We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome destination!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nalusuan Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nalusuan Island Resort
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Mactan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome destination!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The place is wonderful. It would be nice if they will be able to preserve the cleanliness of the island and protect the marine life surrounding the place. It's a great snorkeling and diving destination, clear waters and a lot of fish and corals. Accommodation was nice, they had nice staff and polite. Also, the owner was very accommodating. BUT, food and drinks are overpriced and meals were not that good (total rip-off). They have cellphone signal for globe, smart and sun. But, the electricity only is turned on 6pm-8am.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Em M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    29
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
32
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in april. It was about a 45min boat ride from cebu to resort and 1hr back(rougher water going back). Once we arrived we were greeted with shell necklaces by the staff. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Staff carried our bags to our room and informed us where restraunt and rental items were located. Food was just ok. Free breakfast of same things daily of toast egg or sausage and mango. Decent food choices for lunch and dinner. Prices little higher than in cebu but it is still reasonable priced and tasted ok. If u were to stay more than 2 days the menu could use more options. Room service was nice but they never came for dirty dishes unfortunately. Island had like 15 rooms on stilts. Very beautiful views. Basic rooms but clean and romantic views from balcony. No point getting air conditioning cause power cut off during heat of day. It would be better if power stayed on during the day to and add tvs to room. Water is not deep during the day. Perfect for small children to come along. Nice views snorkeling. Lots star fish, fish, sea cucumbers etc. Snorkeling and diving equipment can be rented and all priced very reasonable. After snorkeling there isnt much else to do. Nice place to relax but needs to add jet ski or wave runners etc for other thngs to do and please sell sun screen. U pay ur tab at check out. Got soaked on boat ride back to cebu. Was disappointed was not told water would be choppy and everythng would be soaked including us and all our recently paid laundered clothes in our bags. Thankfully my passport wasnt ruined and my camera was water proof. Owner was extremely nice and friendly and seems to enjoy talking to guests and make sure they had a comfortable stay. We did see 1 poisonous snake during our stay but it slithered away outside. Resort arranged taxi once we got back in cebu. i believe was a fee for boat ride to resort and back. Overall was very nice get away and we enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again with the kids. Perfect romantic get away. Relaxing. Family atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was the smallest island we've ever stayed in. It's only about 1 hectare so having the cottages on stilts allowed for several cottages without compromising space. We absolutely loved our stay there! It was about 1 hour from Mactan Island by banka. The staff was very accommodating and the manager was great.

We went scuba diving in the marine sanctuary first before checking in. If you snorkel or dive don't miss this spot. Abundant marine life and lots of corals are what you can expect to see here. When we checked in to our cottage we were in awe. It definitely had an island feel to it. We opened the sliding door that led to the balcony and, oh, my! We were above the water and we could just jump off the balcony into the sea, especially at high tide. It was pretty breezy, if you opened the front door and the sliding door, creating a wind tunnel. It was a pretty basic accommodation but it would ruin the island feel if it wasn't. We had a/c from 6pm to 8am but no hot water. It was not a problem though as it was pretty hot outside.

Food was decent and some items on the menu were not available, but, again, everything had to be brought into the island so it was understandable. We didn't go hungry so it was not a problem. They had wifi at the restaurant, which was a bonus. We didn't expect that.

Our kids, 4- and 5-year olds had a great time there. They loved feeding the fish and swimming with them. They got so excited everytime they found a starfish or a beautiful shell. We stayed for 2 nights and we were not bored, at all. On the second night, our group of 16 were the only ones in the island. It was wonderful to have a private island with a complete staff! I would imagine Tahiti would have a similar feel but would cost a whole lot more!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

The Website is dry and lack of new pictures and the place is far from main land mactan where the the airport is located but the island is so beautiful and the staff are very nice. The Resort Manager is so smart and very knowledgeable. He even help his staff during the busy day. The resort is crowded during lunch time because lots of tourist from main land visit the resort for SCUBA Diving and Snorkeling. The Resort Manager offered us fishing outside the sanctuary around 100 meters away from the boundary. He even encourage us for SCUBA Diving and he accompanied us. It's our 1st time to do SCUBA Diving and we really enjoyed. We will coming come we more friends. Thank you for everything. Sir Alan please do not resign yet,

Room Tip: No hot shower and tv inside the room. Wifi available at restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We went there just for one night and went to another island before so that we were only there when there was no day guest. So close to mactan and far from everything, we were almost the only one to sleep there. Great snorkeling, very photogenic jetty and cool balcony. Having said that the accommodation is totally basic and the food more than average: just don't go there for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Firstly, if you are looking for exciting nightlife, then this resort is NOT for you. The island it is on is tiny - about the size of a football pitch - but if you like relaxing and just lazing around, this place is great for a few days. And with no wifi or mobile phone coverage, you are guaranteed peace and quiet, sort of. We stayed for 2 nights, and its about an hour by boat from Cebu island. The rooms, on stilts over the water, are basic but very nice, and the sound of waves underneath is relaxing. There are no real beaches as such around the island, but the island itself is sandy, so plenty of space to lie around. At low tide, you can walk for miles, and its very shallow and safe. My 6-year old loved it.

The snorkeling is amazing - some of the best I have ever seen, but this does mean the island is fairly full with day-trippers during the day. However they are all gone by nighttime.

It's a single resort, so food is from one restaurant, but it was pretty good, and not too expensive. Yes, more so that you would pay on the mainland, but it has to come a long way.

Staff are ok. Not great, but not bad either. Until we came to leave.

With a connecting flight, we stayed our last day on the island, and had arranged with the island staff to be picked up by car at the other landward end of the boat journey. The boat journey was fine, but when we got to the mainland, no transport. And to make matters worse, absolutely no-one around to help. Calls back to the island were dealt with rudely, with staff saying we had not booked transport, and the hotel switchboard not helping at all. Finally managed to get help from the hotel next door, who took us to a taxi rank to get a taxi to the airport.

Not a great way to end the vacation.

Would I go back? Probably not. It's very small, and whilst nice, I think a second trip may end up being just a little too quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

my family and i stayed there for 1 night. you'd be impressed at first glance. fish and marine life scattered on the sea floor, amazing! but after a while, we got bored, especially the kids. they don't have electricity which is understandable becoz nalusuan is a small island, 30-45 minutes away from the mainland. however, they do have a generator set, but unfortunately, they only turn the thing on at 6pm until 8am in the morning. so during the day, especially if it's humid, it would be uncomfortable to stay inside the room. and there is no television too.

this is a bit tolerable becoz afterall, you're there not to stay inside the room the whole day. but! their food is crazily priced. it's as if you're dining in imperial palace! they serve free breakfast though. but it only consists of a very lightly toast bread, an egg and a teaspoon of jam plus a small glass of juice. and their food service is soo slow. but their staffs are friendly.

this is a good place for snorkelling. but the day we arrived there, the place was jampacked! maybe it's good to visit there on weekdays? anyway, if you love marine life, maybe you'd enjoy more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank snowsheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mactan Island
8.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
7.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
8.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
43.8 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nalusuan Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalusuan Island Resort

Property: Nalusuan Island Resort
Address: Olango Reef, Cordova,, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mactan Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nalusuan Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalusuan Island Hotel Mactan Island
Nalusuan Island Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing