6ft3in and 18 stone and it didn't bother me! I'd rather have the charm of the old building than a modern box! Spotlessly clean. Would definitely stay again if I'm in Chard.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter - the B&B fronts onto the main street in Chard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed our 4 day stay with Andrew and Claire very much and found that we had shared common experiences. Great breakfasts with excellent local fresh fruit, and the cooked options were baked not fried giving a healthier result. They gave good advice on local attractions and because we had asked for a quiet room we had one of their smaller rooms - but it was quiet! The milk left in the room was appreciated for drinks. The assistance with our personal laundry was great and was provided gratis. Their advice on local restaurants was accurate and welcome. Parking was fre and not a problem. Andrew and Claire are thoroughly professional operators.

Room Tip: Front rooms are larger but closer to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 200degreeviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My big son and I stayed at the Ammonite Lodge in early July 2014, and being welcomed there for the first time felt like being greeted by good old friends. So we immediately decided to stay for two nights in stead of one. The rooms are adorable, the breakfast wonderful, and it was no problem to be vegetarian.
Andrew and Clare are the sweetest hosts you could ask for, and do ask them about anything - you will get great advice. We will be back!

Room Tip: Since this is a very old house, there are only stairs and the rooms are very different. So call in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chard hotels
0.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
702 reviews
0 mi away
Pyle Guest House
Pyle Guest House
#6 of 13 in Chard
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Golden Fleece
The Golden Fleece
#3 of 13 in Chard
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermead Guest House
0 mi away
Ham Farm B&B
Ham Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ham
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammonite Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammonite Lodge Guest House

Address: 43 High Street, Chard TA20 1QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price Range: £58 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ammonite Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed building, 4 star luxurious Guest House is the ideal place for a break or for a short visit. 6 Well appointed comfortable rooms, and a full buffet and cooked breakfast, the hosts Katherine & James aim to ensure that everyone is welcomed with a smile and leaves with a smile. A quaint building, located in the city centre and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ammonite Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammonite Lodge Guest House Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing