We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go, if you want yummy Mactan food”
Review of Maribago Grill

Maribago Grill
Ranked #14 of 168 Restaurants in Mactan Island
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Philippine, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The place to go, if you want yummy Mactan food”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This place is great, especially if you want to get away from the resort hotel food down the road. A true Filipino food experience. Great fruity drinks, huge menu...go with local friends to help you choose a sampling of many delicious flavors. Allow plenty of time, because this place with its little open huts fills up and it is bigger than you think...staff can get overwhelmed and service slows down. But hey, you're on vacation, right?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank uschi_is_umatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    210
    100
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We visited this place for our anniversary it's well set out in like native huts everywhere it's a large set up the food was fantastic there were plenty of people there but it's spread out enough to give you privacy highly recommended . If you have any food left get it takeaway and give it to the hungry kids outside on the street they were very grateful and well mannered

Helpful?
Thank Suksma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just okay”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

we visited at dinner time and the place were almost full so it took a long time to be served, especially the dishes of beef. I don't know why but we would like to take simple beef stake but they said it took 40 min.!! so we gave up and picked up another beef menu although they said it also would take rather long time (25min). It was perfect match with the maribago rice. We also tried grilled chicken (yummy), lechon(pork) something (too fatty), sinigang(soup) with shrimp (dull). Considering the very reasonable price, food was okay after all. The best thing there is the
cheap corckage, only 100php ;)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kymy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our dinner experience”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Jan. 13, 2014
I just read some reviews about this restaurant that were negative. If I'd read them before we went there last Jan. 9, I would have avoided this place. I'm sort of glad I didn't though. We just happened to stay in the guesthouse across Maribago Grill and didn't want to go far for dinner. I guess people have different tastes because me and my wife actually found the grilled chicken rice meal one of the tastiest we've had. The spare ribs was ok too. So was the mango chicken salad. The Maribago shake was actually mango shake with ice cream, like a float or something. In fairness, service wasn't bad either. And dining in huts while sipping fruit shake gives you the native feel and adds to the ambiance of a true vacation in the tropics. I found the price reasonable as well.
One complaint people might have would be the presence of insects and cats.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Awful food, terrible service. Avoid this place like the plague. All the food seemed to be at least a couple of days old. Chicken was actually suck that was rock hard and inedible. Drinks never came, no service... never again!

Helpful?
Thank jorel424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maribago Grill also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Been to Maribago Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing