We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat it is..”
Review of Crusoe's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crusoe's Retreat
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Coral Coast
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Retreat it is..”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

If what you want is calm, beautiful surroundings, care and attention to detail, look no further. I wanted to get away from 'town' life in Suva for a Mother's Day weekend treat with my wife.'Atu' and his crew came through in every respect. There were just enough people around not to feel lonely but few enough to have a sense of having the place almost to ourselves. 'Di' worked hard to 'entertain'.. Not a large menu selection but each and every dish we tried showed off the great skill and excellent training of the chef. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend the establishment highly to those seeking to relax far from the madding crowd. Try to ensure your taxi ride in from the main road is confirmed. 'Atu' managed this beautifully .. His weekend replacement less so.. But nothing really spoilt a most memorable long weekend. Special shout out to Mesake and his brother of the dive shop who went beyond their duties to make us feel welcome! An aptly named location..

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Bula Vinaka Bill and thanks so much for your great review of Crusoe's Retreat. It was wonderful meeting you, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your short weekend getaway with us. Thanks also for sharing your great photos. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff, of whom we are so very proud. We do hope that you will be returning back for another visit very soon. Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    126
    59
    20
    26
See reviews for
67
188
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at crusoes retreat with my boyfriend in November. The rooms are a bit old and outdated and ours didnt have air conditioning, but it is a 3 star property so thats expected. I enjoyed most dinners every night but the some of lunches werent very nice. It is a bit of an isolated location so I suggest buying some snacks and drinks in town before you head down to Crusoes as there are not many places nearby. We had a couple of lovely trips to a nearby village which made our stay really enjoyable. We had purchased a meal plan before we had gotten there so we spent barely any money at the resort! Maybe 500fjd between the two of us for 8 nights. All in all it was a great holiday but may not go back just due to the location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Bula Jessica and thanks for your review of Crusoe's Retreat. Glad to hear that you had a great holiday. Most of our guests select Crusoe's Retreat because of our privacy and seclusion. We are not your 'typical' Fiji Coral Coast resort. We are located off the beaten path, and our isolated location directly next to a traditional Fijian village is truly what sets us apart. Thanks again for your review. Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My new husband and I were very fortunate to have discovered Crusoe's Retreat for our wedding ceremony and honeymoon! The resort is absolutely beautiful, relaxing, and ideal for a once in a lifetime vacation. We were so blessed to have Atu, reserve Bure #1 for us! It is located steps from the beach with an unobstructed view of the ocean. It was pure heaven on Earth!

Our wedding planner, and Crusoe's manager, Emma, was such a delight! She helped calm my nerves of planning a wedding 5,000 miles away, by calmly and efficiently coordinating all plans and details. And as she told me several times," it will all work out perfectly", it most certainly did! My dreams of marrying barefoot on the beach while the sun was setting, was a reality because of Emma and her eye for detail. She even was our "photographer" for the event! Crusoe's also had a private dinner planned for us that evening with our own private wait staff. Hats off and hooray to the entire staff and all of their hard work!!

The atmosphere at Crusoe's is very laid back and relaxing. Just what the doctor ordered, since we both have hectic jobs, etc. We enjoyed massages, Coco's pool bar, the "foot" pool, our special bure #1, the all you can eat Mongolian buffet and kayaking in the ocean! All of this set in the most unbelievable setting of the Coral Coast on southwest Fiji!!

We highly recommend Crusoe's Retreat and we would like to thank the entire staff for a lovely and memorable wedding! Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Bula Rebecca and thank so much for your awesome review of Crusoe's Retreat. First off, CONGRATULATIONS again on your Fiji Wedding. It was so nice meeting you both, and we are thrilled that you chose Crusoe's Retreat for your romantic Fiji Wedding. Thank you for your great words about our little resort. We do hope to see you again on our friendly shores - perhaps for your anniversary! Vinaka Vakalevu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We arrived about 9 a.m. after an overnight flight from Australia. We were invited to have some breakfast and once we had finished eating, we were told that our room was ready. Our bags were carried up the stairs to our seaview bure. We weren't expecting to be able to access our room and were prepared to fill in time, so were appreciative of being able to lay down after no sleep on the plane. We took the food package for the first day because we were tired and not knowing the menus considered this to be the easiest option. We felt that this wasn't really the value that is promoted. If a hearty breakfast is eaten then a light lunch could be chosen and there's other options for dinner. We had fish and chips from the village shop one night for $18-. The lady caught the fish herself that morning and it's best to advise her early if you are planning to have her meal because she also sells the fish. We also walked up to the other resort on the other side of the village and ate lunch there one day and dinner on one evening. One night at crusoes they have a Mongolian stir fry night and another night is lovo night. Happy hour starts at 5 p.m. and is announced with the pounding of the drum and the yelling out - Happy Hour and the same for Dinner. We bought our alcohol duty free at Melbourne airport and packed our mixer drinks, pringles chips and bottled water in our suit cases, and we had our own happy hour on our balcony instead of paying the ridiculous bar prices. Cocktails are about $20-, beer is $9 and soft drinks are $6- a glass. The water at the bar is filtered and we found it safe to drink and filled our bottles from the bar and left them in our fridge in the room. Each night newcomers are sung a welcome song and those leaving the next night are sung a farewell song after dinner.
We found that there's a variety of activities to keep a nice mix of relaxing and keeping occupied. We used the snorkelling equipment and were pleasantly surprised at the variety and quantity of fish are actually swimming just off of the shore, especially around the group of rocks at the bottom of the steps that lead to the beach from the resort. Kayaks were available for use but we didn't use them. There's a nice spa on the property and we had a welcome voucher for $30 massage for 1 hour which we used. Along the beach further, Mary has a massage hut that she performs massages for $40 for 1 hour. She arranged some activities for us from people in the village like horse riding for $50, glass bottom boat ride, $30 and mangrove boat ride, $20.
the operator of the boat told us that he can do a tour that includes snorkelling and he would catch some fish and cook a bbq and cook the fish on a secluded beach around a bit further. We didn't do this but it sounded like a nice excursion to do, he said the he can find Nemo. We attended a church service and during the service a wedding was performed and 4 baptisms. The singing is amazing. We went to a village dinner one night which was a fundraiser for the rugby team, $30. We went on a village tour that included a kava demonstration and optional tasting. We were also involved in some dancing and once again heard some more of that beautiful singing. A donation to the village is appreciated. There was also the opportunity to buy some local trinkets, jewellery and wooden masks. One day through the week a couple of tables are set up on the beach to sell these bits and pieces also.
At 8.30 p.m. the activities night starts and this could be bingo, singing comp, trivia, crab race and a surprise night which we didn't get to see. It's a little bit of fun that fills in some time. During the day there is a timetable of activities and one morning a man from the village came in and demonstrated weaving.
Crusoes is an ideal spot being next to the village for the cultural experience however it is about 4 km from the main highway. We caught a bus in to Suva from the bus stop next to the highway for $7 each way for the 2 hour trip. The bus does need to be waved down. We were able to get a taxi from the resort for $10 however a problem arose on the return trip because we didn't have mobile phones and were unable to contact the resort to arrange for a pick up. We started walking the one hour walk back to the resort and were lucky that the manager was on her way back and she gave us a lift. Probably the best thing to do is have some form of mobile phone access.
The rooms are getting outdated and although clean and comfortable could probably do with a bit of an update, especially the window coverings, ours didn't cover the bathroom window completely and the others are a bit thin. There is a safe in the room, and a fridge and we had soap and shampoo supplied. Take with you tropical strength bug spray, the mossies are very friendly and we used nearly a whole bottle between 2 of us. The staff are mainly from the village and are quite friendly and their English is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cajhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Bula and thanks so much for your great review of our own little piece of paradise - Crusoe's Retreat. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so very fortunate to be located directly next to a traditional Fijian village, which truly makes our guests' experience very unique and very culturally enriching. We are thrilled you were able to take full advantage of this. Thanks again - Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 days and besides a late pick up/drop off at the airport everything else went perfectly. You couldn't ask for a nicer location and the lush gardens are a delight for the eyes. Food and drinks were good, as was the snorkeling and the weather. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from stresses of city life and relax.

Tom & Linda Montana USA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Bula Vinaka Tom & Linda and thanks for your great review of Crusoe's Retreat. It was so nice meeting you, and we thank you for choosing Crusoe's for your Fiji holiday. We only wish you stayed a bit longer! We appreciate your very kind words, and we hope that you returned home to cold and snowy Montana with warm memories of your time at Crusoe's Retreat. Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile


In 2011 my now husband proposed to me on the beach at crusoes, the staff were wonderful and threw us a small party at dinner that night, complete with traditional Fijian engagement ceremony and cake. We were so impressed with all aspects of our stay that in 2013 we returned the day after our wedding in Australia for our honeymoon! The staff are indescribably lovely and kind, the grounds beautifully maintained and the whole place is very very relaxing. On both trips we stayed in Bure #6 (a seaside delux) and found the traditional bure style very much to our liking! They're also airconditioned which is a must in fiji! Yes, the rooms could use some maintenance, and yes the bar prices are pretty much on par with Australian pub prices, but this isn't a huge resort nor does it claim to be. It is a quiet peaceful retreat on the coral coast. Best suited to couples looking for a relaxing getaway. If you want jetskis and nightclubs and modern hotel rooms with huge lagoon pools go to port denaru. If you want a quiet retreat without loud drunken young people or screaming kids, where you can relax on the beach and feel like the only one there, if you want a holiday where your taken care of like family, where the staff call you by name, and the owners go way above and beyond the line of duty to make your stay enjoyable (driving two hours each way to the other end of the island to buy me aloe vera gel for my sunburn!!!) Then go to crusoes! The food is delicious at every single meal. The pool is cool and refreshing, the staff are like family and the scenery is MUCH better than that at the big resorts. And to top it off ITS CHEAP!
The only recommendations we have is stop at the grocery store in Sigatoka on the way and buy some non alcoholic drinks (about 70 aus cents for 2 litres) and some snacks, chips, buiscuts etc as Crusoes is a fair drive out from any stores and we enjoyed having some refreshments in our room as the resturant can't be open 24/7 like Hilton type establishments. We can't wait to return again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieReviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Bula and thank for your awesome review of Crusoe's Retreat. Nothing makes us happier than seeing friends return to Crusoe's Retreat. We were honored that you were engaged at Crusoe's Retreat, and to have you return as Honeymooners is simply fantastic. Thanks so much for your kind words. Your review really captures what is great about Crusoe's Retreat - we couldn't have said it better ourselves. Now . . . let's schedule that return anniversary trip! Vinaka Vakalevu and Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

stayed 5 nights
Like all places in Fiji, somewhat isolated, but if you want to snorkel and walk the beach, a great place
Food package is not too expensive and the quality is great
Resort makes an effort to provide activities to make the time more enjoyable

There is no real beach here !
Small pool, so if families are there and kids using it, not too practical

The setting is great, landscaping and maintenance good
No air conditioning, so in the hot season if there is no wind it can be hot

Room Tip: most units are on the hillside, those at the bottom may be more expensive Be preapred to climb many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Bula Vinaka Jean and thanks so much for your review of Crusoe's Retreat. We are glad you enjoyed our secluded location, our lush gardens, the activities and meals. It is always great to hear back from our guests. We do have a beach at Crusoe's Retreat, and for Fiji's Coral Coast, we have one of the nicest beaches. From our beach, you can swim, snorkel, and sea kayak. Because of our quiet and secluded location, you are also most welcome to take a stroll along the beach, past our neighboring traditional Fijian village, and walk for several kilometers (for the most part, not seeing anyone!). We do thank you for your review, and we hope you have returned home safely, with warm memories of your stay at Crusoe's Retreat. Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coral Coast hotels
6.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,578 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
492 reviews
13.9 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,033 reviews
16.7 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
635 reviews
9.5 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crusoe's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crusoe's Retreat

Property: Crusoe's Retreat
Address: Nr Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Coral Coast
#14 Spa Hotel in Coral Coast
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Coral Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crusoe's Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst lush tropical gardens and fronting a palm-fringed sandy beach and stunning lagoon, Crusoe’s Retreat is a friendly, intimate, traditional Fijian resort. Featuring only 29 Fijian-inspired Bures, Crusoe’s truly embodies all that is wonderful about the Fiji Islands: world-famous hospitality, an unhurried pace, fresh island cuisine, lots of complimentary activities, and a dedication to local culture and traditions. Crusoe’s Retreat truly is Fiji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crusoe's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crusoe`s Retreat Hotel Coral Coast
Crusoes Retreat Coral Coast
Crusoes Retreat Hotel
Crusoe's Retreat Fiji/Coral Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing