We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for sun.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Mactan Island
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for sun.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I came here for an event. Doubtful I would have chosen this otherwise. For the money it was great. The food was excellent, we were here for 5 days so I was a bit tired of it after a while. The area outside the resort was not so wonderful, so we stayed in. The pool is wonderful, there are actually 2 of them. Open as long as some one was in them! The spa incredible. I had an amazing massage.... The rooms are in need of updates - especially those in the older part of the hotel. No elevator in that area either.

Room Tip: The spa is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarynWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Karyn Wynne,

Thank you for sharing your reviews with Trip Advisor. We are happy that you find Costabella of good value. Likewise our Spa will be delighted to know that you had an amazing massage and you enjoyed their services.

Every year Costabella works on programs of improvement to maintain its value for the satisfaction of our guests. We are happy to inform you that to date we have already accomplished about 80% of our renovation programs. Thank you for your valuable suggestion, before the year ends we shall accomplish renovation of the other rooms as well. The wing you stayed in will be renovated by September and will be ready by December 15.

We thank you and your group for choosing to hold your event in Costabella. It will be great to have you once again with us.

Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    322
    134
    29
    35
See reviews for
215
222
51
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you want to be near Cebu City and the airport, but in a secluded beach resort, this is a good choice. It is so secluded that you'll drive for an hour or so to get into the city, ie really nothing much to explore outside the gates, and you're pretty much stuck eating at the hotel. Not a bad thing, because the food is plentiful, fresh and tasty. A very nice international breakfast buffet, a lunch buffet as well with meats and seafood, vegetarians are out of luck at this resort (slim pickings). Staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and functional. some of us stayed in their superior deluxe rooms and high floors, and we were happy, others in regular rooms not so having issues with post-shower flooding of bathrooms floors, noise from the nightly entertainment and parties, mosquito issues etc. It seems the investment to a better room is worth it. None of us in the better rooms had ever been in a room with such a huge bed before ...suitable to sleep a family of four, at least. Amazing! We had asked for king size, and they pushed two queen size beds together... The sunrises from the balcony (with two chairs and a table, a nice slatted sliding door) are quite beautiful. Their private beach is nothing to write home about, especially not at low tide, but the grounds with several swimming pools are attractive. The A/C worked well, but was a bit loud. Still it was preferable to the steamy heat and party noise from outside with opened sliding doors. There was a refrigerator and a hot water kettle with basic condiments, but no in-room safe. The resort has a spa. Several of us tried the massage and body scrub package, which was pretty much okay. Others did the para-sailing and diving and were thrilled about the experience. The resort is a popular family and tour-group destination, and hosts conferences and weddings as well. All in all a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uschi_is_umatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear uschi_is_umatravels,

Thank you for your thorough review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all your wonderful comments and are thankful for your kind suggestions as we continue our efforts to provide our guests a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a room with a "hot tub" expecting just that,,,, no it was a 2ft bath you couldn't even bath in!

No kids meals, so our 3 year old had to get an adult portion and waste the rest, all charged at adult price of course.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mark E,

Thank you for your feedback. We are quite perplexed with your comment about a room with a hot tub as we have never had such an amenity in any of our rooms. What we have in our room is a “bath tub” which is clearly stated in our website and in all our marketing materials. The size of our bathtub varies depending on the room type with smallest tub based on the standard Asian size.

We are surprised to know that the Children’s Menu was not made available for you. Our Restaurant Team makes it a point to present the choices to our diners with children. Please accept our apologies if there has been an oversight in this aspect.

We hope the rest of your stay has been most pleasant. Thank you for spending your family vacation with us.

Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel last November 2013. I love that they have their own private beach front where we enjoyed the ocean. They also have a recreational area. The swimming pool is nice as well as their garden. The Marina Restaurant inside the hotel serves fresh seafood everyday (yum!). The breakfast buffet has variety of choices, too.

We love our room with a garden view. The bed is soft and comfortable. You can't hardly hear anything from outside your room so we had a very relaxing stay and decent sleep.

The only down fall of this hotel is that they are too far from the main hub and they do not offer transit service to and from the airport.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, ask for a deluxe room with a single bed because if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny_Beauteous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Bonny_Beautious,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor.  It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us!

Costabella is 17 km away from Cebu City and travel time is approximately an hour. We hope you enjoyed our free one way shopping trip to SM City and Ayala Center that is offered daily for the convenience of our guests. The Airport is about 20 minutes away by car, and transfer service is available for a fee.

We have several bed configurations to accommodate the needs of our guests. The most popular are our rooms with a double bed and single bed that can accommodate a family of 2 adults and 2 young children. Our Costabella King beds found in our Seafront Suite and some Premiere rooms are specially popular with couples. It is always best to inform Reservations or your travel agency of your bed preference so we can check the availability on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

After staying at several resorst on Mactan island Costabella is the best resort and great value for money. Its location on the beach is a little secluded but its facitlites are first class. Its in a lovely garden setting with 2 nice restaurants. The food is good and prices are reasonable considering you also get a free music with local singing groups every night. I have stayed 3 times and will love to go back.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Roger H,

Thank you for sharing your 5/5 review on Tripadvisor. Our team is extremely happy to know you had a wonderful stay with us. We are thrilled that you consider us the best resort in Mactan because of the value we offer our guests. At Costabella, we also aspire to share with our guests a part of our beautiful culture, and Filipinos are certainly known the world-over for its gifted musicians!

As always, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I would love to give this place a higher score than a 3, but as my title says, its more a 3.5 than a 4. We stayed here for the day, but we got a room for a whole day use. The restaurants are typical resort prices, par to its category. Flavors are good, and we ordered a lot. They have two pools, not that big, but adequate enough. The pool shower's water pressure was very weak, and it took a while to rinse off the saltwater before entering the pool and exiting to rinse off the chlorine. The pool is shaded as the pools are located in the middle, with buildings on both sides. The beach is not that big, but since it was low tide, I noticed jellyfish at the bottom. The lifeguard told me they are ok, they don't sting. But I would not take the risk. So our group took the side pathwalk to the end where they have a floating dock so that we can swim in relatively cleaner looking sea.

As the resort is really in the interior, walking out to the main road takes a while, so one is limited to staying inside the resort. It does not bother me (as I only stayed for the day and I have a car), and depending on the guests' plans, either they will enjoy the exclusivity or they won't if they are looking for nightlife outside.

The rooms are big, but I didn't enjoy the room lighting. It was inadequate and made the room feel older than it really is. The bathroom water pressure was good, in contrast to the shower at the pool side. And to think my room was at the 3rd floor of the building on the left, if facing the sea.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear all22tecc,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments and feedback on our room, food and facilities. Thank you for sharing your concern on the water pressure of our outdoor pool and beach showers which, as you mentioned, was not as strong as that in your room. We have brought the matter to the attention of our Engineering team and they are taking the necessary steps to improve it.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Costabella!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the costabella for 2 nights - this hotel was really nice the rooms were great we had a room over looking the pool!! The hotel had a couple of restaurants - one of them was 24hrs! The food was great and very reasonably priced!!! Didn't have a bad meal - loved the chill out bar on the beach great place to chill after a day in the sun enjoying the happy hour cocktails.... The staff couldn't do enough for us very friendly.
The only downside was that the hotel is out of the way so we spent all our time on resort..

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Lee D,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room, our restaurants and beach bar as we do take every effort to provide our guests the amenities and services for an enjoyable stay.

Our warm and genuinely caring Team has kept us in the industry for 32 years and your kind appreciation will inspire them to continue to do so!

We all look forward to welcoming you back! 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 42 in Mactan Island
579 reviews
2.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#12 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Property: Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Address: Buyong, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing