We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Armenia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khankendi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Armenia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Khankendi
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After a very long drive from Yerevan, Armenia to Stepanakert, in Artsakh, we were pleasantly surprised at the hotel we had reserved through the advice of our tour company Noyan Tours. The rooms were so comfortable, especially the beds. It was centrally located in Renaissance Square a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with farm fresh eggs made to order any way you liked it. Breads, rolls, juices and delicious jams and jellies fresh from the farms in the area. Definitely a great find. The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When we go back we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    22
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
8
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randers, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The receptionists speak English at this hotel. International standards and a hotel with similar standards would cost a lot more elsewhere.
The rooms have flat screen TV, nice bathroom with hair dryer, nice beds, room service, minibar and very efficient a/c.
Restaurant is quite good, delicious tasty food and good value. A bottle of local wine is approx 4 euro; unbottled wine even cheaper.
Central location. Unlike most of the other hotels which are located out of town. If arriving by bus, just walk uphill to the roundabout and turn right heading for the square.
Laundry is expensive and it is unclear if you order washing or ironing only. Fast though.
The hotel didn't have any map of the city and they were unable to find an English speaking guide for me.

Acc. to Wikitravel there are plenty of budget accomodation available in Stepanakert, but this is not true. Maybe if you speak Russian or Armenian (very few people here speak English). No one to meet you at the bus station with offers of accomodation, no information at the bus station, no one to ask (in English) and of course no taxi drivers to trust. And even after extensive waling all over the city center: no cheap accomodation was to be found.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gits85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Like the town of Stepanakert which is a total transformation since my first visit of 1994 the Armenia Hotel offers an excellent high class stop off at very realistic rates for what is on offer. The rooms are warm and spacious, wifi is on tap free of charge, breakfast is not like that one would experience in London or New York, it is adequate. An evening meal is somewhat hit and miss, the restaurant is not the best venue for a meal in town but again is just adequate. The biggest plus are the staff, reception bar, room maids are all keen to please and most in my experience speak English. Those that do not seek out a staff member that does so language is never a problem.

Room Tip: A little extra will provide you with a room facing the square, more interesting than looking at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I was in this hotel one night. I have booked 2 month before be there.we was two male and they know it. well they give us just a bed and no so much big, in the smallest room I ever see.
Nobody speak english there, just the recepcionist.
The breakfast is like a bad taste joke. The cofee is soluble and have NO MILK!!!!! the food poor and bad.
My faather broke a glass by accident and... the make pay for it!!!!!!!!!!
If I were the owner I throw off the manager and, if I were the manager quit resing inmediately.
If you don't haave any other place to go, take your own milk in you want to dirk coffe with milk in the breakfast.
There are aa great hoitel in a little town 10 miunutes by car from there, soushi, the grand hotel. Is better in all aspects

Room Tip: MY advice is: avoid it. dont go.!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barcelonian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

New, clean and comfortable. Not sure it will age well but for the time being a decent option for Stepanakert. Service could be improved, reminded me of the good old days in the Soviet Union. Breakfast and restaurant ok but not more than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zephyrus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Well, well, this is supposed to be the best hotel in all of Nagorno-Karabach, the creme-de-la-creme of the south eastern caucasus.
It starts off well when you find out that the hotel and the government building of Nagorno-Karabach is one and the same building, couldn't be better if you want class and status.
The Hotel itself is not bad, good rooms, well equiped sauna and pool room in the basement and a wonderful veranda overlooking Republic Square.
If only for these facts the Hotel would be worth 4-5 stars, but the drawback is the Hotel restaurant, and I'm really sorry to say it, this restaurant is in a major lack of chefs or at least people with any kind of cooking education. The dinner is a disaster and not even the breakfasts are more than half-boring.
So employ a chef from Yerevan or Bishkek and the Hotel reputation will increase dramatically.
By the way, fix the elevator while you're waiting for the new chef to arrive.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Republic square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel has gotten better then last time I visited this hotel. The entire hotel grounds now have full wifi and there are more international television stations. The breakfast also has a larger selection and more international foods. The service is still very good and the staff was very helpful. They helped me go to new destinations in Nagorno Karabakh and found me some new restaurants. Overall it was a great stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sev8196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Armenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armenia Hotel

Property: Armenia Hotel
Address: 20-th February Street, Building 4, Khankendi 375000, Azerbaijan
Region: Azerbaijan > Nagorny Karabakh > Khankendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Khankendi
Hotel Class:3 star — Armenia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing