We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Positive vibration”
Review of Bananas Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bananas Hostel
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Positive vibration”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was honestly the best hostel I ever stayed at. Rooms are basic, but very cozy and clean, with towels and sheets included. Breakfast is by far the best I had in Brazil. They have the most relaxing chill-out area, great bar and a beautiful garden. The staff here are amazing, very helpful and interactive. The owners are the heart of the hostel, very kind and always positive. There is often something happening in the evenings, like movie nights, Jam Session nights, barbecues. Hostel is located right on the Pituba street, the center of Itacare's nightlife, and everything is really close. Absolutely stunning beaches are within walking distance. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book in advance, especially in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilster86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    7
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
4
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Me and my three friends had an awsome time at Bananas. Pete and debs (the hostel-owners) welcomed us with caprinihias and a cosy garden-party after a long trip from Rio. We were there in june which was low season so the village had not many tourist which was nice. We got a lot of things to do and met a lot of friendly people who happly showed us around and taught us capoeira among other stuff. the hostel had a nice breakfast and a really good atmosphere.

Thanks for these days!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had planned to stay for a week, but stayed for a month and then came back for another two weeks. The best things with the place is the super cool staff! They're super friendly and helpful. They make you feel like home. Bananas Hostel has a really good athmosphere, and a lot of fun creative things happening. Also, excellent location on the main street. Close to the party and the beach! We can really recommend this place if you wanna have a good time or of you just want to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itacare, BA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Definitely the best hostel I stayed in my 1 year travelling around the world. It's heaven on earth to socialize, meet interesting people and at the same time to feel like at home. The people working there are super friendly, always happy to help...excellent breakfast, charming bar, hammocks on every tree, jam sessions, movie nights...all on the main road in the middle of what Itacare has to offer...My 2 months stay in Brazil wouldn't be the same if we wouldn't spent 3 weeks in Bananas hostel!I'll be back for sure!=)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljubljana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Got caught in that pleasant vibe from the first moment I stepped into Bananas Hostel..
Could not even call it a hostel, because word hostel sounds just like a construction of amneties. This place has soul; it is like a commune of different people behind the same table: sharing stories, partying or just doing whatever: "do we want to have a movie night? lets have a movie night after a party ;)" Debs and pete (owners) even made us popcorn - epic! they are superfriendly, and having an ear for customers wishes. I Reccommend - excellent!

Room Tip: Try to go to sleep before sunrise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nejc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Huge, amazing chill-out areas hide behind the small yellow door! The crowd here is fun, make sure you're there for the jam sessions on Thursday nights. The rooms are fine, nothing special but they do the job, but the breakfast left a lot to be desired. But this place is on the main street, near all the action and the staff are nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This a late review 'cos I only joined trip advisor well after my Brazil trip with another 63 year old male friend in March/April 2012. Now, considering this is a hostel aimed at a considerably younger clientèle, we were welcomed, entertained and treated the same as the others staying there. We did have a private room and the mosquitoes were ferocious, but Pete and Debs were always on hand to offer advice to us old duffers about local attractions - the cocoa plantation visit, complete with a taste of fresh chocolate and cocoa milk is to die for! - and included us in all the activities our advancing years could manage. In fact we didn't once feel out of place, being accepted by owners and other guests alike. Itacare was literally enchanting - one of the best weeks of my long and eventful life, and I dream of returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat8250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Itacare hotels
0.2 mi away
Terra Boa Hotel Boutique
0.0 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Itacare
0.1 mi away
Albergue O Pharol
Albergue O Pharol
#2 of 77 in Itacare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buddy's Hostel e Pousada
Buddy's Hostel e Pousada
#7 of 77 in Itacare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casarao Verde Hostel
Casarao Verde Hostel
#6 of 77 in Itacare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada La Cabana
Pousada La Cabana
#36 of 97 in Itacare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananas Hostel

Property: Bananas Hostel
Address: Rua Pedro Longo, 169, Itacare, State of Bahia 45530-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Itacare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Itacare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Bananas Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananas Hostel Itacare, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing