We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mactan Island
Darwin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We had our family reunion there and we booked a few rooms. I had the 2 bedroom suite (it's actually a connecting room but they called it 2 bedroom suite). We had a beautiful fruit basket in our room when we arrived. We thought it was quite funny that the hotel wrote a letter to all the guests informing them that there will be a major function in the premises and that there might be some noise. Our family reunion was fantastic, they did so well and we're very welcoming. I will not hesitate to stay there nor holding any function there again. Thanks Costabella.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Jonah P
 
We love it when guests choose Costabella to celebrate their special and memorable occasion.  

We love it even more knowing that you had a fantastic time! Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    301
    120
    28
    33
See reviews for
197
209
48
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

First up, my wife and I travel professionally almost 80% of our time and stay in hotels anywhere from 0 to 5 stars, depending on location. In this instance we chose an overnight getaway at the Costabella to enjoy a bit of sand, waves, tranquility and resort atmosphere. Instead we found ourselves leaving in a hurry early next morning: We had booked a Deluxe Poolside Room. This however does NOT exist. There are no rooms next to the pool, so this is false advertising. The resort is small. So small in fact that the usable beach area is about the size of a basketball court. I say usable, because the sandy area in between hotel wings is occupied by CORPORATE EVENTS. In practical terms, this equates to 300+ people cheering and shouting to insanely loud dance music for the better part of the day. Worse, before and after these events set-up and break-down takes place, assuring no peace is to be had anywhere before 10pm. Next item, the pool: I was not aware a wide angle lens like the one used for the professional photographs of the pool had yet been invented, but clearly it has. The pool(s) are barely bigger than a domestic size swimming pool, approx. 4ft in depth and occupied by what looked like 70% of the hotels guests. In other words, it would be easier to walk across on people in it than to swim; that's how crowded it was. With the "resort" located away from external amenities, resident guests unwittingly become a captive audience for its own restaurants' overpriced fare. Admittedly the food was "OK" by Filipino standards, but probably 30% more expensive then elsewhere, with little or no justification for this against the backdrop of already inflated room rates. Speaking of rooms, on the upside they were clean and functional, but little love was lost on the facilities. Room security is another issue, with flimsy door locks and no available room safes (a deposit box is available at reception). Taking into account a room rate of around 100 Euros, this was a rip-off in the truest sense of the word, and the false advertising did not help endear this place to us in the slightest. There are far better options in Cebu or in fact anywhere else. The ONLY thing that kept us from leaving immediately after check-in were two things: 1. We had to pay on check-in and so decided to keep looking for the "positives" and 2. Staff are absolutely fantastic. Very very friendly, helpful and just the best we have encountered in a while. So "Hoooray" for Costabella's staff, but "Boooo" to management!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Ron T,
 
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for appreciating our Team – indeed they remain our strongest asset. 
 
Costabella has been in the business for 33 years now to be exact.  We have recently earned an online award and was recognized as “Best Booked Resort of 2013” which one property cannot achieve without integrity, honor and good management.
 
We cannot possibly stay this long in the business if we are into misleading our market.  The photos that we post in our website and use in our collaterals and marketing materials are all natural shots and un-manipulated.  We never resort to false advertising and this is how we keep our loyal customers and maintain our Triple “A“ rating (4 Star).
 
Our two swimming pools are located right in between our Deluxe Poolside Rooms and our Premiere Deluxe Poolside Rooms.  Depending on your room location the distance of our Deluxe Poolside to the pool may vary  between 12-48 meters.  The longest side of our L-shaped swimming pool is 27.4 meters with depth of 5.6 ft. while the free-form pool is about 23 meters with depth of 5 ft.  To a lot of our guests these are fairly decent pool sizes. We regret that it has not met your standards.
 
Our apologies if the corporate event bothered you.  We always balance the needs of our corporate and leisure market.  We also see to it that when there is an event a swimming area is allocated to our in-house guests so as not to deprive them of the use of our facilities. We used to cater to bigger volumes but we have reduced the size in consideration to our in-house guests.
 
Next to our Team, Food is our strongest asset.  If you check the other reviews a lot of people claim good value for our food.  Nevertheless guests are not limited to dine in the Resort if they want to try something else.  Local transportations, taxis, rent-a-car services can be made available if they want to explore the island.  With our Team ready to assist in the reservation, this is not an inconvenience.
 
The safety of our guests remain our top priority and never will we compromise this.  In the Deluxe Poolside Room we have the main door knob and a door guard to double lock the room; the other 80% of our rooms are even with dead bolt lock already.  On top of this we have a 24-hour security service and CCTV cameras strategically located in the Resort.  Our safety deposit box is a two-lock system that will  not open nor close with only one key.  One key is kept by the guest and the other key is with Front Office.  It is for this reason that location is by the lobby and not in the room.
 
Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I came here because it was good value for a modest budget and DID NOT HAVE HIGH EXPECTATIONS (because when you choose budget over quality, you can't be too picky).
My priorities in booking is always,
1) the beach (so my baby can enjoy and play)
2) affordable rooms
3) accessible facilities (easier for my toddler to get around).
As long as the beach was clean and not a popular destination for the general public for family day trips and the room decent (and not ratty old) with swimming facilities just a terrace away, I would have been happy.

I actually would have recommended this place because it is good value for a fairly decent and clean resort. But then they had 2 SEPARATE corporate events the 2 days of our stay, overcrowding a rather small resort, it felt evasive and was just plain loud and disruptive. THE ADVANTAGE OF PICKING A LESS MAINSTREAM RESORT IS THAT IT IS LESS POPULAR SO LESS POPULATED. YOU HAVE THE FREEDOM TO ROAM, NOT BUMP INTO STRANGERS WHEN YOU'RE SWIMMING AND HAVE SOME MUCH NEEDED PERSONAL SPACE AT THE BEACH WHEN YOU WANNA SIT BACK, RELAX AND ENJOY THE VIEW. Which it was at first. Then the entire place was invaded by an additional 350 people, so they're tiny pool and small beach area was jam packed with rowdy outsiders who think they totally owned the place, when in fact (not to be a snob) would not be able to stay in the resort if it wasn't free from their companies. I had paid additional to transfer closer to the beach, next thing you know there's a speaker set-up near our terrace, so after a tiring morning of playing, during her nap my baby was bombarded with the jeepney music they were playing and all the screeching they were doing on the mic right outside our room. Why pay hotel rates for solitude and relaxation when there was none and hotel doesn't respect its actual guests? Are they not embarrassed by this? When I asked the staff why this was happening, they didn't even apologize for the trouble. The least they could have done was WARNED/INFORM US OF THESE EVENTS PRIOR TO OUR RESERVATION or given a complimentary meal or something for the trouble to show their concern for their paying guests.

The service was pleasant and the staff friendly and helpful. But they don't know how to follow instructions, you tell them something and they'll smile and assure you and say we'll take care of this and that. Then there's no follow thru, communication or its just simply neglected, so you have to repeat yourself sometimes several times and explain this and that situation all over again.
1) I was assured my booking arrangements were clear with the reservations officer days prior to checking in, when I got to the resort I had to make sure the front desk gave me the same rates I was offered. Meaning the reservations officer didn't communicate what had been previously agreed upon, instead of having the information already in hand. (NOT TO MENTION THE SNOOTY ATTITUDE THE GENERAL MANAGER GAVE ME BECAUSE OF THE RESERVATION MIS-UNDERSTANDING. As the general manager, should he not have been already aware and informed of the situation to avoid confusion? Instead of pleasantness and re-assurance, he was immediately irritated and was infact the only one in the resort who had terrible service attitude.)
2) I made arrangements that we would avail of the daytrip meal for dinner for my 2 senior aunts who were visiting me at the resort and was assured by the front desk they would inform the resto. Later the waiters had no idea what meal package I was talking about and had to get another waiter who could understand my request.
3) I asked for a wake-up call at 1am cuz we had a very early flight. NONE was made. (When I brought this to the attention of the front desk staff, all she said was "Oh" no sorry no explanation)
4) When making payments for check-out, I requested the staff who was double checking the room to assist with our baggage. Waited in the lobby for 20mins, he came back empty handed and was told again by the front desk to fetch our bags. The waiting taxi apparently had already started the meter, so by the time we were in the cab ready to leave, we had already accrued P82 on top of the P50 cab fee that the hotel insists the drivers charge plus of course the incoming charges on the way to the airport.
5) When your a single mom traveling with an infant, you gladly pay hotel rates (and service charge) for the convenience and the extra help to relieve you of that additional stress. But when the service you are paying for becomes the additional stress...well its says a lot about management and training.

Lastly, altho the beach was clean and the sand fine, it was enclosed so the view was not pleasant at all. Because the waters were fenced in, it further limited the ocean water during low tide. So basically the beach water was NON-EXISTENT thru-out our stay. (So imagine staring out into a wall of rocks and seaweed of the exposed shore.UGLY!) The staff assured us by 9pm the tide flows back- come night time, still nothing. I would have overlooked this ugliness, if my stay wasn't so unpleasant because of the overcrowding, loudness and lack of general respect.

So to sum up, considering my already low expectations:
1) beach - FAIL (ugly)
2) room - FAIL (noisy)
3) facilities - FAIL (overcrowding)

Room Tip: Originally I reserved a cottage room because it was on the first floor for accessibility and cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poetictruths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay. We regret that you have formed such a negative impression of the Resort as many guests have shared how much they have enjoyed their stay. We are a “AAA” resort (4 star) and have recently received an online award as the Most Booked Resort in 2013. We have been in the hospitality industry for over 30 years and this is reflected in the professional, caring, courteous and friendly manner of all our staff.    It was our Front Office Manager, a veteran of 20 years in the hospitality business, who assisted you on check-in and interacted with you and not the General Manager. Our staff has been nothing less than polite and accommodating to you as they would to any other guest.
 
We value all our guests, be they leisure or corporate, local or foreign. We take pleasure in knowing that locals, regardless of social standing, are able to experience the good food, varied amenities and excellent service that we are known for. As a local yourself, we had hoped that you would have appreciated this. During your stay, we had two corporate events, a group of 30 persons for a lunch buffet and a company beach outing for 115 persons. In the past, we have turn down bigger sized events as we would like to ensure that our in-house guests are able to enjoy our 2 swimming pools, our private beach and lounging area.
 
We regret that, contrary to your expectation, only Mother Nature can control the high and low tide. As a service to our guests, we have posted in the beach front area a daily tide schedule as easy reference. The breakwater on both sides of the property does not limit the flow of water into the foreshore area; rather, it serves as a protection during monsoon season when we experience strong waves.
 
Thank you and good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is out of the way with not alot going on. It is quite small, has 2 swimming pools and a small beach front. The sea disappears at tide time so there is no swimming to be had when its hot and you want to cool down. As there was no choice except there restaurants to eat we ate at both, both very average but prices on the higher side for the food you was served. Not one of our favourite islands or hotels and was pleased to move on when the time came.

Room Tip: higher floors for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Trents,

Thank you for staying with us. We regret not meeting your expectations and that you were not able to explore the island further. Just about 1-2 kilometers away from the resort is a diverse collection of tourist spots and attractions including a line of restaurants.

Mactan being both a coral island and one of the major tourist destinations in Cebu, offers some of the best diving areas, island discovery tours, aqua sport adventures and cultural activities all of which you may enjoy even when the tide is low.

Hopefully you may get to experience all of these, should you return to Cebu.

Take care and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I came here for an event. Doubtful I would have chosen this otherwise. For the money it was great. The food was excellent, we were here for 5 days so I was a bit tired of it after a while. The area outside the resort was not so wonderful, so we stayed in. The pool is wonderful, there are actually 2 of them. Open as long as some one was in them! The spa incredible. I had an amazing massage.... The rooms are in need of updates - especially those in the older part of the hotel. No elevator in that area either.

Room Tip: The spa is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarynWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Karyn Wynne,

Thank you for sharing your reviews with Trip Advisor. We are happy that you find Costabella of good value. Likewise our Spa will be delighted to know that you had an amazing massage and you enjoyed their services.

Every year Costabella works on programs of improvement to maintain its value for the satisfaction of our guests. We are happy to inform you that to date we have already accomplished about 80% of our renovation programs. Thank you for your valuable suggestion, before the year ends we shall accomplish renovation of the other rooms as well. The wing you stayed in will be renovated by September and will be ready by December 15.

We thank you and your group for choosing to hold your event in Costabella. It will be great to have you once again with us.

Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you want to be near Cebu City and the airport, but in a secluded beach resort, this is a good choice. It is so secluded that you'll drive for an hour or so to get into the city, ie really nothing much to explore outside the gates, and you're pretty much stuck eating at the hotel. Not a bad thing, because the food is plentiful, fresh and tasty. A very nice international breakfast buffet, a lunch buffet as well with meats and seafood, vegetarians are out of luck at this resort (slim pickings). Staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and functional. some of us stayed in their superior deluxe rooms and high floors, and we were happy, others in regular rooms not so having issues with post-shower flooding of bathrooms floors, noise from the nightly entertainment and parties, mosquito issues etc. It seems the investment to a better room is worth it. None of us in the better rooms had ever been in a room with such a huge bed before ...suitable to sleep a family of four, at least. Amazing! We had asked for king size, and they pushed two queen size beds together... The sunrises from the balcony (with two chairs and a table, a nice slatted sliding door) are quite beautiful. Their private beach is nothing to write home about, especially not at low tide, but the grounds with several swimming pools are attractive. The A/C worked well, but was a bit loud. Still it was preferable to the steamy heat and party noise from outside with opened sliding doors. There was a refrigerator and a hot water kettle with basic condiments, but no in-room safe. The resort has a spa. Several of us tried the massage and body scrub package, which was pretty much okay. Others did the para-sailing and diving and were thrilled about the experience. The resort is a popular family and tour-group destination, and hosts conferences and weddings as well. All in all a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uschi_is_umatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear uschi_is_umatravels,

Thank you for your thorough review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all your wonderful comments and are thankful for your kind suggestions as we continue our efforts to provide our guests a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a room with a "hot tub" expecting just that,,,, no it was a 2ft bath you couldn't even bath in!

No kids meals, so our 3 year old had to get an adult portion and waste the rest, all charged at adult price of course.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mark E,

Thank you for your feedback. We are quite perplexed with your comment about a room with a hot tub as we have never had such an amenity in any of our rooms. What we have in our room is a “bath tub” which is clearly stated in our website and in all our marketing materials. The size of our bathtub varies depending on the room type with smallest tub based on the standard Asian size.

We are surprised to know that the Children’s Menu was not made available for you. Our Restaurant Team makes it a point to present the choices to our diners with children. Please accept our apologies if there has been an oversight in this aspect.

We hope the rest of your stay has been most pleasant. Thank you for spending your family vacation with us.

Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#14 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Property: Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Address: Buyong, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing