We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Museo del Cafe
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
93
25
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
25
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews delicious coffee gift shop cookies english guide coffee making tours process products museum information plantation tasting town
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We weren't sure what to expect when we arrived, but this experience was really fantastic. They have several options for tours, but unless you have planned ahead for a full day at the plantation outside of town the only viable option is the one-hour tour. We selected this option, and because we were the only guests, we had a completely private tour. The tour provides a thorough overview of coffee, from how it is grown through its processing. It was informative and our guide (one of the family members who owns the plantation) was really great. Tours are available in English and Spanish, but you may need to plan ahead to ensure an English guide is availalbe when you want to attend.

After the tour you get a coffee tasting, and an opportunity to tour their small shop where you can purchase their coffee or coffee paraphernalia.

It was a truly enjoyable 90 minute "deep dive" into coffee making!

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank garhuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCafe-talapan, Gerente at Museo del Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thanks Garhuff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

One of my most memorable experiences in Mexico. Even though I was the only visitor Arturo and his mother between them showed me the complete process from commercial finca to cup. The tour included a tasting session and explanation of modern versus traditional cultivars. The finca is an experience not to be missed. A canopy of trees above and an amazing waterfall. A throughly enjoyable 4 hours.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank gemido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCafe-talapan, Guide at Museo del Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Thanks, nice pics !!! Remember we need to drink just high quality coffee in This Life ! I hope you had a nice trip back home! Atte Arturo A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

It was not very busy the day I went we were a group of 6, the tour was about 45 minutes the cost was 40 pesos per person. Right after, we had a taste of the delicious coffee with cookies. The tour was informative and we were able to take some great pictures in the museum. Would recommend to stop in.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank deecruzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCafe-talapan, Director General at Museo del Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Thanks! Your opinion will help thousands of travelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

This was one of the best tours my husband and I have taken. The staff treated us like family and were very knowledgable. We took the complete museum and coffee sanctuary tour. We started in the museum where they explained the coffee making process and showed us some antique and modern machinery and methods. Then you get in a vintage truck and go to the coffee grove. The ride is beautiful- native orchids in the trees! Then you get to the grove and they expalin the growing process. Once you are deep In the grove there is a coffee tasting "workshop". After that they feed you lunch - delicious tacos in a beautiful setting! Afterwards you return to the museum. There they have a gift shop and you can buy their delicious coffee too among other things! They took a lot of time with us answering all our questions and were extremely hospitable. You get coffee all throughout the tour also. If you love coffee and nature or just like to learn something new I highly recommend this tour! It is worth it,

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank jfigg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

You would never imagine you can find this treasure in a small route between Coatepec and Xalapa. Veracruz is known for its good coffee, this museum not only tells you why, but it allows you to discover it with all your senses. You get information, excellent coffee, music, motivation. You learn about coffee production, its benefits and today's challenges. Such a pity we only had a few hours to devote to it. Once there we found out more activities are available. If you are a coffee lover you cant miss it, and if you are not, you will become one. A TOTAL MUST IF YOU ARE IN VERACRUZ.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank CBarradas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews