We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ornos
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I went to Ammos Hotel 2 years ago and it had just opened. So I decided to go back as the location is great, and so is the hotel. So yes Ammos is still a beautiful hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. the shower is great. The design is really wow! I love it. And very important, once you close the door to your room (we had a room by the pool) you didn't hear a sound of the music on the beach or from the other room except once the door from the room next to ours.

Breakfast is good, a good variety of breads, croissants, cakes, local specialties, eggs, fresh pineapple, melon and watermelon, but for some reason they had canned fruit salad which I found hard to understand. The restaurant is excellent, but quite expensive.

The beach is always great, but the music was louder than before and getting louder ever hour which is fun the first day, but then gets boring as the DJ plays the same songs again and again.

A few things that went wrong on the three times I had to deal with the reception of Ammos.

I sent an email to ask them to send a car to the port and signed my email by my name, the person who answered me referred to me with a completely different name. When I asked her if she had read it correctly she apoligised saying she had had a long day... If I did that in my job, I wouldn't last long!

Then when we arrived at the port, they called to ask where we were because the driver had been waiting for us for 'very long'. The ship was late as it was a long weekend and lots of people and cars had to board. Again when I reached I mentioned that I didn't really appreciate being called on a foreign number as I was already in the car and she argued that a lot of tourist didn't look properly.

And last, the day before I left, I went to reception to ask them to arrange for the transfer and to prepare the check-out. She looked at her list and told me that I was on her check-out list, then pulled out my reservation and told me I was to leave the next day. I explained to her that I had changed my reservation two days after I first booked, she started arguing and when I showed her my reservation on my phone she apologised.

To me this is a lack of professionalism. For a hotel which is part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, they need to be more centered and professional and not behave like amateurs.

The other things we noticed, and I'm Greek origins but not the the friend who was with me, was that Greeks had a far better and quicker service on the beach, but that a detail.

Internet worked better than two years ago in the bedrooms, but hardly ever worked in the restaurant or on the beach. But then didn't work in most restaurant on that beach.

In short, the prices have gone up by at least 50% in 2 years if you book in advance or get a good offer on internet, much more if you try a last minute booking, but for no extra service and still have to pay for your sunbed which I find quite hard to accept.

I would recommend Ammos, especially for it's location and design. And had a great holiday and Mykonos is always a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, as on the beach it's very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    95
    40
    20
    11
See reviews for
63
260
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Was here one week had a great experience here all staff were lovely . Was given a different room to the one I booked but they offered to move me but room I was given was fine and they gave me free sun beds for the week . The breakfast buffet was delicious and sushi in afternoon a must . Thanks for a nice week to all staff

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were allocated the Ammos on arrival as our chosen hotel had building issues and what a wonderful result. We were upgraded to a suite, free sunbeds and 15% off of food in the beach side restaurant. The staff were excellent, very attentive and keen to ensure we had a wonderful stay. The hotel is right on the beach which is in a horseshoe bay, on the beach are free soft sofas and chairs along with beds and cabanas. The hotel is about 4 minutes from Mykonos town with a bus stop just yards from the hotel, fare is €1.60. Taxi is approx €10 but not as much fun as the bus. The supermarket and Pharmacy are about a 10 minute walk along with other small shops but as there are no pavements you have to be a bit warey of the few cars that come along.
Mykonos town is wonderful it's so easy to get lost in the little streets but that is part of the fun, little Venice is lovely but expensive, the harbour has at least 10 restaurants to choose from as well. Overall a really nice holiday, will come back and will definitely choose the Ammos. We wanted a relaxing break and this was the perfect place for it but also very easy to get to the town.
Ask for a room upstairs as they have a view over the beach or a beachside room but they will be a bit more expensive. If you can upgrade go for the suite,it's worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if available or a room upstairs above the bigger swimming pool as these rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobbyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We had three wonderful days at Ammos. Modern nice decorated rooms, nice pool area, super breakfast, nice restaurant, amazing coctails and the perfect beach area. Very welcoming staff. Buses takes you to town in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMKM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a four night break, absolutely beautiful the rooms are of a high standard you couldn't fault. Breakfast was good plenty to choose from. The hotel is set on a lovely beach, but the only two downsides are you have to pay 12 euros a day for two to sit of the sun beds which is ok if you are an outsider but when you have paid a high sum to stay in a Small Luxury Hotel of the World I think you need to look at this and the other point it is nice to have music on the beach but not at high volume!! We would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We had a superior room overlooking the bay beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is excellent.
The design of the room is very upscale.
Bed really comfortable!
Kuzina restaurant is where the breakfast is served.
Breakfast had medium variety but very good quality.

Only disadvantage that we could hear the songs from the grill house right next to the hotel...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff and especially Esmeralda is tha main reason you should choose Mykonos Ammos!! We stayed at the hotel on our honeymoon and we felt it was the perfect choice! Prices are not cheap at all but take into account that for gorgeous beach you just need to walk 2 min. We were not eager for breakfast that not included vegetables or normal coffee but it was so fun just to eat breakfast by the beach with music and amyzing design of the restaurant Kuzina. I admit It was comfortable to eat lunch every day near the hotal and not look for another restaurants but take into account that the prices in Kuzina are high! and the waiter's service was not very good.... Must say again that the staff was sooo amyzing...the girls in the lobby, Elias and everyone... Thank you! see you again.

Room Tip: near the pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ornos
1.2 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#1 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kivotos Mykonos
Kivotos Mykonos
#5 of 21 in Ornos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Ammos Hotel

Property: Mykonos Ammos Hotel
Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ornos
#1 Spa Hotel in Ornos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ornos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
#5 Family Hotel in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Ammos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Ammos Hotel, a 4 star hotel and a Proud Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is here brand new and totally renovated, right on the magical beach of Ornos to offer it all and even more. Mykonos Ammos Hotel opens its doors and unveils the true holiday beauty. This 43 room boutique hotel, situated literally on the beach, blends magically the crystal waters, the white sand and the unparalleled Mediterranean blue sky and offers you a new experience you will never forget. Mykonos Ammos Hotel is ready to seduce you with its prestigious accommodation, elegant luxury and unique location. And it is only a step away from the cosmopolitan Chora of Mykonos. You will undoubtedly be aroused by the delicate natural beauty and liveliness of Ornos beach. Mykonos Ammos Hotel is definitely the new favourite destination and is calling you to discover it throughout the day from spring till fall. It combines supreme guest rooms and suites, clear blue waters and unique dishes in Kuzina and Farina restaurants. New additions to our hotel: a trendy boutique GO ammos and Spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mykonos Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Ornos
Mykonos Ammos Hotel Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing