We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful, just not the local beach!”
Review of Evason Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evason Hua Hin
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pranburi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful, just not the local beach!”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Absolute luxury at a reasonable price. I was blown away when we arrived here. The resort was like paradise and the staff are as helpfull and friendly as possible. Especially Soon and Kung, our `butlers' and Palm our tour guide.
The gym was small but good. Our room was the fairly basic studio one, but still immaculate, with a veranda with a day bed and table/chairs. They give you special stuff to keep the mosquitos at bay and free water every day. There was no problem with insects.
We ate in the Italian restaurant. The best dish was the crab cakes with avocado salad which is the most delicious thing imaginable!
The pool area is fabulous with a view of the beach and great poolside service. A lot of people complain about the narrow road between the hotel pool and the beach, but this was not a problem for me. It was fairly quiet, just mostly locals flying by on their scooters.
The downsides? Not much. The beach isn't good because although the water is warm, it is not clear and is full of jellyfish (we were there in September). They are pretty to look at though.
The hotel seriously lacked affordable wine. All I could get was a small glass of rose wine that costs £8.50!!!!!! Plus, this place is remote. Hire a moped (see below).
For my birthday, I enjoyed an amazing massage at the hotel, plus exotic flower bath which was a lovely luxury but all pricey. My boyfriend also treated me to a private pool area barbeque with a 5 course meal and our own chef and waiter. Pure luxury but only if you are quite rich! Food was amazing and service.
If you go on one of the hotel excursions, we went on the waterfall one (lovely and amazing), be warned; it is a chauffer driven trip with a personal tour guide, so expect to tip generously.....I'm used to big group excursions which I prefer!
My tip: enjoy the hotel food and bar now and again (especially the crab cakes and pizzas!) but generally always eat out and drink out at the local beach huts/bars. Turn right out of the hotel beachfront, walk for 5 minutes to `Very Good Restaurant'. The food, prices and service is sensational, even if the surroundings are just basic. The crab rice was my favourite thing and I had it nearly every night, prices of food and drink here a fraction of the hotels. Then head back to the hotel, stopping at the last beach hut on the left in front of the beach and enjoy cheap drinks whilst watching the distant fishing boats and stars over the sea at `Family's Bar' run by a lovely lady called Som.
Lastly........you MUST hire and scooter and go for a ride around Prak Nam Pran. They are so cheap to hire from local huts, and easy to use. Visit the hill, with a nature trail, a few miles if you turn right out of the hotel, then go right to the end until you come to the estuary, and see the fishing boats come in. Truly memorable. And if you are a dog lover, like me, take treats and bits of food for the dogs.....they deserve it and are so gratefull.

Room Tip: I think they are all perfect. No noise anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmarie1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Jmarie1349,

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely long review on Tripadvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed what the resort and the area has to offer. It really is a lovely rural area here and the locals are some of the friendliest in Thailand (without being biased of course!).

I've spoken to the chef for you and managed to get their secret recipe for the Crab Cakes....

You will need the following Ingredients:

900g Crabmeat
200g Mayonnaise
1 cup Sweet basil, thinly sliced
2 cups Bread crumbs
1/2 cup chopped garlic
few sprigs of Parsley
2 tsp white pepper powder
3 Eggs
Oil for frying
Avocado for serviing

• Mix crabmeat, mayonnaise, and one cup of bread crumb in a bowl. Add sliced basil, garlic, parsley and pepper powder and mix together well.
• Divide the mixture and shape into a small balls about 1 inch in size
• Place them in the freezer for 2 hours
• Dip the frozen crab cakes into the beaten egg followed by rolling in the bread crumbs, then deep fry in hot vegetable oil until begin to brown.

Serve with sliced avocado.

Recipe prepared by Chef Payao (Sous Chef)

Hope you can create a little taste of our resort for your friends!

Don't forget to LIKE us on Facebook and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Jamie Crisp - Director of Sales
Evason & Six Senses Hua Hin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    450
    122
    33
    18
See reviews for
426
931
51
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I loved everything about the Evason in Hua Hin!

1. The resort was beautiful; totally serene and relaxing -- and I loved how there are so many lovely little nooks and resting areas, gardens, ponds, walkpaths etc. Those who say that the room furniture seem to be unfinished ...well, I think perhaps they rather missed the point. Personally I was very impressed with the furniture and knick knacks and everything in the resort, and how they reflect Six Senses SLOWLIFE philosophy.

2. Good dining options; we found the food in the resort reasonably priced and not bad at all, but naturally if you were to stay in the resort for a week or more, one would look for different fare -- not a problem since there are restaurants on the same road, as well as rentals for things like ATVs and motorbikes etc.

3. While the resort is a bit out of the way -- a 30 minute drive from Hua Hin station -- and there isn't much happening in the general area of the resort, we found this quite nice because we really were looking for a relaxing holiday, far from crowds and noise. However, if you're from the hard-partying set and expecting livelier nightlife...the serenity of Evason might not be what you're looking for.

4. The service is excellent. The staff are attentive, accommodating and just generally lovely. Their manner of service contributes a great deal to the relaxing atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimenebelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Chimenebelen,

Many thanks for your recent comments about your stay with us at the Evason. I really think you have nailed what are we are all about 'on the head' perfectly! We are about comfortable, organic living; slowing down the pace of the hectic lifestyles we all lead and enjoying some of the more simple things in life! And of course accompanied by good food!!!

We all look forward to your next visit - don't forget to LIKE us on Facebook and tell your friends about us!

With regards,

Jamie Crisp - Director of Sales
Evason & Six Senses Hua Hin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Such a good place for relaxing with friendly service. Will be back again in next opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raungrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I went to this hotel with a group of friends (8 travellers). We hired three duplex pool villas for our stay and we were so impressed with the resort. The villas were well equipped and there was plenty of room for us all. The attention to detail was amazing - especially with amenities and layout of the rooms.

The food at the restaurants was outstanding and we could not fault the service. We found the food and beverages to be very reasonable considering we were in a five star resort. Yes we could eat significantly cheaper down the road, but the quality was not really there, so we preferred to dine at Evason.

The setting for breakfast was sublime, with our tables set into a pond and traditional Thai musicians in the background.

We hired bikes one day (which are free) and rode around the Pranburi area which was fun and also made use of the free tennis courts.

Overall an outstanding trip, perfect for our girls getaway - we would LOVE to go back again one day.

Room Tip: The duplex pool villas are very roomy and set in quiet private surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chomper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our travel agent raved about the Evason saying it was a place to relax and take it easy and you can get a taxi to Hua Hin which turns out to be 30 mins away which is just a bit out of the road so we stayed there for a week most people lounged on sun beds all day or stay in the pool which was not for us breakfast was ok catering for all nationalities. The meals at the hotel are quite expensive so we went out every night. What activities they had archery,bicycle hire and tennis all at extra cost which we thought should have been included in the cost of the holiday. There was
very little beach but we found a lovely place along the main road to the left of the hotel called the Bamboo Beach bar run by John and Jane Weston Jane does the cooking and the meals were lovely thai and english we went there every night as they were very reasonable they also have a nice family that kept us entertained Also Jane had arranged our taxi to Bangkok nothing was too much trouble for her.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivyw339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We had been staying at the villa no. 27 from 4 to 7 Oct 2011 before heading back to Bangkok.
The overall impression of the villa was very good and the facilities inside it were all well maintained. The breakfast in the Living Room was great but we found that there were more choices in the Beach Restaurant. It was worth spending a little walk from our villa to there.

Well, we would like to give our appreciation to our butler , Tammy, her service and assistance given to us to make our stay more enjoyable and care free.When we were first allocated villa no. 44 and we did not like it simply to our very personal feeling of that number was not lucky, Tammy tried her effort to find another villa (i.e. no. 27) to us and allowed us to stay inside the villa 44 so that she could arrange for the clean up of the villa 27. She did her job very well !

We certainly would recommend this resort to our friends as this was a great great place to " hideaway" from the crowd and spend our very own time in the holidays!

Wishing to come back soon!

Room Tip: The villas in the middle of the resort are better if traveling in couple. We find that more families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Mergentheim, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We booked the Evason Pool Villa at Hua Hin and upgraded to a Six Senses Pool Villa.
We enjoyed the privacy, the space (250 m²) and the perfect service of the Six Senses staff.

Everybody was very interested to make our stay as comfortable as possible, but in a very discrete way.

The Pool Vilas at Six Senses gives you a lot of privacy, so you can enjoy a very relaxing and quiet holliday. We also checked the Duplex Pool Villas and the Pool Suite. For us the normal Pool Villa was absolutely ok, because we don't needed an extra living room.

Who needs more space, could also rent the Duplex Pool Villa, which is a 2 level house instead of one level.

Anyhow, we wold like to thank all the staff of Six Senses for the nearly perfect service.

Room Tip: Pool Villa 43 is quiet and sunny the whole day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pranburi
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Pranburi Villas
0.2 mi away
Pattawia Resort & Spa Hua Hin
Pattawia Resort & Spa Hua Hin
#3 of 4 in Pak Nam Pran
132 reviews
13.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
10.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#4 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,970 reviews
9.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evason Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evason Hua Hin

Property: Evason Hua Hin
Address: 9 Moo 5, Parknampran Beach, Pranburi 77220, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Pranburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pranburi
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pranburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Pranburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Evason Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evason Hua Hin is approximately 230 kilometres or 140 miles south of Bangkok. An excellent highway provides for a three-hour drive. King Rama VII built a palace there in 1926 and it remains the Thai Royal family Summer Palace to this day. Evason Hua Hin is located in the quiet area of Pranburi, south of Hua Hin Township. Set amongst 8 hectares or 20 acres of gardens, facing the Gulf of Siam, it offers 196 guest accommodations in a garden setting, including 40 private pool villas each measuring 110 square metres. Evason Studios feature an oversized terrace complete with a daybed. Guestrooms offer eco-friendly designs adhering to a renowned responsibility to the environment and the Evason philosophy of Redefining Experiences. Dining options include The Restaurant serving a daily International breakfast buffet, while Kieng Sah restaurant features authentic Thai cuisine. Coast is opened for dinner and serves Mediterranean cuisine with a strong Italian influence. The Bar is located adjacent to the main pool and offers an all day drinks and dining option serving a comprehensive range of wines and cocktails along with traditional international and Asian favourites. Six Senses Spa offers a truly relaxing and revitalizing experience with therapeutic and pampering treatments to balance the senses. Just Kids! Has its own swimming pool and keeps children entertained all day, and at night offers evening sleepovers with professional supervision.Free wifi is available in all guests rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Evason Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evason Hua Hin Hotel Pran Buri
Evason Hua Hin Thailand/Pranburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing