We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to-2.5 stars-- Think Motel 6 from the 50's”
Review of Hotel Castle Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khulna City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Castle Salam
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Khulna City
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Only if you have to-2.5 stars-- Think Motel 6 from the 50's”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here on business for a couple of days. Old, thread bared hotel. It is hard to write about a hotel like this-- the stay was ok-- especially if you consider we are in a developing great country in the beautiful shrimp and rice growing area of Bangladesh. So, what do i say-and what do i expect? So, i think the analogy of Motel 6 1950's fits nice.

It was sort of clean-- trying to figure out the shower was fun. Make sure you take your adapter so you can play find the only outlet to plug in the wall to recharge. But, no internet in the rooms so do not worry about that.

1 liter of water a day is free- fruit basket is nice-- typical hard foam mattresses that they seem to like.

Resteraunt? I am not sure where other reviewers ate-- both nights took us 1 hour each night to get our food. Breakfast buffet, enough said? yes----- coffee-- bring your own. (( i don't drink coffee so no problem for me). The food for dinner was good-everything from Chinese to Thai to Hamburgers-- we ended up with Tondori pizza one night-- just do not expect any level of service.

We visited the #1 Hotel for our business plans-- and like being in another part of the world. If that is available i would suggest staying there if not much of a price difference. However, if i could not stay there-- i would stay here- just know what i was getting into.

Room Tip: Please choose the non-street side. The street side was loud louder traffic noise all night. Have to...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    19
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
4
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Nice hotel, very efficient. Buffet breakfast good. Rooms clean. Only downside sleazy reception guy who didn't give me change from money I gave him to buy a train ticket. The staff weren't that nice but not really a problem because everything seemed to work. Note the coffee shop does not have 'real' coffee. They assured me it was but when I investigated was cheap instant.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertloverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed two nights in the middle of an International cricket game so the hotel was busy. The room was large and clean and facilities in the room were good. The restaurant was ok, but the food was good.

The service and staff varied from moderate to below average - I would like to think that this was because they were very busy with all the people in town for the cricket. The hotel has no wi-fi in the room, but does have it available in the business centre on the ground floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionred2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Castle Salam is a a nice facility, in the heart of the city with large rooms. The rooms and furnishings could do with an up-gradation though. The toilet fittings and amenities were quite run-down, still clean. The Bed was quite uncomfortable.

What I must mention is the food- it was superb!!! Specially the fish items.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnkanSiddiquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Compared to other accomodation solutions in rural area of Bangladesh, the Castle Salam is definitely a very good hotel for people and professionals stopping by in Khulna. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and the restaurant has good food at cheap prices.
While I was there a colleague from India took me on the other side of the road, where there is a barber who makes great head massages!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stitch8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed two nights. Was generally clean and comfortable. Hot water was a problem for some in the group - had to run for 15 minutes. Didn't use any services but know it had a small business centre. Restaurant was cheap, food ok - but it's in a big hall and had the TV blaring. Safe and secure, fairly cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnyjampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My ratings are a reflection of the local market rather than the international one. The rooms are large, clean and reasonably comfortable although the foam topper pad an my bed could do with changing as it had become compacted in some places.
The facilities are not great but are the best in town. The shower temperature was marginal but then probably a hot hot shower is not needed in that part of the world!
The staff were fabulous and keen to make the stay a pleasure.
Thgis was my second time and I'm sure I will be staying there again next visit!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WagenerHolidayPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khulna City
0.0 mi away
White Orchid
White Orchid
#5 of 29 in Cox's Bazar
41 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Inn
City Inn
#1 of 3 in Khulna City
113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tiger Garden International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Salam

Property: Hotel Castle Salam
Address: G-8, K.D.A, Avenue, Khulna City 9100, Bangladesh
Region: Bangladesh > Khulna Division > Khulna City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Khulna City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Salam Khulna Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing