We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat visitors”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coral Coast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tubakula Beach Bungalows
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Repeat visitors”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. There were a few other families and couples there who come to these bungalows repeatedly which just goes to show how good they are.
The view from the second row (ocean view) bungalows were great and were even a bit protected from the warm but sometimes gusty trade winds which were blowing daily in July.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    35
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
28
22
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henty Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Get rid of the negatives first, i stayed here in early april this year, when i booked i decided to either cook for my self, or eat in the resort restaurant. When i arrived ( about 4.00pm ) i was told that they had no cook so no meals were available, which meant a trip by bus back to Sigatoka to the supermarket and a taxi back to the resort with some groceries ( taxi about $10.00 Fiji )
Cabins were very comfortable, double bed downstairs and two singles upstairs, comfortable lounge and a two burner gas stove which would not light properly, but they fixed by the next day.
Fan in lounge and bedroom was more than efficient, and a comfortable double bed, although the linen was not changed as promised during my stay. Everything was amazingly clean, and the bed made up and kitchen cleaned every day. The bathroom was nice and clean, the water took a while to come through but then it was good. Bathroom louvres kept falling out of their holders, because they had rusted away, i suppose in hindsight i should have mentioned it to the manager, but i was in layback mode and didn't really care.
Quite a few resorts within ten minutes walk with nice meals, Eco-Park across the road, turned out to be a lot better than it looked, had no worries putting in the afternoon there.
Don't expect 5 star service, but i think it was fair value for money, and the manageress done her best to help me with any problems i had. All in all a nice stay, and nice people, i was lucky that it was just prior to the busy season and was nice and quiet. My only real complaint would be that management did not notify that there was no restaurant open, at the time of booking even though it was advertised as such.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows have full ocean and reef views, and do not get as much noise from the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ba, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had placed a booking for one of the beach front villas for Easter Holidays with my families and had confirmed the booking 1 week prior to my stay. Upon reaching Tubakula on 19/04/2014, I was only then told by the reservation that my booking was been cancelled just because I never did any payment. I explained to the reception and the Manageress (who came an hour later) that I was told by their staff via phone a week earlier that I can do my full payment upon my arrival. They had no courtesy to at-least apologise for their mistake instead they just walked away. I had to return all the way back to Tavua since the rest of the hotels were fully booked as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji4Less, General Manager at Tubakula Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback--it is appreciated. We are sorry to hear of your recent unhappy experience, especially as you had chosen Tubakula for your Easter family holidays. Unfortunately we do require full prepayment for bungalow accommodations during busy holiday periods such as Easter (and credit card guarantees for normal short-stay bookings) and this policy is clearly explained in our reservations communications. Walk-in bookings are always welcome on a space-available basis however, but unfortunately it appears that space was not available when you arrived. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. If you would consider giving us another try, please call Rajeshni at our Suva Head Office at 330 8646 who would be happy to help with your reservation and any requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coral Coast hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked here because it was cheap and we needed a place for a short stay on our way to Labasa from Nadi. 3 days became 5 and then 10. We were lucky that the place was quiet and we were able to get a beachfront bungalow and extend our stay easily. The staff were friendly and helpful if you don't mind some leeway for 'fiji time" :-). The bungalows are basic but completely adequate and clean. If you want to reduce costs further go into town and buy local produce to cook your own meals in the bungalow. We had a fantastic time, bar and resorts nearby if you want to use their facilities and tour information available at the office. We are definitely going back. Bus to Sigatoka available at gate to got into town. Get on and pay when you get off. You will get charged tourists rates but the difference is $1FD as compared to $0.70 for locals. At that price for 10kms, we didn't quibble.

Room Tip: Bungalows near the road get some traffic noise but are near the pool. Beach front are the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My partner and I have just retuned from 13 days in Fiji - 7 at Plantation Island and 6 at Tubakula - two very different types of travel experiences in Fiji in late March 2014. The only negative comments I have about Tubakula are: The snackbar wasn't open which means if you arrive late in the day and you haven't bought food with you to prepare then you will need to go to Outrigger (expensive) or a little further walk are some lovely small bars and restaurants which are quite reasonably priced - bearing in mind you will need a torch to walk at night unless you want to pay for a taxi. Also the beach was lovely but would have been better if the groundsmen picked up the washed up debris from storms and tides. The girls in the office were very helpful and happy to assist with any problems - also we saw our housekeeping girls everyday. The pool was service every second day by a professional pool business. The facilities, towels and sheets were old and tired, but I knew this from other reviews posted so wasn't surprised with this - took my own sheets, beach towels etc. Lovely budget priced spot - but you get what you pay for. We had beachfront bures so no problems with road noise and it was a very quiet time for them. Don't forget that this is not your 5 star resort - you are going here because it is a cheaper alternative - so make this most of your stay by catching the local buses - talking to the local people and getting an insight into the real Fiji. I thank all the staff there so making our stay memorable for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Beachfront bures the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellaqld4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Being a small island state lost in the South Pacific, Fiji imports most consumer goods, many still from Australia. The cost of living is correspondingly high. Tourism is far from cheap and, in fact, seems to be moving upscale. Acceptable, pleasant budget places are thin on the ground. Which is why Tubakula Beach Bungalow resort is so welcome.

This is a place from another era, with basic, spacious A frames that are clean and adequate but lack every luxury. They do have hot water, though, a reasonably well equiped kitchen, towels, etc. Fans only; no internet. The grounds are well kept, the pool is fine and the lagoon, barely swimmable at high tide, is no different from that facing the expensive resorts nearby. The restaurant is cheaper as well. It's an easy ride by frequent local bus or share taxi (eihter one FJD 1-) to Sigatoka, 8 kms away. The bungalows in the back are close to the road and noisy at times, but those facing the ocean are quiet and breezier.

The large dorm block is no longer in use (except for groups) and ordinary bungalows are used as dorms - a terrific deal. Fussy customers abstain, budget travellers should feel at home for a few days. Only mosquitoes will bother you and no one will try to sell you anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvertongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The place is at an awesome location and has very reasonable rates. The bungalow have a character of its own and was a refreshing change from the standard box type rooms of most pricer hotels. Lovely area as itd right next to the beach. Sea makes great swim spot at high tide. Pool will pass. However the numerous coconut trees can be hazardous-falling coconuts! Management better look into this issue as a great trip could be spoilt by this oversight. So it u can dodge coconuts then this is a great place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sGeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coral Coast hotels
0.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crow's Nest
The Crow's Nest
#1 of 1 in Korotogo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
12.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubakula Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubakula Beach Bungalows

Property: Tubakula Beach Bungalows
Address: Queens Highway | Korotogo, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Coral Coast
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained beachfront bungalows with kitchens, located in spacious grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tubakula Beach Bungalows Hotel Coral Coast
Tubakula Beach Bungalows Fiji/Coral Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing