We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome time with Fun&Sun in Malapascua” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fun & Sun Dive & Travel

Fun & Sun Dive & Travel
Ranked #4 of 56 Tours in Mactan Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun & Sun Mactan is located in Marigondon Beach road, on Mactan Island with its driveway opposite the entrance of Plantation Bay Resort. We offer SCUBA DIVING COURSES, such as Discovery Scuba Dive, Open Water Course, Advanced Open Water Course, EFR, Rescue Course and Dive Master Course) as well as FUN DIVES for certified divers. We have great 2-3 dives day trip with our famous Fun & Sun BBQ lunch, which is cooked and served hot on board. Fun & Sun Mactan has accommodation as well for its divers and food and beverages are available. We also offer SNORKELING and ISLAND HOPPING day tour on board our comfortable Banca boats to nearby Islands and Marine Sanctuaries. Pick-up and drop-off can be easily arranged
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome time with Fun&Sun in Malapascua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We met JC at Adex Diving Fair in Singapore where we got a lot of information and we subsequently emailed a bit and told him what we would like to do so he put together a perfect package including airport pick up, boat trip, accomodation (7 nights at Malapascua Legend, a very nice hotel!) and 14 dives.
Everything was perfectly organized and even though we arrived late in the evening Cleo from the shop was still there to welcome us and check with us if we wanted to go diving the next day right away (which we did!). During our one week of diving we covered a lot of dive sites and were also free to choose between a few different ones (depending on currents etc., of course).
Our dive master, Danilo, was very skilled and knew a lot about all the sites, hence the amount of incredible marine life we saw was just amazing!
Also, a big bonus was that the groups were always really small, maximum of 4 divers (+dive master) and often it was just the two of us +Danilo.
Obviously, the thresher sharks were a highlight but also a lot of other things were just breathtaking (mating of the mandarin fish, a cave dive at Gato Island, wall dives at Calanggaman Island...). And visibility was really good (we went in May, not sure how it is at other times of the year).
I would go back any time and dive again with Fun&Sun!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    17
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good fun in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great service for us as one scared-y-cat diver and a never dived before diver. Never dived before has now taken to diving hook line and sinker and was calmly taken through his open water and the start of his advanced dive course by John. John and his proficient and dedicated team looked after us well and even managed to persuade me diving wasn't too scary. Equipment appeared clean and in good nic, boat was comfortable and the coffee post dives and snorkling was much appreciated. Diving was at a good price too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good diving experience in Sun&Fun Dive Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Sun&Fun dive center gave us the best price of the two days' fun dive package, and we got the best dive experience there. The diver center's boss John is an English man, it's an very interesting man. Because of I'm the OW, so I couldn't reach the 30M to see the long tail shark, so I also bought a deep diving course there and the boss was my instructor, he was so responsible and experienced. Due to not much divers in our first day, so we three took the whole boat to the gato island. I loved gato so much, our DM Danny was also an very excellent DM, and helped us found many sharks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalOu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great new Diveshop in Coron”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had such a positive experience with the newly opened dive shop in Coron. They have a really big and comfortable boat to go out diving with and the staff is extremely nice, entertaining and knowledgeable. I went out with them a couple of days and liked how they did several stops along the way for different dive groups from beginner to professional. They even did a special dive just for me on special request!,so even if you only do 2 dives you can enjoy the whole day on the boat and the beautiful landscape of the area. It will not get boring as Ronaldo has a loooot of stories to tell... Loved the fact that they have a dog on board as well, and although he was advertised to be hating white ppl and women he sat on everyone's lap at some point of the trip. I did not eat on board but everyone who did praised the food. They are planning to soon start a dive safari to Apo Reef and I wish I could have gone with them, but at the time only a competitor offered this trip, who does not have staff to match. The price is the lowest in Coron you will find and the equipment is brand new. The only thing missing was a fish ID book I think. By now they probably have it....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank metalsheep2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Personalised , customer centred diving experience. Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a review of the Fun & Sun on Malpascua Island which is part of the Fun & Sun at Mactan.
After an awful experience with Thresher Shark Divers (profit focus, poor customer care) we walked along determined to find a small dive shop that would listen to and understand their customer. We stopped at Fun & Sun and chatted to John (Manager) and the wonderful Leo ( Dive Instructor). We stressed that we did not want to be part of large groups all descending on the same dive site at the same time, did not want to feel like we were being processed on conveyor belt, and that I was not a confident, experienced diver. We felt that they totally understood,and the service we received the rest of the week confirmed this completely.
When viewing the Thresher Sharks, you cannot avoid all the other divers , but Leo ensured we set off 10 minutes earlier, were able to descend before everyone else arrived and it did not feel like we were part of the masses. This is the beauty of working with a smaller team. At all times we were well into or finishing a dive as the masses arrived.
Leo is an amazing dive instructor, extremely patient , you feel really safe and looked after when diving with Leo . He has a real knack for finding the fish ( Bamboo shark, white tip shark, cuttle fish). He has a wonderful sense of humour too. All the boat staff were great, helping you on with equipment , hot cup of coffee ready when you came up from a dive, so different to Thresher Shark Divers, crowded boat, unclear instructions,sort out your own equipment, and make your own coffee. Bonus, they were about 30% cheaper too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jt6606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fun & Sun Dive & Travel also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Been to Fun & Sun Dive & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing