We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy colonial Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meson del Alferez Coatepec
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coatepec
Tlaxcala, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very cozy colonial Hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I´ve stayed there a couple of times and I´ve been in two different types of rooms, I really liked them both a lot. The hotel is like a small "Hacienda". There´s a small two story room that I loved the way it was designed. When you go in, you find a small livingroom and the bathroom, you also find a very small set of stairs (that I also loved) that take you to the second floor where the bed is, from there you can see the small livingroom that it´s on top of the bathroom. The other room I stayed in was a one story room but larger than the first one I talked about. It had 2 beds and a big living room. My favorite one was the first one.
I shot a virtual tour of the hotel, but I regret not shooting inside the rooms. http://digital-editorial.com/recorridos360/HMesonAlf.html
The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the heart of Coatepec´s downtown. It included a very delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the two story room just because its different than all the other hotels I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ioserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    34
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great wee hotel just off the main square and close to markets and shops. Hotel is built around a courtyard setting with spacious, bright and clean rooms. Reception staff were friendly and breakfast was included and pretty good. Would recommend and stay again if i was ever passing through the area again. Parking is provided across the road is secure setting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard rather than to the road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin7629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Nice, small and calm hotel with good standard close to the city center. Breakfast is included in the hotel price. Additional note: You may ask for hot shower water right in advance - it will be otherwise have just body temperature!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greensplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijuana, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a perfect choice for couples and family friendly. Coatepec is a magic town with very traditional touches of old Mexico. The hotel is very nice and rooms were confortable, clean, very nice lights and Hacienda style. The breakfast is included and the choices were delicious. We recommend this hotel very much. You will enjoy it!!

Room Tip: The hotel has a parking lot within the house in front of hotel. Very convinient. Any room is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJtravelerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

After days on the road and after sleeping on not so comfortable beds this hotel was a saviour! Comfy beds, very clean room and breakfast included!! Staff were very helpful and friendly too! Deffo worth a visit to this quirky and fun little hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmoore1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Meson is a classical mexican mansion - palace converted and refurbished as a boutique Hotel. I have nothing but good things to say about my 2-days stay here. My room (no. 10) was a huge, spotless, well appointed double-bed room, with digital TV and wi-fi internet in reliable working condition. The personnel was sparse but helpful and courteous. The room cost me 880 pesos/day included taxes and breakfast. Go for it! It is an excellent alternative to the more popular and more imposing Posada Coatepec (which is quite impressive on its own terms!). There is nothing special to do in Coatepec, except living in a relaxed, blessed, mexican style...and eating well (for fish fare try the restaurant Tio Je Je: top notch!).

Room Tip: No. 10 is excellent for 1 or 2 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Coatepec is a provincial town with no large hotels. The Meson del Alferez is located a re-purposed building which has been completely re-engineered to provide comfortable, contemporary rooms. This room was on two levels - the sleeping area in a loft reached via a narrow stairway. Nice, but not for everyone. The stylings are very simple; there is minimal decoration - sort of like a modern version of a Veracuzano bedroom of 100 years ago. the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are very nice, although hot water was scarce in the morning - maybe a quirk of the day, perhaps solar heating (?), but definitely cooler than I would have wanted.

Reception staff was helpful and personable. There is parking across the street on a property owned by the hotel.

The hotel includes breakfast, but there was little to recommend it. This was the week part. The restaurant is not a full service restaurant and clearly laid out only for self-service breakfast. The coffee was mediocre, the bacon slightly off, the tortillas cold. Better to go down the street to one of the many places on or close to the plaza.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chapul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coatepec
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Real del Cafe
0.1 mi away
Posada Coatepec
Posada Coatepec
#24 of 77 in Veracruz
46 reviews
5.5 mi away
Meson del Alferez Xalapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Posada Del Cafeto
Posada Del Cafeto
#3 of 25 in Xalapa
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabanas La Jicarita
Cabanas La Jicarita
#3 of 7 in Coatepec
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Orquidea de Coatepec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson del Alferez Coatepec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson del Alferez Coatepec

Property: Meson del Alferez Coatepec
Address: Calle Jimenez Del Campillo 47, Coatepec 91500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Coatepec
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coatepec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson del Alferez Coatepec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful experience in a charming provincial house. Mesón del Alférez Coatepec is an elegant hotel with beautiful rooms surrounding a lovely courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Meson del Alferez Coatepec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Del Alferez Coatepec Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing