We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommendable July 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cyclades Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cyclades Studios
Ranked #7 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Ornos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“highly recommendable July 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

supurb appartments, very clean and air con was free
no hairdryer ladies. the resort a little bit disappointing not much beach and 12 euro sun beds most people went to Ag Ionnis beach, lovely. no night life good for 50s age bracket. Bus to Mykonos town excellent service and look out for Petros the Pelican hes gorgeous! trips to the ancient city of Delos very good, 17 euros on boat, 5 euros to get in site. Fantastic bakery in Ornos! loved this holiday and we always got a "Hello how are you" from the lovely owners daughter BRAVO.

Room Tip: we had room 7 ground floor double bed and terrace excellent for good mornings to the passers by and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    25
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We spent two weeks at the Cyclades Studios and had a fabulous time. The studios comprise a bedroom, kitchen/diner and bathroom and a terrace with a table and chairs and a washing line. The studios are cleaned every day and the bed linen changed every two days. The owner and family were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We could stroll along to the Anemos Apartments to use the lovely pool and the bar where Poppy (who is the sister-in- law of the Cyclades owner) was friendly and helpful. She provides nice lunches and it was also a good place to meet up with new found friends for an Ouzo after dinner. Ornos beach is just down the road and has many good restaurants and bars. Our favourites were the "Porto Ornos", the "Ithaki Taverna" "Kostantis", "Lefteris" and the "Anixi". We found we could have a good evening meal for two with house wine for around 30 Euro.

There is an icecream shop/bakery by the crossroads which make their own tasty ices with some marvellous flavours.

Mykonos Town is a bus ride away which costs 1.60 Euro. We had a lovely Thai meal one evening at the Blue Ginger restaurant in the town. The owner is married to an English lady so speaks excellent English.

We spent two weeks in July 2012 and although the first week was fairly windy the second week was very hot, so perhaps we should have gone a month earlier. All-in-all we had a lovely time on a beautify island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolsAbroadFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We got a late deal with Olympic holidays to the Cyclades apartments. On arrival we were greeted by the owner and her two daughters. We were allocated room one which had two balconies one massive at the front on the hotel and a small one to the side.
The room wa spotlessly clean and of a really good size we had 3 beds in the room but was still plenty of space. The apts were cleaned everyday the maids worked so hard and everyone was so friendly we were always greeted with a 'kalimera'. This was probably the best accommodation I have stayed at in Greece. Absolutely no negatives.
The pool next door at the anemos was great ( mad rush for the sunlougers tho) the food was good again you couldn't have asked for a better family to look after you. The resort offered supermarkets a bakery butchers and many beach front restaurants. Bus stop 2 mins away 1-60 to anywhere on the island.
I loved my stay at Cyclades the resort was quiet not massive choice of restaurants but we found aleka at the yiannisak hotel the most amazing food!!
Good thing about this resort no bugs whatsoever!! Just flies!!
I would defo return to these lovely apts and for such a warm Greek welcome :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I, who are both middle aged (47-52) really like these studios. They were the best we have had on our many visits to the Greek islands. The Owners and staff were particularly friendly and they kept the place immaculately clean. They are ideally situated for all the amenities of Ornos. We walked several evenings to Mykonos town for shopping, about 40 mins walk along the coast which got the appetite up for our return to the great tavernas on Ornos beach, all of which were very good, we didn't have a bad meal at any of them so I won't single any one out. We did a boat ride to the other beaches but none matched up to Ornos beach, so stay put and relax. We are 'non-returners' as we like to explore everywhere but would recommend these studios if you are looking for clean, friendly, comfortable and well located accommodation.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which I would say was probably the best in terms of accessability and location. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our apartment was spacious and clean with two balconies for drying clothes and having meals. The kitchen equipment and cutlery were sparse but easily manageable and we were pleased to see a kettle provided. The apartment was cleaned meticulously every day and supplied with clean towels. A room safe was available for 1 Euro a day.

Our apartment was located in the resort of Ornos, a large village with a sandy bay. The bay is mostly taken up with parasols and sun beds at a cost of 12 Euros a day for 2 beds and a parasol. There is little room left to sunbathe on the sand unless you go to another bay. We walked to Shirley Valentine’s bay (Argios Ioannis) every day with our beach gear because it provided more space and a more picturesque environment. We found our swimming shoes to be essential when bathing because of sea urchins and rocks in a few places.

Ornos has a good selection of small supermarkets in which to get supplies and all take credit cards. We found the ‘AB Food Market’ to have the most choice and was also better value for money. Food in this region seems to be more expensive than the UK which is not helped by an imposing 9% VAT.

Roads around Ornos are busy, narrow and not pedestrian friendly. There is an hourly bus service to Agios Ioannis bay and Mykonos town at a flat rate of 1.60 Euros for one way.

We were amazed at the price of tea and coffee at local cafes. You can expect to pay the equivalent of £2.30-£2.75 for tea and £2.75-£3.20 for coffee and sometimes even more in Mykonos town.

As expected, the weather was comfortably warm for the end of August (27 degrees), but was dominated by a strong and irritating wind which blew at force 6-7 for the majority of our stay. This aspect of the weather appears to be a regular feature during the months of August and September and was not mentioned by Thomson when we booked.

There was not much night life in Ornos so we had to make our own entertainment. All in all the apartment was excellent and the Greek people very friendly. However, we found out that Mykonos appears to be the most expensive island within the Cyclades.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnoShanklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The problem with these apartments in August is the noise. The studios are situated next to a private drive with ample space for parking. This means you hear people's motorbikes revving up, leaving and arriving all night long until the early hours of the morning. Not to mention loud voices, people arriving from a late night out in town. Not only should you keep your doors and windows shut for this reason (in actual fact air conditioning is not needed as there is a nice breeze) but it is not safe to leave doors open as things can get stolen. I had my bag stolen from inside the room. Either when we were asleep or when I forgot to shut the very high up, small bathroom window, someone must have climbed in. The window had only been open for a very short while while I was at the pool. Not a nice feeling.

However, the apartments are spotlessly clean and close to the beach, a five minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed here for a week and found this accommodation to be excellent. Our room was simply furnished but was air conditioned and included a small kitchen with refrigerator and two ring hob. Towels and bed linen were changed regularly and it was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. The owner is very friendly and easily available. Ornos beach is just a few minutes walk away. Guests may also use the facilities of the next door Anemos hotel with a very good pool and small bar area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ornos hotels
0.0 mi away
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Ornos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asteri Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Vanilla Hotel
Vanilla Hotel
#14 of 21 in Ornos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yiannaki Hotel
Yiannaki Hotel
#1 of 21 in Ornos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corfos Hotel
Corfos Hotel
#6 of 21 in Ornos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mykonos Blanc Hotel
Mykonos Blanc Hotel
#9 of 21 in Ornos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclades Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclades Studios

Property: Cyclades Studios
Address: Ornos 84600, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cyclades Studios 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in the Settlement of Ornos, within 2 minutes distance walk away from the main street of Ornos Town and Ornos Beach, where numerous restaurants, bars and shops are located, Cyclades Studios offer shiny clean and modern furnished accommodation in Ornos-Mykonos, at very affordable rates. The family ambience of this small studio unit in Ornos, creates the ideal setting for visitors, as they get serviced with personal care and genuine Mykonian hospitality, for an experience of best family accommodation among studios in Mykonos at Ornos Beach. Cyclades Studios in Mykonos, is the ideal accommodation in Ornos-Mykonos, for couples, families and small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cyclades Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclades Studios Mykonos/Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing