We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vanilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vanilla Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Ornos
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely staff, good price”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent a week in the Vanilla hotel and had a really good time. The location is perfect, being a 2 minute walk from the beach as well as the bus stop to Mykonos town. Despite it being on sort of a main road we didn't hear much traffic although this might be different in August when all the Italians drive by on their scooters. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. We got picked up from the airport and dropped off again. When I asked for a beach towel I immediately got one and could exchange it every day.

I have to say that our room was very small (it was no 22 on the front of the hotel) and especially the shower was really too small. The bed however was comfortable and for the price we paid we were more than happy. I would come back, but would probably ask for a bigger room next time (no 24 seemed a lot better).

Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about. The scrambled eggs were very rubbery and there were some dodgy looking sausages next to the tinned mushrooms. However, once I discovered the Greek yoghurt with (tinned) peaches and honey, I was more than happy again so as per usual it's just what you make of it. This is not a 5* hotel so you can't really expect 5* star food and accommodation. But the staff were definitely 5* friendly and helpful and the location is excellent.

We had a fantastic time on the island and really loved the laid back restaurants on the beach, as well as the cocktail bars in Mykonos town. We're already planning our trip back next year and we might well stay in the Vanilla hotel again, as you can't beat it for value for money I think. All the other places are a lot more expensive and you don't really spend that much time in the hotel anyway, so a definite recommendation!

Room Tip: Avoid room no 22 and I hear the rooms around the pool can be noisy (although when we were there that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    66
    34
    13
    20
See reviews for
26
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Brookfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great place to stay, clean ,quiet ,fresh breakfast every day, friendly staff ,walking distance to everything(super markets, bakery, bus stop ,BEACH)
Jenny the receptionist at the Vanilla Hotel, always friendly willingly to help giving us all kinds of info we needed. The right person at the right place. We loved her so much...
My husband is looking forward to book the same place for next year.
We had a great time!!

Room Tip: Pool side is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. The location is absoloutly perfect. The room is clean and the pool is small but very neat. The hotel is 5mins walk to Ornos beach, 10mins by bus to the center. Very helpful front desk, they will guide and help with anything. I ordered pick up from the airport. A really neat service and cheap (30-40EUR)
Ornos beach is very beautiful and the have the best restaurants around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeveQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our departure from Mykonos was cancelled by Easyjet last Wednesday due to the French Air Traffic Controllers strike and the staff at Vanilla went into overdrive to help us deal with the situation. Having received notification as we were travelling to Mykonos airport that our flight was cancelled we had to turn back and return to The Vanilla Hotel, Ornos. The manager couldn't be more helpful as we tried to make alternative arrangement to get home, we eventually got a flight on Saturday. We were able to stop at Vanilla for the extra three nights in the same room and on the Saturday he provided us, free of charge, with a lift to the airport, printed off our boarding cards and made of extra nights in Mykonos as stress free as possible. 5star for the original booking, now 100star for the extra help provided. This was our second visit to Vanilla in three years and we loved it then and love it even more now!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 11-14 have patio doors that open on to the swimming pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Second time at vanilla and it is as good as the first time if not better. Our room was at the back of the hotel and as we opened the patio doors we were right next to the pool. Fresh sheets and towels everyday and the lively people who run the hotel couldn't make you feel more welcome. Just across the road is the path down to Ornos beach, just a two minute walk. Can't wait to come back really soon as we love it here. Thanks for a really good eight days!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We just had 2 weeks at the Vanilla Hotel and what a wonderful holiday it has been the hotel was very quiet so perhaps we have visited at the best time .the rooms were cleaned and changed everyday and to a standard higher than any hotel wehave visited in Greece n over 20 years of visiting this wonderful country . Perhaps a more varied breakfast would have been nice but not a point to complain really . The staff were wonderful friendly and dedicated the receptionist Jenny is a pleasure and a but of a nutcase a pleasure to be around . Negatives none positives way to many to speak of recommended in every way . as for Jenny a sandwich short of a picnic enjoy Thailand at the seasons end

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank richJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auxi Le Chateau
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A small family run hotel, with exceptional staff, nothing was too much for them, pointing out places to visit, where to eat, the 2 cleaning ladies also sorted out the breakfast, as well as doing the bedrooms,and washing down the walls of the courtyard. we had fresh sheets every 2 days, room was thoroughly cleaned each day. Blue pool/beach towels where available from reception with no deposit. Fridge in room had some fizzy sodas and water for resonable charge plus plenty of room to keep a couple of beers and a bottle of wine. Shower was a little tight, with low shower head, but a good ventilation system which worked ,when ever the bathroom light was on.Our room was decorated in shades or cream, which is very much our taste. We have seen the other critisims but really the room is only for sleeping and washing in.

Breakfast was fairly standard, tinned fruit, honey, cereals, scrambled eggs, little sausages and bottled sliced mushrooms,but with fresh greek yoghurt and lovely fresh bread. A pot of tea available if asked for.

Much to our surprise our tablet worked exceptionally well and it isn't one with a piece of fruit on it, those worked well as everyone who was staying seemed to have one.

The sea water pool, was very nice to swim in, colder than expected, but in the afternoon the outside shower was quite warm if you were the first to use it.

Ornos beach is close enough and far enough away. The bakery just up the road had the best coffee (americano) and we chose a greek pastry savoury and sweet most days for lunch, also brought home their corn flour loaf with pumpkin seeds, it is also very reasonable. There are also 2 little supermarkets, the one by the bakery had a nice supply of everything, the other down the road to the beach was more geared to holidaymakers, but again very friendly.

The clients were wide mix of Europeans, Americans, Canadians and either Japanese or Chinese, which was very nice.

The only thing we didn't like was the fact in Greece you are allowed to smoke practically everywhere, our room had a slight smokers smell, but we had our doors and windows open, and this went after 2 days. Plus the minor inconvience of no plug for the sink.

Room Tip: take a universal sink plug with you, our sink was lovely and large, but had to use a flannel to stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ornos
0.1 mi away
Yiannaki Hotel
Yiannaki Hotel
#1 of 21 in Ornos
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ornos
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corfos Hotel
Corfos Hotel
#6 of 21 in Ornos
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#3 of 6 in Tourlos
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mykonos Essence Hotel
Mykonos Essence Hotel
#12 of 21 in Ornos
145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mykonos Beach
Hotel Mykonos Beach
#39 of 82 in Mykonos Town
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Hotel

Property: Vanilla Hotel
Address: Ornos 84600, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vanilla Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the reception desk of Vanilla Hotel, the skilled staff will be at your disposal on a 24hour basis, while the discrete room service shall meet all possible needs. The organized management of the Vanilla hotel provides fax service and Internet access, transfer and exchange service, safe deposit boxes, car rental services and a private parking lot. Furthermore, Glaros hotel comprises of a living room, a breakfast - dining lounge, a TV room, an interior and an exterior bar and a restaurant with traditional Greek cuisine. On the southwestern part of the prominent island of Mykonos, the scenic village of Ornos with the picturesque natural port embellishes uniquely the crystal azure waters and the infinite sandy bay. Wandering through the stone paved alleys, among the traditional whitewashed houses, Vanilla Hotel, an elegant and functional complex, is waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Hotel Mykonos/Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing