We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barchan Dune Retreat
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
66
8
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
8
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsone nightbeautiful settingcomfortable roomsenjoyed our stayhostsfarmlandscapedrivewindhoekconvivialdunesossusvleigazingdesertwildlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

The hosts are able to provide a framework which makes you feel at home from the beginning. The Rooms have spectacular views and very nice interior. Dinning together with the other guests and the hosts is a nice change to the anonimity of other places.
It would be great to see the staff more empowered in exchanging with the guests ...
We enjoyed every second !! Thank you ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camenzinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

After 5.5 weeks touring Namibia, Botswana, Victoria Falls and Kruger Natl. Park in South Africa, Barchan Dunes remains one of our two favorite places that we stayed. Considering the high end luxury safari touring we did in Botswana, that is a high compliment. Barchan Dunes is a cluster of unique buildings which, from a distance, melt into the natural habitat. We stayed in one of the luxurious, spacious cottages that looked out on straw-colored grasslands. We found a pot of coffee on our porch table each morning. Barchan Dunes is tucked into a nook of hills rising on three sides, and it is utterly private and silent. Hannetjie (pronounced “Hahnekky”, i learned) and Willem, the owners, are super gracious, considerate and generous. The food is extraordinary. Part of their land is home to a variety of antelope species and Willem hunts them, as needed, to provide the most delicious game meat for visitors; the springbok we ate was tender, flavorful, memorable! Willem introduced us to our first ever “Sundowner”-- drinks in the bush with a glorious view of the sunset; a tradition that we became thoroughly familiar with as our travels continued.
Willem drove us to Sossusvlei, the fantastical red dunes in the Namib Desert and we climbed Dune 45. The scenery of the dunes and the experience of that climb are among our very best memories of our trip. There is a short, steep hike you can take right from the Barchan Dunes property, and you get a terrific, long distance view from there.
As heavenly as Barchan Dunes was, it was even better because of the two pet meerkats who live outside the front door of the main house. One of them is tame enough to pet, and the other displays lots of typical meerkat behavior. The family’s dogs interact with the meerkats in amusing ways. And, not only were the meerkats there to entertain us, but Hannetjie had raised a tiny young steenbok and we met him while we were there. He (Bambi) is growing up, and he is free to roam and worries Hannetjie when he fails to return home for his bottle after a night in the bush.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilytooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stunning setting miles away from the nearest neighbours. Marvellously quiet and relaxing. The buildings blend into the landscape and the individual bungalows are built into the dune and are carefully positioned both for total privacy and for the lovely view. The rooms are actually even nicer than they look on the website. We only stayed one night unfortunately and wished it was longer. Hannetje and Willem have the gift of being genuinely and truly welcoming - it doesn't feel like a guest house, more like visiting interesting new friends. Delicious food served by Hennetje, and Willem ensured a generous supply of wine. Also enjoyed seeing the resident pair of meerkats who came in for their breakfast saucer of milk and egg. A very special place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LttGuildford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I travel a lot and this is probably one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. A small place, completely removed from the rest of the world (including being powered completely by solar) with amazing and welcoming hosts, huge, quiet and unique rooms built right into a dune. The dinners were spectacular. I would never hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

If you don't stay over at Barchan Dunes with Hannetje en Willem, you'll be missing a superb quiet, beautiful and neat. It's been built by the owners with a hang to perfection in details.
The bungalows are a part of the landscape and have the best sunrise view when you're lying in your kingsize bed!!
Willem's trips to Sossusvlei and around his farm for a game drive (including nice local stories) and Hannetjie's work around the house (and the kitchen!!) around are a good example of love for the country and hospitality.
We'll try to get back asap.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AVochteloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews