We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Mactan Island
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the costabella for 2 nights - this hotel was really nice the rooms were great we had a room over looking the pool!! The hotel had a couple of restaurants - one of them was 24hrs! The food was great and very reasonably priced!!! Didn't have a bad meal - loved the chill out bar on the beach great place to chill after a day in the sun enjoying the happy hour cocktails.... The staff couldn't do enough for us very friendly.
The only downside was that the hotel is out of the way so we spent all our time on resort..

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Lee D,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room, our restaurants and beach bar as we do take every effort to provide our guests the amenities and services for an enjoyable stay.

Our warm and genuinely caring Team has kept us in the industry for 32 years and your kind appreciation will inspire them to continue to do so!

We all look forward to welcoming you back! 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located in a nice part of the island but to get there it goes thru a rough area. Needless to say inside the property all is good and safe.
Hotel rooms can be compared to a Hampton inn but larger , nice set of towels , shampoo soap etc. A safe box is available only at reception. Checking in you find out even booking thru Priceline that 25 percent will be added to your rate.
Not very nice. Also when checking out be very careful and at least 3 hours before , and I mean it, demand a taxi to come precisely at the time you need them to be there. On my check out lucky a couple with 2 kids shared their taxi with me in the way to the airport . I was waiting for 45 minutes and they were there for almost 2 hours. Of course the hotel has a car service but it costs almost 3 times more than a cab.
Room was nice and TV channels very good. Restroom with huge bath and excellent water flow.
Food is very good, specially in the breakfast. There's really over 15 members if staff behind the food just to serve you. From fresh papayas to the delicate phillipino food you can choose any thing. For the less fortunates without good taste for food there is also omelette and sausage and bacon available. Again, remember it is in a bad area so once you in you depend on taxis to go out . There's no way to find a good restaurant close by so you end up without any options but to dine in the property. I haven't check the spa as I'm a family man but it was very well presented from the outside. Swimming pool is not heated but has a decent size. The private beach is artificial so the sand is not proper beach sand and it is more of a bay than a beach indeed. Clear water though and snorkel was good after crossing the first 100 meters of shallowness . The best was really the live music at the restaurant at night. 4 guys and a lady with amazing voices and excellent rhythm. I was very surprise to see them singing so nicely. Staff as anywhere in the phillipines was superb. Even though it was over priced and the unfair hidden fees and vat I would recommend it for a day or two. No more than that as you don't want to be inside the place 24x7.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank PilikaiHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Pilikai Hawaii,
 
It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed our services and appreciate our food particularly the Breakfast Buffet. Thank you for your good reviews. Our Team will be delighted to hear your good feedback.
 
Costabella is a family-owned and managed Resort, and as such, we offer wholesome services and are very transparent with our charges. The 25% add on charge on room accommodation and food and beverage is composed of a12% VAT, 3% local tax and 10% service charge. The taxes are remitted to the government, and the service charge is equally distributed to all team members. It is unfortunate that you may have not noticed the additional charges that were clearly indicated  in the room voucher.  
 
We understand the inconvenience due to the road repair work. The government is working double time to finish the development of our road networks and the road leading to our resort is expected to be done by February.

Taxi service is on-call and is subject to availability. Currently, it takes longer than usual for them to come to the Resort because of the road condition and traffic flow. For now, Rent-a-car-services are the best option given their reliability ,comfort and safety.  
 
We were surprised with your comment on our white sand beach as Costabella is only one of the few Resorts in Mactan that has a natural private white sand beach made from the nearby line of corals. Depending on the tide, swimming can be very good in our area. In fact, about 50 meters away from the shoreline is a perfect spot for wall diving as it is a sea cliff and corals are well preserved.
 
We get a lot of great feedbacks about our spa service, specially our Stone Massage, and we wish you had given it a try. Costabella is known as a Family Resort and our facilities and services are tailored to suit a family. 
 
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

It was a nice hotel, the rooms were big but the room facilities were old. The staff were very helpful and the food at restaurant was excellent. Their pools and the beach was awesome. The only bad thing was that there were a lot of mosquitoes and our little boy got bitten pretty badly. The roads in Mactan was atrocious and the getting to the hotel was not very pleasant. But when you finally get to Costabella it's it's like a breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msgordon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear msgordon_12,

Thank you for sharing your reviews with Trip Advisor.

We are happy to hear that the welcoming atmosphere in Costabella made up for your traveling inconvenience. We expect the roads towards the resort to be completed soon. This is just part of the whole island’s road renovation project in preparation for the ASEAN meeting next year.
 
We are very sorry to hear about your little boy.  We hope our Team was able to be of assistance to you in lessening the discomfort of your son by providing you with an anti-itch lotion.  In addition to the regular sanitation and pest control program undertaken by the Resort, an electric repellant is
available on loan from Housekeeping.

Our warm and helpful Team remains our strongest asset apart from our excellent food which we owe to our all-local food and beverage Team.  Your affirmation will surely motivate them.

Keeping our rooms and facilities up to standard is a priority and is a continuous on-going process. To date, 80% of our rooms have been renovated and redesigned. Rest assured that your valuable observation about our room facilities will be carefully evaluated and included in our program.

We look forward to have you again at Costabella!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We didn't set our expectations too high given the price difference with other resorts close by. The bumpy roads on Mactan Island further reduced our hopes!

But for the 2 nights we were there we had a very pleasant stay. The staff were incredibly friendly, professional and attentive. One employee, Loloy, remembered our names for the whole time too, which was impressive.

The setting is very relaxing. The prices of meals and drinks were very reasonable. Meals and drinks were of very high quality. We recommend booking breakfast as the buffet is diverse, plentiful and delicious. It's also hard to get out and wander around the island looking for food without taxiing to Cebu. In the evenings an enthusiastic and skilled band serenades you during dinner and take requests at your table.

The private beach was great for swimming, snorkelling and sunbathing, with plenty of deckchairs available for guests.

The only downside, which is not the fault of the resort, is the quality of the roads on Mactan Island. These make a short trip take a very long time. Expect 40 minutes from the airport, and an hour from Cebu. If you give plenty of time you can enjoy the scenery rather than stressing.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear James G,

Thank you for your 5/5 review for successfully delivering beyond your expectation!

We take pride in what we do and this is reflected in the quality of our products and the caring and attentive service that our team members give our guests. Thank you for making special mention of Loloy . He has been a member of our team for over 19 years, and embodies the genuine caring service that many of our guests have experienced and appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.  We are very happy that you brought home a lot of good memories with you.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again in Costabella!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

ı have stayed this hotel 2 nights they have nice beach and clean sea however ı could not go beach bcz all 2 days rain and storm so sad:( all staff were very friendly, rooms are very clean and nice, they have many chanel on tv.only bad thibgs about hotel food and beverge overpriced very expensive ı think hotel take advantange bcz you can not go out eat by your self you need take taxi for go out eating if you take taxi it cost you same if you eat at hotel . I went ayala center one way 400 peso.ı can recommend this hotel for anyone it is quıte nice hotel. road are not good to go hotel they have maintence and trafıc jam all the time ...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turkishman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear turkishman09,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. It is unfortunate though that you experienced an unusual rainy weather condition during the course of your stay as Cebu is sunny most of the year.

We are happy to know that you were pleased with the warm, genuine and caring service of our Team and that you liked the room you stayed in.

We were surprised though with your feedback on the cost of our food, as generally an average meal at the Resort would cost about US$15. Many of our guest have complimented the choices and quality of the food that we offer and we would never take advantage of our location to over-charge our guests. The Resort provides a daily free shopping trip to two malls in Cebu City to give our guests the opportunity to experience the shopping in Cebu as well as try the numerous food outlets and restaurant at these malls.

Currently the local government is improving and repairing the road network around Mactan Island as part of a larger project to improve travel and the city's infrastructure. In the mean time, traffic condition may be quite unpredictable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room for 2 nights. Decently sized, it has a queen size bed and a single bed which is good for 3 people. The downside is the furnishing is very old, the toilet seat was broken, water pressure was low and the water heater was not even hot. Amenities provided in the rooms were very basic. No internet connection was available in the room.

The hotel is located in the middle of no where. There was no where we could walk to and the access road to the hotel was very bad. Guests had to wait at least 1 hour for the hotel to get you a taxi. Grand graciano mall is 4 km away where you could do get some food.

The private beach at the hotel filled with mangroves where you couldn't even swim there. It certainly does not look like what it was in the photos. There were not even enough chairs at the beach area for guests to enjoy the sun.

However the food at the restaurant and the spa made up for it. Enjoyed the food served there and good thing that the restaurant is open 24 hours. The spa service was very good and reasonably priced.

The hotel should consider upgrading their facilities (include a gym perhaps?) since guests are expected to spend a lot of time in the hotel due to its location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuyinOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Suyin Ooi,

We regret to hear about your experience in our Deluxe Poolside Room. We will meet with our Housekeeping Team as we are taken by surprise about the condition of your room. For the satisfaction of our guests, every year we work on programs of renovation and upgrading of our facilities to ensure that everything is up to standard. We are sorry that there is no access to internet in your room but we hope you were able to avail of our free Wi-Fi services in our public areas.

Our government is currently working on improving the road network here in Mactan. Hopefully when they are able to complete it, the road condition will be better. There are convenient stores and grocery store available within
1.5 km. distance from the resort. Local transportation like the tricycle is readily available should you want to reach your destination.

Taxis are on call and are subject to availability. Normally it takes only 5-15 mins. to get one. You were probably caught on a peak season if it took you that long to have a taxi. Nevertheless we have rent-a-car services and hotel vehicles available for hire as your alternative option. Given an hour reservation, you can have it at the exact time you wish to depart. We hope you have enjoyed these services.

Mangroves provide nursery grounds for fish and is good for the environment. Currently we have planted 10 mangroves 50 meters away from the shoreline. Our apologies if this bothered your swimming. Not all lounging chairs are put out for guests to enjoy the open space by the beach. Upon request our beach attendant will gladly set-up one for you until supply last.

We are glad that our good food and spa made up for your stay. Our locally hand-picked Chefs and Cooks will be happy to hear this good news. Likewise, our spa concessionaire with be most pleased.

Thank you for your valuable suggestion on having a gym. Rest assured that we will review all possibilities.

We hope you get the chance to visit us again soon.

Have a pleasant day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Husband and I spent our New Year's Eve celebration here.

A 20 to 30 minute drive from the airport, this hotel will provide you with your much needed place for relaxation and with surprisingly good food.

Hotel staff were all very professional and honest. Whatever minor hassles we encountered during our 4 day stay were all met and solved without me having to go frantic because the staff handled them with utmost concern and professional approach.

Just an unsolicited suggestion, hopefully they'll have more frequent trips of their shuttle service daily. They only have one trip in the morning.

Will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desolate_tigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear desolate_tigress,

Thank you for sharing your reviews with Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful 4-day stay at Costabella and you brought home good memories about our Team, food, amenities and services. Your kind appreciation of our warm, genuine and caring service will continue to inspire us to do good.

Thank you for your suggestion on our complimentary shopping trip. We shall endeavor to find ways on how we can increase frequency while hoping to retain it as a complimentary service. For now, taxis and hotel vehicles are available on call via our Guest Service Team should guests miss the shuttle to the city in the morning.

We look forward to be of service once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#13 of 44 in Mactan Island
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range: £61 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing