We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Guest House and Hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Guest House and Hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We recently thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Chard and the fantastic hospitality from Andrew and Clare. The room was spotlessly clean and full of great personal touches. The welcome and constant hospitality of the hosts was incredibly friendly. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and our bathroom was very spacious with natural daylight. Best of all though is the excellent breakfast - the best choice of continental I have seen in a guest house all followed by a delicious, freshly cooked hot breakfast with genuine locally sourced ingredients. We only wished we could have stayed longer! The Ammonite Lodge should definitely be your number one choice when staying in Chard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieAnneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
67
16
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Welcoming hosts, perfect night sleep and delicious breakfast are the three most important features we normally hope for when travelling. The Ammonite Lodge ticked all the boxes. The beds were super comfortable, the breakfast perfect (had the best lemon curd yoghurt ever!) not to mention our hosts who even sat down with us in the sitting room with a glass of red and chat spontaneously! It was a 10 out of 10 stay. Thanks Guys!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitesnow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Affable and welcoming host and hostess. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they went out of their way to accommodate us at short notice. The new owners are implementing a programme of updating to a high specification.
Berries, cherries and bowls of fruit are just a hint of the outstanding breakfast that awaits you.
We would love the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coiacoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this property through booking.com as my husband was booked onto a course at River Cottage.
We were overwhelmed by the welcome by the owners Andrew and Claire who couldn't have done any more to make this such a perfect overnight stay,
The property is quaint and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the quality of the linen and towels was top notch.
The garden is lovely and our room (1) overlooked he garden.
We were provided with a fabulous breakfast which included a range of items. My husband chose the full English which was perfectly cooked and local produce was used. I was provided with a fantastic range of perfect fresh fruit and followed by porridge - scrummy.
Although we didn't spend much time in Chard this was an ideal base to visit Lyme Regis and the surrounding area.
We wouldn't hesitate to return to Ammonite Lodge

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

As a hotelier of some 35 years you could say I'm a tad long in the tooth...my recent role takes me to West Bay-Bridport-Seaton-Dorchester-Wool-Corfe Castle-staying away 3 nights a week on business,and so last week I thought I'd try the BnB places in Chard! As luck would have it Ammonite Lodge was top of the pops on a national booking site with space so my booking was made....I arrived around half six,parked almost outside(had till 10am the following morning) so didn't worry to move my car to the Lodge's own car park and knocked on the door.The owner answered and showed me into the lovely lounge area,and offered me a glass of wine(he knows we hoteliers are a thirsty lot!!) I thought I'd died and gone to heaven,I really did...I was so thrilled about my find I phoned my boyfriend David to share news of my find...I don't do telephones out of work mode so David is still in shock!
The cleanliness and attention to detail is truly outstanding,its a beautiful house/home and Andrew and Clare have truly captured the real essence of how to care for guests.Number one will always be customer care/cleanliness...a bedroom/bathroom where everything works /2 Wifi codes as being an old building they aren't taking any chances/fabulous breakfast with all you could want on offer..Clare tells me she's a trained chef,so no surprises as to why the food is so amazing...Andrew is a hotelier of many years...and yes it shows.As if all of this wasn't enough the bedroom teatray has sweeties/biscuits/water/fresh milk ect and the bathroom has shampoo/conditioner/shower gel/body cream/mending kit/cosmetic pack and the most beautiful white fluffy towels I have not seen since my stay at Chewton Glenn- (Top hotel in Hampshire)I'm not easily impressed but I'm blown away by what Ammonite/Andrew and Clare have on offer and although it would be unfair to mention in this report the names of my previous disgraceful BnB's...I just hope I don't have to stay in West Bay/Seaton/Wool/Dorchester/Corfe Castle ever again-B xx ps guess what I'm booked in at the Lodge for the next 5/6 weeks - Please feel free to contact me re my new find !

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are brilliant - your dealing with professionals at the Lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverleyH-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a delightful lodge runs by a husband and wife team. Very pleasant and extremely friendly couple. The lodge is extremely well kept. Clean, tastefully furnished and serves good breakfast spread. You can talk English football with the man who runs this lodge. Although, we do not support the same team, Andrew is very passionate about two things - football and going the extra mile for guests of his lodge!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Titles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed there in May this year. The lodge is delightfully nice. The couple, Andrew & Clare, who run this place were fantastic hosts. They made everyone feel very welcome. The place is spotlessly clean, the room comfortable and the breakfast spread homely. Will definitely come back. Kudos to Andrew & Clare!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZulkiOthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
7.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Golden Fleece
The Golden Fleece
#3 of 13 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermead Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammonite Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammonite Lodge Guest House

Property: Ammonite Lodge Guest House
Address: 43 High Street, Chard TA20 1QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ammonite Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed building, 4 star luxurious Guest House is the ideal place for a break or for a short visit. 6 Well appointed comfortable rooms, and a full buffet and cooked breakfast, the hosts Katherine & James aim to ensure that everyone is welcomed with a smile and leaves with a smile. A quaint building, located in the city centre and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ammonite Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammonite Lodge Guest House Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing