We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tranquil vanilla”
Review of Vanilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vanilla Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Ornos
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel,booked through hotels4you after getting cheap easyjet flights, arrived at the hotel around 1pm on a Saturday, young man on reception told us he had two rooms for us to choose from, one was overlooking the pool with a small balcony, the other was tucked away at the back with a private courtyard and access to the pool through a doored archway. We choose the courtyard room which was spotlessly clean, very comfortable double bed, flat screen tv, fridge, safe, great shower. The apartment was cleaned, and I mean cleaned, not just an empty of the bins and bed made cleaned, it was wiped down, swept, mopped, clean towels and fresh sheets every other day! The hotel itself was spotless, and peaceful, so peaceful, we had an idyllic few days just sunbathing in the private courtyard, breakfast was plentiful, scrambled eggs, mini hotdogs, mushrooms, but there was muesli, honey, yogurt, fruit, breads, cheeses, ham, tea, coffee, juice. The pool was breathtakingly cold, being a salt water pool I expected it to be, let's say bracing! But again, wonderfully clean. Over all I loved the vanilla hotel and genuinely cannot find any bad point to comment on, ornos itself is pretty, liked the fact that mykonos town was just a 20min walk away, I will definitely go back and the vanilla will be my choice with no hesitation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

As has been mentioned, the location of the Hotel Vanilla is ideal. It's a three minute walk to Ornos Beach. But even better: It's only about a 20 minute, very scenic walk, up and over the hill, to Agios Ioannis Beach, which is without question the best beach on Mykonos for normal people. It's also only about a 25 minute, scenic, walk to Mykonos town, via the "low" road next to the ocean. One can take buses or taxis to these places, but the walks are SO beautiful, and free, why bother? The tavernas in Ornos are also first rate. No reason to stay in any other region on this island.

As per the Vanilla itself, our pool view room upstairs at the end of he 2nd floor corridor was small, but perfectly comfortable. Everything worked. The pool is beautiful and we had a nice view. Breakfast was fine. The staff was VERY nice and helped us resolve a miscommunication about a transfer. As mentioned, this isn't a 5-star place, but it's a 5-star value. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doublerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent a week in the Vanilla hotel and had a really good time. The location is perfect, being a 2 minute walk from the beach as well as the bus stop to Mykonos town. Despite it being on sort of a main road we didn't hear much traffic although this might be different in August when all the Italians drive by on their scooters. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. We got picked up from the airport and dropped off again. When I asked for a beach towel I immediately got one and could exchange it every day.

I have to say that our room was very small (it was no 22 on the front of the hotel) and especially the shower was really too small. The bed however was comfortable and for the price we paid we were more than happy. I would come back, but would probably ask for a bigger room next time (no 24 seemed a lot better).

Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about. The scrambled eggs were very rubbery and there were some dodgy looking sausages next to the tinned mushrooms. However, once I discovered the Greek yoghurt with (tinned) peaches and honey, I was more than happy again so as per usual it's just what you make of it. This is not a 5* hotel so you can't really expect 5* star food and accommodation. But the staff were definitely 5* friendly and helpful and the location is excellent.

We had a fantastic time on the island and really loved the laid back restaurants on the beach, as well as the cocktail bars in Mykonos town. We're already planning our trip back next year and we might well stay in the Vanilla hotel again, as you can't beat it for value for money I think. All the other places are a lot more expensive and you don't really spend that much time in the hotel anyway, so a definite recommendation!

Room Tip: Avoid room no 22 and I hear the rooms around the pool can be noisy (although when we were there that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngeDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great place to stay, clean ,quiet ,fresh breakfast every day, friendly staff ,walking distance to everything(super markets, bakery, bus stop ,BEACH)
Jenny the receptionist at the Vanilla Hotel, always friendly willingly to help giving us all kinds of info we needed. The right person at the right place. We loved her so much...
My husband is looking forward to book the same place for next year.
We had a great time!!

Room Tip: Pool side is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. The location is absoloutly perfect. The room is clean and the pool is small but very neat. The hotel is 5mins walk to Ornos beach, 10mins by bus to the center. Very helpful front desk, they will guide and help with anything. I ordered pick up from the airport. A really neat service and cheap (30-40EUR)
Ornos beach is very beautiful and the have the best restaurants around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NeveQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our departure from Mykonos was cancelled by Easyjet last Wednesday due to the French Air Traffic Controllers strike and the staff at Vanilla went into overdrive to help us deal with the situation. Having received notification as we were travelling to Mykonos airport that our flight was cancelled we had to turn back and return to The Vanilla Hotel, Ornos. The manager couldn't be more helpful as we tried to make alternative arrangement to get home, we eventually got a flight on Saturday. We were able to stop at Vanilla for the extra three nights in the same room and on the Saturday he provided us, free of charge, with a lift to the airport, printed off our boarding cards and made of extra nights in Mykonos as stress free as possible. 5star for the original booking, now 100star for the extra help provided. This was our second visit to Vanilla in three years and we loved it then and love it even more now!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 11-14 have patio doors that open on to the swimming pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Second time at vanilla and it is as good as the first time if not better. Our room was at the back of the hotel and as we opened the patio doors we were right next to the pool. Fresh sheets and towels everyday and the lively people who run the hotel couldn't make you feel more welcome. Just across the road is the path down to Ornos beach, just a two minute walk. Can't wait to come back really soon as we love it here. Thanks for a really good eight days!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ornos
0.1 mi away
Dionysos Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mykonos Essence Hotel
1.3 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#3 of 26 in Platys Gialos
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dorion
Hotel Dorion
#10 of 22 in Ornos
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yiannaki Hotel
Yiannaki Hotel
#3 of 22 in Ornos
782 reviews
1.5 mi away
Damianos Hotel
Damianos Hotel
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Hotel

Address: Ornos 84600, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Ornos
Price Range: £50 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vanilla Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the reception desk of Vanilla Hotel, the skilled staff will be at your disposal on a 24hour basis, while the discrete room service shall meet all possible needs. The organized management of the Vanilla hotel provides fax service and Internet access, transfer and exchange service, safe deposit boxes, car rental services and a private parking lot. Furthermore, Glaros hotel comprises of a living room, a breakfast - dining lounge, a TV room, an interior and an exterior bar and a restaurant with traditional Greek cuisine. On the southwestern part of the prominent island of Mykonos, the scenic village of Ornos with the picturesque natural port embellishes uniquely the crystal azure waters and the infinite sandy bay. Wandering through the stone paved alleys, among the traditional whitewashed houses, Vanilla Hotel, an elegant and functional complex, is waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vanilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Hotel Mykonos/Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing