We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great choice for seaside dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good View

Good View
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Pranburi
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great choice for seaside dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I highly recommend the Good View. The food is excellent, the menu has lots of variety, and the fellow who served us was charming, funny and delightful. The decor is basic and rustic, and the stairs to the upper level a little rickety, but don't let that stop you. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, delightful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Like many seaside restaurants in this area, this unassuming little place had great food. I have to admit to being skeptical -- there was no one else there as we searched this dark strip near our hotel for someplace to eat.

My skepticism was very quickly put aside as the bounciest, friendliest server came to the street to welcome us. The drinks came immediately, and the delicious food immediately on their heels. The shrimp cakes were perhaps the best I've had during my 1.5 years in Thailand, and the lemongrass salad was equally delicious. The whole meal was good, but both of these dishes were standouts.

If it is cool enough, sit on the upper level, where you have an unsurpassed ocean view from this very casual, basic spot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cminchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam Roi Yot, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good view, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Tried this Restaurant after a few friends recommended it but left very disappointed by the average quality compared to next door's family run Restaurant.
Definitely not going there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much much better than Very Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We went to The Very Good restaurant after reviews from Trip Advisor but found the Thai food awful, it is not authentic food.

So we decided to try Good View and have been back 4 times each time food and service is great.

I have travelled Thailand 12-15 times and get disappointed with the western versions of Thai food however it is not the case here it is all very authentic and incredibly tasty. The young girl serving was very polite and knew exactly what we had on previous visits and how we liked it. On one visit it was torrential rain and all restaurants were closed however they opened up and we sat up stairs under cover.

Green curry, deep fried snapper and stir fried basil & chilli were superb.

A great find and very reasonable

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank -Travel-80s-Guy-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First meal of our trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We visited this restaurant on our first evening and it was on par with most in the area. The girl who served us was pleasant enough and the food average. It did the job at the time, filled us up and was cheap and quite tasty. The furniture on the upper deck was very shabby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Good View also viewed

Pranburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Pranburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Pak Nam Pran, Pranburi
Pranburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Pak Nam Pran, Pranburi
Pranburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Good View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing