We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST of the BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mykonos Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ornos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST of the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed for one week in ammos hotel i can't say more than amazing hotel with helpfully , friendly stuff and the best location ever in mykonos island with clean and comfortable beach infront.
I'm sure i'll book in this hotel if i'll come to mykonos again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azalfozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    95
    40
    20
    11
See reviews for
63
256
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My family and I just got back from a five night stay at Mykonos Ammos Hotel. Our experience there was great, the rooms are decorated beautifully and very well finished with tiny details that most Greek hotels do not take into account: phones designed by Jacob Jensen, soundproofed doors etc etc. The hotel is spotless with that earthy, rustic white-washed look that is hard to keep clean on the beach and yet they managed.

The vibe around the beach itself was wonderful and the loungers were great. However, I would say that paying 12 Euro for a lounger when you're already staying at the hotel is not ideal.

Everything at the hotel was expensive but then so is the whole of Mykonos and somehow at Mykonos Ammos you feel like you're at least getting your moneys worth.

This is a great hotel for a rustic, hedonistic, loungy atmosphere. Don't come for facilities and top-end luxury resorts, if that is what you're after this isn't the place for you. This is about sitting back, relaxing and letting the Aegean vibe take over.

We are already looking at booking for next year.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach could be a bit noisy in the afternoon if you want a siesta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleAth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

It is a nice hotel with good quality services : transfer / private parking / "private" beach with nice sunbed : free including water bottle / Spa / two restaurants. It is quiet for Mykonos (but if you want in Mykonos very quiet holidays, please change of island...). Our room was very nice. The hospitality was very good and they smile.

The price is high but it is a superior class hotel and you must pay for the services.

Cleanliness : only 4/5 because it is a hotel with direct access to the beach (and the sand) and you have some wind in Mykonos....

Room Tip: Don't choose the room 1.03 (near the kitchen)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Was meant to stay at this hotel for 3 nights in July, however, despite me contacting the hotel a week prior to confirm my booking, they still messed up our dates. Therefore we had to stay elsewhere on the first night. The hotel manager was sincere and apologetic and arranged and paid for our stay in a suite in a nearby hotel. We were understanding of the error (these things happen!) and appreciated her effort to book us into another hotel.

BUT…..the reason we booked Ammos was to spend 3 days on Ornos Beach. Having missed out on one day it was then disappointing to arrive on day 2 and find you had to reserve sun beds. The hotel could solve a lot of guest frustration by communicating this process at time of booking.

Having said that, the time we did spend on the beach was more than enough as by the end, we couldn’t wait to leave and move to our next hotel (Nissaki).

The service in the restaurant and on the beach is terrible and you feel like you’re in the way. Asking for a frappe makes you feel like a burden. Don’t expect to be seated in the restaurant, you’ll have to find a waiter and ask for a table yourself. The staff make absolutely no effort to welcome you. If you somehow manage to get a smile you must be doing pretty well!

The beach itself is so pretentious. You’ll understand what I mean when you experience it! It’s a beautiful beach, but the arrogance and attitude is outrageous!

Such a shame because the rest of the hotel is beautiful.

To top off and sum up our stay there, when we checked out and paid for our room, the girl on reception couldn’t even bring herself to say goodbye.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Hotel is clean and nicely designed.
The serves was bad specially in the restaurant and in the beach bar, arrogant and not friendly, you felt like they make you a favor to be in the restaurant or having a sun bed in the beach. The sun beds were not free for the guests, we had to pay 12 euros for the 2 sun beds and the umbrella. In the breakfast they offer only filtered coffee and charge extra for the cafe frappe or other coffees. The restaurant had nice atmosphere for dinner and the food was very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

A friend and I stayed at Mykonos Ammos mid July for four nights. Our flight arrived at 6:30 am, and upon leaving the Mykonos Airport we were greeted by the driver with a sign saying "Mykonos Ammos" on it.

When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk informed us that it was too early for check in, although they did anticipate our arrival and had arranged another room for us to store our baggage and freshen up. We were welcomed to use the facilities and have breakfast. They said they would inform us later when our actual room would be ready.

We were given a short tour of the hotel including Kuzina, the restaurant in which breakfast was served in the mornings. Our actual room was room 316. It was spacious for two people and to me seemed to have a larger balcony then any of the rooms on our level. The room overlooked the beach into the sea. The bathroom was spacious and there was ample storage space for our belongings. The room also had a coffee pot and fridge.

The best part of Mykonos Ammos was the service. The girl who worked the evening shift had to be the kindest most patient front desk person I have ever encountered working at a hotel. She was always so helpful to answer our questions and meet our needs. Most of all, she was very professional and never looked annoyed or irritated even when the front desk got busy with guests. Also, our courtesy shuttle driver/baggage handler was awesome. He provided information as we drove around the city as to navigating around Mykonos and where the market and bus stop were located. The bus stop was located just outside the hotel. It's not more than a 2 minute stroll.

Our room was cleaned when we requested it and the lady who worked on our room was so friendly. The beach chairs were about 12 Euros per person which included a beach chair, umbrella and a bucket of ice with water. The beach got pretty busy and were a mix from kids to couples, to group of friends.

The location of the hotel was ideal. Just a short taxi drive from Mykonos Town and not in complete desolation either. After venturing around the island, I would definitely recommend staying at Mykonos Ammos based on location and service. It's a beach front hotel which is rare in Mykonos, and just close to Mykonos Town.

Room Tip: Room 316 had a perfect view of the sea. It had a large balcony as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dngrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just got back from 1 week stay. Was nice hotel but would stay somewhere else next time. Our airport pick up was about 20 mins late and check in was slow and the welcome drink never materialised.

The actual hotel is nicely decorated - white and minimal and great location right on the beach. The service is not as good as it should have been. especially in the restaurant - you felt like you were invading their space - they were just milling around chatting, no one says hello or gets you a table.

The breakfast is not great either - concentrated orange juice and terrible filter coffee (no latte or cappuccinos) not much variety same thing everyday - very disappointing although the view over the beach was nice.

The sun beds on the beach are 12 euros each!? the most we paid at other beaches was 8 euros! and no discount for guests which is annoying....and it's very busy we ended up going to other beaches like Elia everyday,

The room was nice (we had the pool view - cheapest room which was about 230 euros per night) but TINY! the shower had great pressure but the wall attachment was waist high so you couldn't stand under the shower you have to hold it in your hand, also the temp would be lovely and hot in the mornings but then not very hot in the evenings. Also it was quite noisy with the restaurant/bar and generally around the hotel - we were right on the road side so could hear traffic and people till about 2am.

air con was very effective and quiet and our room looked out onto the smaller pool which no one else used which was nice. One thing is that when you use the smaller pool; behind you there is a fence which all the staff sit behind on their break. its not a solid fence so they are literally sitting facing the pool and it's quite near so I did feel a bit self conscious.

we had lunch in the restaurant (not the pizza one the other one Kuzina?) and had the same problem of being ignored and having to ask 3 different people for a table. the actual waiter was quite nice in the end - the food was average and quite expensive so didn't go again.

Was great for catching the boat to the other beaches as the pick up is about 2 mins from the hotel. Also friendly rental guy just next to hotel we rented scooter and quad bike for £25/£20 per day (just so you know there is a HUGE hill at Super Paradise and the quad bike couldnt get up it with two people so had to push it) the was parking at the hotel and lots of security so left the bikes there every night no problem.

All in all - it IS nice BUT wouldn't recommend it. The service and the breakfast and the small room and the price of the sun beds really bothered me. I'm sure there are better and cheaper options in Mykonos.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ornos
1.2 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
3.3 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#1 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kivotos
Kivotos
#4 of 21 in Ornos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Ammos Hotel

Property: Mykonos Ammos Hotel
Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ornos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ornos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ornos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
#5 Family Hotel in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Ammos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Ammos Hotel, a 4 star hotel and a Proud Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is here brand new and totally renovated, right on the magical beach of Ornos to offer it all and even more. Mykonos Ammos Hotel opens its doors and unveils the true holiday beauty. This 43 room boutique hotel, situated literally on the beach, blends magically the crystal waters, the white sand and the unparalleled Mediterranean blue sky and offers you a new experience you will never forget. Mykonos Ammos Hotel is ready to seduce you with its prestigious accommodation, elegant luxury and unique location. And it is only a step away from the cosmopolitan Chora of Mykonos. You will undoubtedly be aroused by the delicate natural beauty and liveliness of Ornos beach. Mykonos Ammos Hotel is definitely the new favourite destination and is calling you to discover it throughout the day from spring till fall. It combines supreme guest rooms and suites, clear blue waters and unique dishes in Kuzina and Farina restaurants. New additions to our hotel: a trendy boutique GO ammos and Spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mykonos Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Ornos
Mykonos Ammos Hotel Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing