We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"pleasant"”
Review of Itacare Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Itacare Eco Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Itacare
Reviewed 20 November 2010

This resort is just on the outskirts of town, it's a pleasant enough place
On the plus side:
Beach is private (shared with the bigger partner resort) it's a lovely quiet cove although note NOT great for kids better for suffers (not the fault of the resort - but the sand has thick black river residue which sticks to the feet and causes an awful squeaking when walking, it's so bad - like fingernails on a chalk board - I avoided the beach)
Compact
Food is decent enough
Not too price
Nice gardens and surroundings

On the minus
Hotel and rooms are tired and old fashioned and scream early 90's
Pool is small
Only half board available
Not much to do beyond 2 days
Gym pathetic

Do take a walk to cafe e cacao it's not a cafe and you won't get a drink but it's a charming swamp and if you're lucky you'll see a caiman (croc)

Sadly the only thing Eco abiut the place is the name

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Itacare Eco Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2010

We went here for our honeymoon and it was so beautiful and relaxing. Great food, great activities, a wonderful beach... our only complaint was that we ordered the honeymoon package but the staff seemed confused whenever we asked for any of the things that came with it. However, they had a wonderful girl who was in charge of activities who more than made up for it. She took us to a waterfall you can swim under, some other beautiful beaches, a natural spring, and generally helped make our trip great! We HIGHLY recommend the Eco Resort!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Nice accomodations, efficient staff, beautiful suroundings and convenient transportation to the nearby city of Itacare with choice of restaurants and hang-outs.
One week of pleasure at a reasonable price.
Convenient guided short trips and walking tours available at hotel's front desk.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yagoelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This property is connected to the Itacare Village where we stayed (in the private bungalows on the hillside).

This private eco paradise sits on an old cocoa plantation and is nestled in the side of a hillside directly on the coast. Brazilians love this vacation village but it does take about two days to get to it from the States. We spent the night in Sao Paulo and then took another flight up to the central coastal state of Bahia, then an hour car ride to the resort. The village people surf all day and then open their shops in late afternoon. The shops line cobble stone streets and dancing and eating begins! We did not see one American our entire trip.

The resort sits next to a beautiful little lagoon where you can kayak. The resort is small and is actually a collection of villas built into the hillside nestled among the giant palms. The beach is amazing with palm trees and wonderful sand. The service is excellent and, since you're so close to the kitchen/bar, very fast too.

At night there are thousands of frogs singing like a symphony in the marshes on the property. The property is a protected animal reserve a few times a day, the horse back rangers will come galloping by.

Almost each day or evening, the rains would come which was a delightful break from the hot Brazilian sun. The power would go out which made the resort quite romantic and guests would gather in the main restuarant by candlelight, drink, eat and share wonderful stories. I suggest you learn a little portugese for going. They guide you through yoga on the beach in the morning and you can get wonderful massages near the lagoon.

The most amazing part of this trip is how the staff and locals will go out of their way to get you anything you need. They once drove an hour away to bring us batteries for our camera, which took two days but they showed up with our change and our batteries.

One particuluar day, with a guide, we canoed across a bay up to a waterfall in the jungle. As we got closer in, the mangroves got smaller and smaller and there were hundreds of varying colors of crabs hanging from the branches, unbelievable birds and wildlife but we saw no monkeys. After a beautiful trek up to the water fall and an afternoon swim, another monsoon came and began to fill the canoes with water. We tourists stay under a "restuarant" until the rains stopped. The guides worked the entire time bailing water out.

We found an incredible resturant in the village one evening and while dining another monsoon came. This restaurant had no walls so the rains came in and flooded the restaurant. The owner moved us to a higher table, lit candles and preceded to give us free shots of alcohol. We still could not pay by credit card so the owner told us to come back the next day and pay. We missed the taxi back to the resort so the resort's staff came and got us. When the power would go out in the village, we used our video camera to get around the cobble stone streets. Nothing stopped the locals from dancing or dining in the streets by candle light.

The ride to and from the resort to Ilehues is absolutley stunning with cliffs and the giant waves. You can stop and zipline down the cliffs or trek back into the jungle to see the monkeys.

The locals love Americans and hardly ever get to meet any. We never saw another American the entire trip. We made friends of a Brazilian couple and hung out with them a great deal...it was so much fun and we have stayed in touch.

This was a trip that was out of this world and an adventure no doubt. The hardest part is the two days to get there and back to the states. We definitely will go back to this little piece of paradise in Brazil.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorldsMeOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

My husband and I, our 3 year old son and two other family members stayed at Itacare Eco Village in June/July 2009. The resort grounds, coast and beach are absolutely breathtaking and stunning! Although there were few English-speaking staff members, the service was top-notch. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The free shuttle service into the Village of Itacare was great and made it so that we did not have to rent a separate vehicle. The rooms were very overall nice and clean. Awesome massages in a hut by the river/beach. The food was great! The pool could have been cleaner however, I believe that because this is their winter season, they may not maintain the pool as much due to not as much use?

We truly enjoyed our stay at the resort and will definitely go back again. And I promise, next time, we'll try and be more well versed in Portuguese so as to not make the staff work so hard to help us!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishysois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Celia541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nycolli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Itacare hotels
2.5 mi away
Ecoporan Hotel Charme Spa & Eventos
2.5 mi away
Terra Boa Hotel Boutique
4.8 mi away
Txai Resort Itacare
Txai Resort Itacare
#2 of 9 in Itacare
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vila Barracuda Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Aldeia do Mar Hotel
Aldeia do Mar Hotel
#5 of 97 in Itacare
500 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pousada Vila do Dengo
Pousada Vila do Dengo
#4 of 97 in Itacare
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itacare Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itacare Eco Resort

Address: Rua 1 Km 64 | Condominio Villas de Sao Jose, Itacare, State of Bahia 45530-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Itacare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Itacare
#4 Family Hotel in Itacare
Price Range: £148 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Itacare Eco Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located in a outstanding ecological reserve with preserved Atlantic Rain Forest and two privates beaches. These beaches are in the TOP 10 List from the Nicest Beaches of Brazil! We have an excellent Culinary Service and spacious Luxury apartments. Come to see how Paradise feels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Itacare Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itacare Eco Hotel Itacare
Itacare Eco Resort Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing